Winners…and a random musing from me

Saturday, October 18, 2008

Sorry for the delay…I have had computer problems today…

First, I have several winners to announce

***

The winner of the Shelley Munro Scavenger Hunt who receives their choice of ONE of the following books in print: The Shadow OR The Second Seduction OR Midnight Treat  is: Deidre D.

Please e-mail me with your book choice and mailing addy.

***

Winner of a copy of The Wild Sight from Loucinda McGary is:  Greta
The second winner of a copy of The Wild Sight courtesy of Sourcebooks is:  Paisley Kirkpatrick

***

Winner of a copy of The Wild Sight from my review post is:  Luanna

***

Winners, please e-mail me your mailing addies so that you can receive your prizes!

***

Now a random musing from me:

Over the next few days (if the computer cooperates) I am going to be posting some reviews of some of my recent reads.  There will be several posted each day so be sure to check back often.

There are many ways to approach writing a review from the quick one-sentence review to the long detailed review.  Some reviews provide you with pros and cons while others focus solely on one or the other.  I don’t think there is any wrong way to write a review…different people have different styles.

Those of you who are familiar with my reviews from the past may have noticed a slight (and I do mean slight) change in them lately…or not…but I have.  I am growing more comfortable with writing reviews which has led me to relax and be a little less stiff or formal with them, but that hasn’t and won’t change their content.  I will still share what I like and/or what I don’t like and tell you a little about the book without spoiling anything. 

I am by no means a “professional” reviewer and never claimed to be…I am just a reader who reviews some of the books she reads.  Everyone has different tastes…what I didn’t care for, others might love and vice versa.  

As for reviewing, I am still learning as I go and enjoying the process.  I hope that what I do is helpful and that those who read the reviews enjoy them, but I know not everyone is going to.  And it’s okay.  I enjoy writing reviews and am going to do my best to not let it get old or stale or boring for me…even if that requires changing things up a bit every now and then, such as with the Book-of-the-Month.

As I mentioned yesterday, the Book-of-the-Month post will be kind of like a review, but a lot less formal.  I have a feeling I am going to enjoy the less formal format, but I don’t think it will affect the reviews on the blog…but you never know.

So, what kind of reviews do you enjoy or find the most helpful?
Do you let them influence your purchases?