Book-of-the-Month Reminder…

Friday, October 17, 2008

Just a reminder that voting for November’s Book-of-the-Month ends Oct. 20!  So, if you haven’t voted, go ahead and cast your vote! 

 

Also, I wanted to remind you all that October’s Book-of-the-Month discussion will be on Oct. 24.  On that day we (or I) will discuss The Undead Next Door.

 

Since I have never done this before, I am still learning as I go.  I have gone back-and-forth on how to handle the Book-of-the-Month discussion post because I don’t want to spoil the book for those who haven’t read it.  And with the blog being such a public forum, it would be an easy thing to do.

 

So I decided to treat it like I do reviews but in an informal format similar to a book report.  By that I mean that I will post a few thoughts on the book and then answer a few general questions just as I did back when I was in school and had book reports to do.  This will allow me to share my opinion without spoiling the story for others. 

 

I will still post a warning that spoilers may exist, however, because what some may consider a spoiler, might not be to someone else.  But it will really be no different than an informal review and I never reveal major plot points or spoilers in those and I don’t want others to do that either in their comments.

 

For those that read the book and would like to share their thoughts, here are the questions that I’ll answer and for you to keep in mind as well.  I won’t blog about the book until Oct. 24, but I thought I’d give you a chance to prepare if you’ve read (or plan on reading) the book.  Also, remember to check the discussion rules.

 

-Your thoughts?

-Favorite character?

-Favorite thing about the story?

-Least favorite thing about the story?

-Would you recommend this book?

 

As I have mentioned, we will see how this Book-of-the-Month thing goes and at least do it the rest of the year.  Things may change as we go, but I’ll be sure to let you know of any changes.  One reason I chose to do this is to help me discover books that I might not have read otherwise and to allow me to share my thoughts on those books with others. 

 

Even if no one participates, that’s okay with me…it’s really no different than me posting a review, only you get to choose the book.   If participation increases, I may start a Yahoo group for people to discuss (and post spoilers)…would that be something you’d be interested in?

 

We’ll see how it goes…

 

So, I will blog about The Undead Next Door on Oct. 24…and then on Oct. 25, November’s Book-of-the-Month will be announced!