Interview with Dana Marie Bell…

Yesterday’s winner is: JOYE
Please e-mail me to claim your prize.

***

Today my guest is author Dana Marie Bell!

 Here’s a little info about Dana’s recent releases…

steel-beauty-cover-comp-v2 Steel Beauty
She’s everything a big bad wolf could want.
Halle Pumas, Book 4

Coping with a devastating injury is hard enough for Belinda “Belle” Campbell. Forced separation from her destined mate while she heals is almost more than she can endure. Until she is strong enough to take up her duties as Luna of the Poconos Wolf Pack, however, the safest place for her is Halle. Now, after months of being alone, she is more than ready to be claimed. But is the pack ready for a Puma Luna?

Rick Lowell has waited long enough to bring Belle home where she belongs. He’s aware of the danger, as well—and it isn’t long before a bitch with an eye on Belle’s position issues a challenge. The only way to put down the threat is for Belle to defeat the usurper in combat.

There’s only one problem. Thanks to the pins in her broken hip, Belle can’t shift. Without that tactical advantage, it won’t be a fair fight. With his new mate’s life on the line, Rick is forced to make a decision that will change everything.

That is, if Belle gives him the chance to make it.

 Warning: This title contains explicit sex, graphic language, lots of doggie (or is that kitty?) style and some songs Rick will never want to hear again. Ever.

verymuchalive_pr Very Much Alive
Her destiny rests in their hands…
True Destiny, Book 1

Kiran Tate and Logan Saeter have been on the run from Oliver Grimm for so long they’ve forgotten what it’s like to be free. Ending Grimm’s power games won’t be easy, but this time they have an ace in the hole. PI Jordan Grey, Guardian Investigation’s resident hot shot—and Grimm’s step-granddaughter.

Jordan Grey has her doubts when Logan and Kir show up in her office with a tall tale of how her step-grandfather has framed them for murder. And to top it all off, they’re claiming that they’re really the ancient Norse gods Loki and Baldur, and that Grimm is Odin!

When the two lovers see the sexy detective for the first time, stopping Grimm suddenly takes a back seat to seducing her into their arms. But Grimm never rests, and when his anger spills over onto Jordan, it sets them all on a collision course with a destiny that will rock their world…

 Warning: This book contains explicit sex, graphic language, some violence, and hot male/male/female action. In fact, it could be considered a religious experience.

 And now here is my interview with Dana…

Welcome to my blog.
Thank you for having me!

Can you please tell us about your books?
How much time do you have?  🙂

Do you like alpha males? Do you like your books to have a spalsh (sometimes more) of  humor, a dash of danger, and a strong female lead? Do you like an author who’s willing to take your favorite myths and turn them on their heads?

That’s me.

Can you tell us about your different series?
The Halle Puma series is all about werepumas living in a small town called Halle.  Their Alpha, Max, returns to town to take up his duties as the Pride’s Alpha and finds that a young human woman he knew in high school is actually his mate! Max and Emma’s story was my first published work, titled The Wallflower both for what Emma once was and what she became in her adult life, the proprietor of a shop called Wallflowers. The Pumas took off from there.  Simon, the Beta, mated Becky, Emma’s best friend and another human in Sweet Dreams, and nearly lost her. Adrian discovers who he truly is to the Pride and his mate in Cat of a Different Color, and the latest Puma novel, Steel Beauty, tells the tale of Belinda “Belle” Campbell, the first ever Puma Luna and her big bad Wolf, Rick.  The last book of the Puma series is currently with my Beta readers, so I don’t want to reveal too much about that one.  😉 

True Destiny takes Norse mythology and turns it upside down.  What if Loki really didn’t kill Baldur? What if it was all some plot by Odin to try and subvert prophecy? What if Loki saved Baldur, and the two have been on the run ever since? And what if they fell in love? That’s the basis of True Destiny, taken from the word Ragnarrok, which means essentially destiny of the gods.

The Grey Court (starting in July) is all about the various Fae and how they live and love among us as mortals. Dare to Believe is the first installment and is about a half-Sidhe, half-leprechaun named Leo who finds the woman of his dreams in one of his own employees, Ruby.  When his family is threatened by an old enemy, he’s forced to reveal his true nature to the woman he loves sooner than he’d planned.  Book two will be about his sister Moira and her two men, the Sidhe lord Duncan and his bond-brother, Jaden.

You said the last book of the Puma series is with your beta readers.  Does this mean you won’t be doing shapeshifter stories anymore?
Not at all! I plan on expanding the shapeshifters, in fact.  I want Foxes, Bears, Coyotes, Lions, Pumas, every large predator that lives in the US and is a mammal.  (No werebunnies or werehamsters, thank you!) Which, believe it or not, includes Tigers.  I think I read somewhere that there are more tigers living in the United States than any other nation in the world.  The new shapeshifter series will be called the Pennsylvania Shifters, and will include the Poconos Wolf Pack from Steel Beauty.  And I’m also hoping to expand beyond novellas with this series, which was yet another reason to gently close the Pumas and start the new series.

What inspired the stories?
I think my two favorite inspiration stories are how I came up with Very Much Alive, book one of True Destiny, and Steel Beauty, Halle Pumas book four.

