Book-of-the-Month Discussion…Tall, Dark, and Deadly by Lorie O’Clare

Today I will be discussing April’s Book-of-the-Month, Tall, Dark, and Deadly by Lorie O’Clare.
talldarkdeadly

As I have done with the previous discussions, I will talk about different aspects of the story individually.  I encourage you to share your thoughts if you have read this story (either here or through e-mail).  Please keep the discussion rules in mind, however.

My discussion will contain no spoilers (and is basically a review in a different format), but I cannot promise that the comments won’t…so please read at your own risk!

 Keep reading for my discussion…

 

– My general thoughts on the story:
I really enjoyed this book. Strong characters, interesting romance, intrigue…this was a good romantic suspense.

Grace Jordan has moved to a small town to try to make a new life for herself and her daughter and to forget the past.  But a serial rapist/murderer in town is making it hard for her to forget.  And when the FBI sends in Agent Justin Reece, Grace finds her life thrown upside down even more as the pair fights an attraction that is hard to resist while working together to bring down a murderer.

– Hero:
Justin Reece
He has returned to his hometown to try to capture a killer and finds himself strongly attracted to Grace.  He is determined to seduce her and help her move on from her past despite her reluctance and hesitancy.  I do wish he had been a bit more patient and understanding with Grace, however, and took things a bit slower considering his knowledge of her past.

In addition to the murders and his attraction to Grace, he also must deal with a bitter ex-wife as well as children who are a bit resentful of his frequent trips away from home as he is an agent firmly married to his job.  He also fights a few demons of his own that are stirred up by the current case and is determined to solve it.

– Heroine:
Grace Jordan
This heroine is definitely a survivor.  Having survived a brutal experience in her past, Grace has risen above it and tried to make a life for herself.  But the serial murders taking place in the town she just moved to are bringing back memories that are best left buried…but there just might be a connection to those memories and that is what scares her the most. She tries to deny and ignore the connection for much of the story until it can no longer be denied.

Despite her tough attitude, Grace is still very vulnerable with both physical and emotional scars.  She guards her heart and tries hard to protect herself by pushing Justin away, the one man that could help her get over her painful experiences.

– Secondary characters:
There were several intriguing secondary characters who help further the plot.  There were quite a few that develop in unexpected ways…I’d say more, but it would spoil the plot…something I don’t want to do.

– Favorite thing about the book:
The premise and characters…I loved the whole premise of the serial killer and its possible connection to the heroine and thought it was quite interesting as was Grace and Justin’s evolving relationship (although I wish things had moved a bit slower considering Grace’s past experiences and the scars she still carries…their interactions are quite steamy).  I admired Grace’s strength and courage to move on with her life despite all that she has gone through.

 – Least favorite thing:
There were a couple of questions I had regarding the plot as well as Grace’s past that were never quite addressed to my satisfaction.

– Would I recommend the book?
Yes, for those who enjoy romantic suspense and don’t mind a few descriptions of brutal crimes.

– Final thought:
This was a great story and I look forward to reading more by the author.

7 Responses to Book-of-the-Month Discussion…Tall, Dark, and Deadly by Lorie O’Clare

  1. Pat L. says:

    I love the name Grace and I have been eyeing that cover.
    Sounds like something I might like to read, I know my daughter would. I would probably just breeze thru the violent parts.

  2. I haven’t read this book yet. I have thought about it, and after the discussion I think it is one that I would really like to read. Thanks for featuring it this month

  3. Cheryl McInnis says:

    I really liked this one, it was a good balance between suspense and steamy romance. I had a few problems with the plot just like you did Jen, but I will definitely pick up the next romantic suspense by Lorie O’Clare, Long,Lean and Lethal. I think it may be released in the fall.

  4. Please read this blog entry concerning some questions not answered at the end of the book. There was a slight glitch and I posted about it.
    http://www.lorieoclare.com/blog/
    Otherwise, thank you for discussing my book. I’m beyond flattered!

  5. Please refer to this blog entry. http://www.lorieoclare.com/blog/
    There was a small publishing glitch that was brought to my attention after the book released. Hopefully it will clear up some of those minor questions you weren’t sure about after reading Tall, Dark and Deadly. Otherwise, thank you SO much for featuring my book on your blog. This is so flattering!

  6. Ocealoovelp says:

    visit us!
    newsbox.cc
    newsbox.us
    nbstatus.wordpress.com
    NOW!

  7. s-postal.ru says:

    Написано конечно всё правильно, хотя и только поверхностно. В любом случае спасибо

Leave a Reply

