Review of Line of Scrimmage by Marie Force

Blurb:

She’s given up on him and moved on…

Susannah finally has a peaceful, calm life and a no-surprises man.  Marriage to football superstar Ryan Sanderson was a whirlwind of passion, heat, energy, and excitement, but Susannah got sick of playing second fiddle to his team, watching women throwing themselves at him, and living in terror of the hard hits he took on the field.  With their divorce just days from being final, she’s already planning a wedding with her new fiancé…

 

He’s finally figured out what’s really important to him.
If only it’s not too late…

Ryan has just ten days to convince his soon-to-be ex-wife to give him a second chance.  He has just brought home his third championship and his career is at its pinnacle, but during the year of their separation, Ryan’s come to realize it doesn’t mean anything at all without Susannah…

 

***

 

Line of Scrimmage is a fabulous debut that I highly recommend!

 

Quarterback Ryan Sanderson is determined to win back his soon-to-be-ex-wife.  He convinces her to spend their final ten days as man and wife together hoping that being together will help them get back what they once had while he convinces her to give him another chance.

 

Susannah is reluctant to spend ten minutes with Ryan never mind ten days, but is determined to get her divorce so that she can marry her longtime friend and new fiancé, Henry.  So she goes through with the plan hoping to deal with Ryan and get it over with so she can get on with her life.

 

But as Susannah and Ryan spend time together they must face where their marriage went wrong and their lingering feelings for each other. They soon realize that perhaps it’s not too late for them after all…

 

Line of Scrimmage is an emotional and at times humorous love story about two people rediscovering love and each other.  The story made me laugh, cry, and believe in happy endings as I read about the ups-and-downs of Susannah and Ryan’s relationship.  Watching as the two rediscovered the love they had for each other and worked through their problems made the story real and enjoyable.  Theirs was a long and emotional journey filled with obstacles, both emotional and human, that added to the realism of the story.  There was no quick fix or rushing into things and that helped make the story believable for me.

 

Ryan was a wonderful hero, both strong and sensitive, and I could easily see why Susannah had fallen for him.  Susannah, a strong heroine, was a perfect match for Ryan as she helped keep him grounded despite his success.  But both had to learn to trust and believe in one another again. The author made the characters come to life through the story and I felt their pain, heartache, and joy.  

 

With Line of Scrimmage, Ms. Force definitely scored a touchdown!

8 Responses to Review of Line of Scrimmage by Marie Force

  1. Helen says:

    Great review
    I loved this book I read it in a day couldn’t put it down

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Jennifer Y says:

    Same here, Helen. Wasn’t it great? I loved that the characters had a history with each other…it definitely added to the story.

  3. Helen says:

    I loved the fact that Ryan wouldn’t give up he was so determined to convince Susie how much he loved her, truly great book.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Fedora says:

    I totally agree, Jennifer–Marie’s debut was incredible, and I’m salivating for more! 🙂 Terrific review!

  5. Liza says:

    I got this book over the weekend. I’ll have to move it up on my list of tbr books. Thanks for the great review Jennifer!

  6. Beth R says:

    I purchased this book I can’t wait to start reading it

  7. cheryl c. says:

    I just read this book, too, and I loved it. It was a wonderful story with characters you could really care about. My only complaint is that I wish there had been a little more info in the epilogue. I don’t want to give anything away, so I will just say that I would have liked to know a little more about what became of Henry and the negative publicity.

Leave a comment