Secrets Revealed…the Week of Secrets gets started

Up first this week is author Leigh Court who has some secrets to share with my readers.

             Thanks so much, Jennifer, for letting the authors from Red Sage Publishingsecrets27’s Secrets Volume 27 anthology post during this “week of Secrets!”

            My story in the anthology is a Victorian romance called THE BET. Here’s the blurb:

            “I can satisfy a woman using just my words…”

            That outrageous sexual claim made by a very drunk Damian Hunt, Viscount Atherton, somehow escalates into a high stakes wager between two best friends. Damian bets his prized racehorse that he can do it… George Beringer gambles his London townhouse that Damian can’t.

            And the surprising woman George chooses for the bet is not only a virgin, she’s also George’s very respectable sister, Claire! 

            Since our blogs this week are talking about the “secrets behind Secrets” I’ll give you a few of mine.

My writing secret: As an author, I’m known for dropping my characters into impossible situations and then stepping back to gleefully watch what happens (while enjoying as they fall in love in the process, of course)!  In THE BET, the impossible situation is set up right from the first line. In my story THE DISCIPLINARIAN in Secrets Volume 15, I have the outrageous situation of a Victorian husband sending his stubborn wife to London’s notorious Disciplinarian for instructions in wifely obedience. (Sparks fly in that story as well, but maybe not where you expect!)

I enjoy writing in the historical genre because I feel men were more noble and gentlemanlike in the past. And I particularly like to write about the Victorian era because my husband is English, and he’s my go-to expert on that time period! (My “secret” weapon, so to speak.)

The Victorian era is also a great setting for erotic romances because of the repressed sexuality of that time. Not only was the sight of a female ankle considered scandalous, but even table legs were required to be kept covered and out of sight! And yet, it was also during that time that Richard Francis Burton introduced the Kama Sutra to England. Another secret? The Kama Sutra plays a big role in THE BET.

The last secret I’ll share with you today is that I’m an ex-television news reporter who got so tired of covering bad news that I turned to writing romances! And since I was used to telling an entire story in one-minute-thirty-seconds for the nightly news, I find writing novella-length stories very satisfying.

I hope you’ll pick up a copy of Secrets Volume 27: Untamed Pleasures and let me know what you think of my Victorian romance THE BET! You can e-mail me at leigh@leighcourt.com or visit me at: www.leighcourt.com . Or check out our awesome book trailer on YouTube at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1oOOvTomv4.  

And be sure to leave a comment today on Jennifer’s blog, because at the end of this week, she’ll be picking a winner to receive not only a copy of the book autographed by all four authors, but also a limited-edition “Secrets Society” pin!

Thanks so much for letting me spend some time with you today!

 Thanks Leigh!
Readers, as Leigh mentioned leave a comment to be entered to win a fabulous prize.  Details can be found
here.

 Check back tomorrow for more “secrets” with Nicole North.

14 Responses to Secrets Revealed…the Week of Secrets gets started

  1. Leigh, I am so excited to read The Bet! I loved The Disciplinarian and its twists. Definitely not what I expected, but I loved it! I had no idea that the Karma Sutra was introduced in Victorian times, thanks for that factoid.

  2. kh says:

    oh very hot congrats on the books
    love secrets

  3. Carly Carson says:

    Hi Leigh,

    You have one of the most enticing blurbs ever. As soon as I return to civilization, I must get Vol. 27 because all of the authors are so talented.

    Good luck with the release!

    Carly

  4. Jane says:

    “The Bet” sounds like an intriguing story. It must be nice having your husband as a research expert.

  5. Mia Varano says:

    Leigh, are you telling us your husband is a “Victorian gentleman?” LOL – can’t wait to read Vol. 27 and all the hot stories.

  6. Leigh Court says:

    Thanks everyone! The Secrets anthologies are great, because with four stories there’s something for everyone’s taste: historical, paranormal and contemporary stories all in one volume! And they’re short enough to read before bedtime to guarantee you have sweet dreams, LOL!

  7. Pat L. says:

    Count me in. Best wishes with the book.

  8. I can’t wait to read The Bet, Leigh. And all the other Vol 27 stories.

  9. ThatBrunette says:

    Leigh,

    Great back story! It always makes reading more interesting to know something about the author or how they came to write it.

    The Victorian’s were a bit wacky. A lot of modern sexual terms came out of that period. They were also responsible for destroying the sexual images on ancient Roman art.

  10. Lynda says:

    The Bet sounds like a great story. I dislike George already. And Damian is just the kind of hero I like. One that doesn’t start out that way!

  11. Leigh Court says:

    Thanks everyone! Yes, Lynda, George is the bad guy of this story, and Damian is definitely the hero. I hope you like THE BET when you read it!

    And yes, Brunette, the Victorian society was definitely a bit eccentric!

    Thanks for all your comments — I had a great time sharing with you today!

    Best,
    Leigh

  12. RachieG says:

    Such a neat post! I’m glad you write romance now…It does seem like all the television has is sad/bad news. Death, shootings, drugs, robberies…and at the end a picture of a puppy. 🙂 There’s gotta be better things in this world!!

  13. Armenia says:

    Hi Leigh,

    So awesome that you have a “secret” weapon.

    I love Victorian romance because the heroes seem to be very honorable and so proper.

    THE BET sounds like a deliciously hot story. I am envisioning Damien Hunt with a husky voice like Barry White with an English accent so he could do some “dirty talking” to accomplish his sexual claim. LOL, I am cracking up because everytime I hear Barry White and “baby,baby”…it just oozes sexuality.

    Now, I am really curious and my panties are in a bind, so I need to seek out this book just so I can read it. Thanks.

  14. cathiecaffey says:

    Hi Leigh!! I so am pulling out Volume 15. I do think I have it and have to check what I read. I usually have one of the SECRETS book near the bed table because I can always pick up a story in the evening and read right then without having to say I have to sleep before I finish it! I’m so glad that the SECRETS have so much a variety, especially these historicals!

Leave a Reply

