Book-of-the-Month Reminder…

Just a reminder that voting for November’s Book-of-the-Month ends Oct. 20!  So, if you haven’t voted, go ahead and cast your vote! 

 

Also, I wanted to remind you all that October’s Book-of-the-Month discussion will be on Oct. 24.  On that day we (or I) will discuss The Undead Next Door.

 

Since I have never done this before, I am still learning as I go.  I have gone back-and-forth on how to handle the Book-of-the-Month discussion post because I don’t want to spoil the book for those who haven’t read it.  And with the blog being such a public forum, it would be an easy thing to do.

 

So I decided to treat it like I do reviews but in an informal format similar to a book report.  By that I mean that I will post a few thoughts on the book and then answer a few general questions just as I did back when I was in school and had book reports to do.  This will allow me to share my opinion without spoiling the story for others. 

 

I will still post a warning that spoilers may exist, however, because what some may consider a spoiler, might not be to someone else.  But it will really be no different than an informal review and I never reveal major plot points or spoilers in those and I don’t want others to do that either in their comments.

 

For those that read the book and would like to share their thoughts, here are the questions that I’ll answer and for you to keep in mind as well.  I won’t blog about the book until Oct. 24, but I thought I’d give you a chance to prepare if you’ve read (or plan on reading) the book.  Also, remember to check the discussion rules.

 

-Your thoughts?

-Favorite character?

-Favorite thing about the story?

-Least favorite thing about the story?

-Would you recommend this book?

 

As I have mentioned, we will see how this Book-of-the-Month thing goes and at least do it the rest of the year.  Things may change as we go, but I’ll be sure to let you know of any changes.  One reason I chose to do this is to help me discover books that I might not have read otherwise and to allow me to share my thoughts on those books with others. 

 

Even if no one participates, that’s okay with me…it’s really no different than me posting a review, only you get to choose the book.   If participation increases, I may start a Yahoo group for people to discuss (and post spoilers)…would that be something you’d be interested in?

 

We’ll see how it goes…

 

So, I will blog about The Undead Next Door on Oct. 24…and then on Oct. 25, November’s Book-of-the-Month will be announced!

5 Responses to Book-of-the-Month Reminder…

  1. Helen says:

    Sounds really good Jennifer I would be happy to join a yahoo group if everyone wants to.
    Unfortunatley I haven’t been able to pick up The Undead Next Door as yet but I am still looking. Most of the time I order my books from Rendezvous Romance Bookstore in Melbourne and I live in Sydney, and at the moment I am eagerly awaiting arrival of my October releases which is 8 books they sometimes take a while to arrive in OZ but even though I haven’t read the book I would still be very interested in the discussion.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Liza says:

    I just finished The Undead Next Door last night and can’t wait to talk about it next week.

    I like the idea of yahoo group. You can always put in the header if there are spoilers included. Diana Peterfreund even kept up a link for spoilers for her last book. There is an on-going blog posting with lots of spoiler information.

  3. azteclady says:

    I voted for the November book, but I don’t think I’ll be able to participate in the October discussion *hangs head in shame* I still haven gotten The Undead Next Door, let alone read it.

  4. Jennifer Y says:

    No worries if you can’t join in…

    And I will definitely post warnings that the blog post may contain “Spoilers” but I’ll do my best not to reveal too much…but even if something is revealed, it is a “read at your own risk” type of thing. I have read reviews on Amazon and other places that definitely reveal way more than what I usually do so it should be fine. Spoilers don’t bother me, but I know some people don’t like them.

    And we’ll see how the first post goes before I decide on doing the yahoo group. If I start a yahoo group it would probably begin with November’s books and I’d post a link and announcement on the blog. The group would allow people to discuss the month’s book in greater detail or say something they might not be comfortable saying here on the blog.

  5. azteclady says:

    Jennifer, if I may suggest?

    Perhaps you could do the club right here by posting a brief/mini review, inviting discussion in the comments with the proviso that the comment thread will be open to spoilers?

Leave a Reply