True Destiny came about when I started researching Norse mythology.  I used to LOVE reading mythology when I was a kid (I read Bullfinche’s when I was fourteen), and I remember always feeling kind of sorry for Loki.  Really, he seemed to just be acting out, the unwanted kid who nobody liked, who everyone picked on, so he made himself into what they already thought he was.  Then he kills Baldur out of… jealousy? Spite? Mischief? He’d never killed before, not that way.  So, why? It made no sense.  So here I am, and adult, and thinking of basing a story on Norse mythology. I began researching the myth of Baldur’s death and realized something: Loki can’t fly.  At all.  He needs to borrow Freyja’s cloak in order to do so.  So how did he turn into a raven and fly away from the other gods when they came to get him? 

I took it from there.  Now the series is all about Ragnarrok, the destiny of the gods, just not quite in the way they thought it would go down. It’s interesting reading through the Poetic Edda and the Prose Edda and finding the prophecies that need to be fulfilled, while keeping the main characters alive and well!

Steel Beauty was pure fun.  One phrase was the inspiration.  See if you recognize it.  “Cats and dogs living together, mass hysteria!”  😀  Here you have a Puma Luna, a big, strong Alpha Wolf, and a dominant female Wolf who is not happy at all at having a non-Wolf Luna. Hilarity ensues as Belle takes her rightful place at her mate’s side.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer?  Least favorite?
My favorite part of being a writer…? I’d have to say thinking “The End” when I’m done a story, and I know it’s good. There’s this tingling feeling I get, along with a sigh of both relief and sadness because I have to put these characters down now. My least favorite? Submissions! I panic before hitting “Send” every single time.

Describe yourself with three words.
Crazy lapsed brunette.

What do you like to read?
Words.  No, seriously.  I read everything from M/F, M/M, M/M/F, M/F/M, sci-fi (romance and non), fantasy (romance and non), paranormal, urban fantasy, BDSM,contemporary, you name it.  The only genre I don’t read very often is historicals. That’s merely a matter of taste since I’ve read a few that I do like. Ava March, Amanda Quick and Stephanie Laurens come to mind. Oh, and time travel paranormals have to be my least favorite paranormals.

What’s next for you?
I’m hoping to do two M/M stories, one in my new Pennsylvania Shifters line (Ben and Dave from Steel Beauty) and the third book of the True Destiny.  I’ve done M/M/F in Very Much Alive, and would love to do more menages, both M/M/F and M/F/M.

Do you have anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?
What do you think of fallen angels as heroes? I have this series in mind…

 Thanks Dana!
Readers, learn more about Dana Marie Bell and her books at her website:
http://www.danamariebell.com/

 So readers, what do you think of fallen angels as heroes?

11 Responses to Interview with Dana Marie Bell…

  1. molli says:

    Oh lord YES..I LOVE Fallen Angels. Go forth and write! (but finish Bunny first)
    hugs
    Molli

  2. Natasha A. says:

    DANA!!!
    I think you need to expand that idea! 😀

  3. I have a theme song for Bunny’s book, of course: Coward of the County.

    What, you were expecting Bear Necessities? 😀

  4. Hi DMB,
    I have heard a lot of good things about Steel Beauty. I love shapeshifters, no matter what form they take. I think you idea for a series with fallen angels sounds great!

  5. Thanks, Booklover! Steel Beauty was a lot of fun to write, especially since the heroine, Belle, was something of a witch in the beginning of the series. She redeemed herself and more than deserved her happy ending.

  6. Lyoness2009 says:

    Wow Dana! How have I missed you? The series looks great and I’m looking forward to checking them out. Can’t believe I’ve missed a gem like you!! 🙂

    lyoness2009 AT hotmail.com

  7. rachieg says:

    Hi Dana! I’ve been recommended your books on Amazon and I’m glad to kind of quasi meet you here! 🙂 They have great descriptions and I’m wowed by the covers. So many fluff (and not so good) shifter books out there now but these seem fun, good, and are a little different. Seriously will be looking for them the next time I’m at the bookstore!

    rachie2004 @ yahoo.com

  8. Thanks Lyoness! Very Much Alive is the first in it’s series and has what I call an “over-story”. In other words, each book will advance the plot until the bad guy gets his!

    If you’re interested in the shapeshifters you’ll want to start with The Wallflower, although Steel Beauty has more to do with the Poconos Wolf Pack than the Halle Pumas. I hate starting a series in the middle, don’t you? I always wonder who the other characters are, and I wind up back-tracking and reading in order. 😀

  9. Thank you, Rachieg! I’m glad you’ve been enjoying them.

    The one thing I’ve been hearing a lot of is people want me to make the stories longer! It’s one of the reasons I’ve decided to mix things up a bit with other shifters and expanding beyond Halle. After all, Halle is just one small town, but Pennsylvania? That’s a whole STATE for me to play in!

  10. jambrea says:

    I’m thinking…why isn’t it written already. 😀

  11. Working on Bunny and writing outline for another story.

    Shapeshifting dragons, done scientifically rather than “mystically”, are a pain in the butt…

Leave a Reply

