Interview with Rachel Kenley…

First, the winner from yesterday’s giveaway is:  Kara
Please e-mail me your mailing addy to claim your prize!

***

Today my guest is author Rachel Kenley!
Rachel has several releases with Ravenous Romance and was kind enough to answer my questions and tell us a little about herself and her books…

FantasticaWelcome!  Can you please tell us a little about your books?
Thanks so much for having me here, Jen.  I’ve written three novels for Ravenous Romance and they’re all a little different.  THE GLASS STILETTO, as you can probably guess, is a retelling of the Cinderella story.  DESTINY’S JEWEL is a fantasy adventure which takes place on both Earth and the new world of Dolnair.  Finally PASSIONATE SpellboundHEAT is a contemporary and my first erotic suspense.  In addition I’ve edited two anthologies (SPELLBOUND – retold fairytales; FANTASTICA – paranormal stories) and contributed to four others.  Can you tell… I love what I’m doing!

The_Glass_StilettoWhat inspired the stories?
For THE GLASS STILETTO is was wanting to give Cinderella a chance to make a different decision, more on her own terms. She’s a bit of a Domme in the bedroom, and I loved giving her that ability. destiny_s_jewel_cover

For DESTINY’S JEWEL I was trying to write a story with a jewel in it for a submission call.  I started out with a woman acting as a naked sushi platter with a sapphire in her navel and things kind of took off from there.  The book became bigger than the call and the characters had connections which meant there were more in the series.

passionateheat_coverPASSIONATE HEAT started as a retelling of the Hans Christian Anderson fairytale “The Steadfast Tin Soldier”. I wanted to give the soldier and his ballerina a happy ending.  Then I “discovered” that my hero, Miles, had two brothers, Zack and Jason, so the rest of that series was inspired by the first story.

Which of your characters is the most like you?
That’s a tough one.  I think they all have some of me in them.  Mariella’s determination, Kyra’s stubborness, and Jillian’s independence.  I like taking things I appreciate about myself and friends or things that challenge me about myself, and putting these into a character then watching how it plays out.

What’s your favorite thing about being a writer? Least favorite?
I’ll start with least favorite, or at least the most challenging, which is being disciplined even when everything else around me wants my attention.  I have two young sons (9 and 6), a husband, friends, writing group.  It’s a full life, but the Muse must be acknowledged. I do my best to write at least 1,000 words a day, if not more, on my current work in progress.

 My favorite thing is just about everything else.  Being a writer is my dream career.  I fall in love with my characters (even when they frustrate me) and have the best time creating their stories.  I’m always sad to finish one, but love knowing what I am going to move on to next.

If you could switch places with any character (including your own), who would you choose and why?
I’m a huge fan of the character Eve Dallas, created by Nora Roberts/JD Robb, but more than being Eve… I wanna be married to Rourke.  Now there’s a man who’s got it all – passion, drive, deep love, and huge amounts of money.  I’d also like to be a character with magical gifts.  That’s always sounded wonderful to me.

Describe yourself in three words.
Passionate, funny, free-spirited (hope the hyphenation is ok)

What do you like to read?
Just about everything.  My to-be-read pile is actually two very full shelves with a lot of paranormal romance and urban fantasy.  I love to read within the genre I write, of course, and have several favorite erotic romance authors including Angela Knight and Joey W. Hill.  I also read a lot of women’s fiction (anything by Jennifer Weiner), mainstream fiction, and recently author Lee Childs was recommended to me for his strong characterization of Jack Reacher.

What’s next for you?
I am currently writing PASSIONATE BONDS, the next book about the Anderson brothers, which will be followed by PASSIONATE WORDS.  After that, I return to Dolnair to continue the DESTINY series.  I’m so excited to have a chance to explore these different stories thanks to Ravenous.

Is there anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?
What do you think makes a great hero?
And perhaps a fill in the blank: “I love it when a character/book/author  _______”.  For me the answer is “when a character grows over the course of the book.”

Thanks Rachel!  Great questions!

Readers, you can learn more about Rachel by visiting her website:  http://www.rachelkenley.com

And her books can be found at:  http://www.ravenousromance.com

Now, how about answering Rachel’s interesting questions…

3 Responses to Interview with Rachel Kenley…

  1. cmkempe says:

    Nice interview! I have to say that I think what makes a great hero is that he sees something in the heroine (or other hero, depending on the story type) that everyone else overlooks or discounts. If she’s a take charge person, he’ll see her need to be able to let that go. If she’s a perfectionist, he’ll make her see the fun in being silly and simply allowing things to happen. Consequently, if she’s happy-go-lucky, he’ll see how she has the potential to buckle down for some serious results. It’s like finding a treasure everyone else has missed.

  2. Great interview!

    I myself always like a lot of mystery in my heroes. Something unexpected about him should always be revealed that in turn causes the plot to turn in an unexpected way.

  3. I love what you say about the characters having a bit of you in all of them. I couldn’t agree more.

    Really great interview.
    Angie

Leave a Reply

