Q&A with Elaine Charton…

Today I have an interview with author Elaine Charton!
Her recent release, Pandora’s Justice, is available now!

 

pandora-coverWelcome to the blog.  I am glad you could be here.

Thank you for having me here.

 

Can you please tell us about your book, Pandora’s Justice?

I’d love to. Pandora’s Justice is the second book in a series I am calling Mac’s Men. The first book, EZ Lovin’ was out a little over a year ago.  That is where we first met Pandora Reilly and Justin Andrews. Here is the back cover copy for Pandora’s Justice.

 

Just when she thought she was safe….

Someone is stalking Pandora Reilly, someone dark and sinister, someone who knows things only her ex-husband would know. Her dead ex-husband.  Justin Andrews is hired to protect her and her children from the danger surrounding them.  Can he save Pandora and her children without sacrificing his heart? Or will his past come back to haunt him?

 

ez-cover-onlyWhat inspired the story?

Actually, EZ Lovin’ started out as a stand alone book.  However, Justin and Mac, threatened to take the book over and I had to promise them each their own story and a series is born.  Justin and Pandora just fit together.  Mac’s story will be out later this year.

 

Did anything surprise you while you were writing the book?

Yes, there was a character who popped up that I totally was not expecting.  He is a minor character but fit in nicely. I may give him a story of his own one day, you never know…

 

What was your favorite thing about writing this book?

Oh, that’s hard.  I set the book in Boston, where I grew up and I really do love that city.  I enjoyed setting the book there. I probably drove my youngest brother crazy, calling him up and asking questions. He worked in downtown Boston when I was writing this.

 

Do you have a favorite scene you wish to share?

Hmm, there is one. Justin has just discovered a painting Pandora is doing of him.It’s also the first kiss scene. She is painting him in his uniform of black, jeans, t shirt and leather jacket. Even if her daughter calls him the white knight.

I’ve enclosed a little bit of it here:

 

Covering her hand with his, he turned back to the painting.

“I’m no white knight or even a black one. I’m just a man, trying to make a living.”

She placed her free hand over his. “I think it’s a little more than that.”

He shook his head. “I’m not necessarily brave, but I am good at what I do, and I will do my best to protect you and your children.” He turned to her. “You do believe that, don’t you?”

“If I didn’t, you wouldn’t be here,” she replied, reaching up to gently stroke his face, wishing she could somehow wipe away whatever it was that caused all the pain she saw mirrored there.

“I happen to think that you are an extremely smart and very brave man, Justin Andrews, and don’t you forget it.” Then she surprised them both. Standing on her toes she pulled his head down to meet hers and brushed a kiss across his lips, as soft as the touch of butterflies’ wings. Just as quickly, it ended. They stared at each other, not sure what to do.

“Oh my,” she whispered before walking out of the room.

Justin stared after her, speechless.

 

Describe yourself in three words.

Honest, Passionate, Stubborn.

 

What do you like to read?

A bit of everything. I love mysteries, and romantic suspense as well as urban fantasy. I’ll read just about anything that grabs my attention.

 

Do you have any hobbies?

Cooking. I’m a food network junkie. In fact I made pumpkin carrot bars tonight to bring into the office tomorrow.

 

What’s next for you?

Well, Mac’s Man should be out later this year.  I just submitted a paranormal suspense to my publisher and I’m working on a couple of things. One is a mystery series set in a haunted B&B.

 

Do you have anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?

Yes, with all the different books out today, is there anything you feel is just a little over done? Anything you would like to see more of?

 

Thank you for having me here! I’ve really enjoyed answering your questions.

 

Thanks Elaine!

 

Readers, you can learn more about Elaine and her books at her website:  http://www.elainecharton.com

 

Go ahead and answer Elaine’s questions…I’ll admit I am curious to hear your responses.

12 Responses to Q&A with Elaine Charton…

  1. Roz Fox says:

    Great interview, Elaine. Your question is intriguing. I’ll be interested in checking back to see what people say. An eclectic reader myself, I like the variety available now. This is a good time for the book market according to some recent articles on publishing. So for the moment I think most sub-genres are enjoying stability to upswing even. Just my opinion.
    Roz

  2. Well Roz, given all your experience I’d say your opinion counts for a lot. 🙂
    Thanks for posting.
    Elaine

  3. larriane says:

    Hi Elaine, I just want to say I’ve read both and can’t wait to read Mac’s story. to answer your question, did anyone besides me feel like we were being taken over by vampires, werewolves, and shapeshafter there for a while?

  4. Kat Sheridan says:

    Great interview, Elaine, and Jennifer, thanks for hosting this! That excerpt sounds wonderful. Yum! I don’t think there’s any particular sub-genre that’s overdone right now, and I like the variety available to me, especially in the erotica arena. The only thing I’m getting worn out about is the naked male torso on covers (although some of them are seriously scrumptious!) But I’d like to see a little less skin a bit more tease, such as a man in a tux, shirt half unbuttoned, sleeves pushed up; something that entices me to go for more!

    Great question, and have fun on the blog tour!

  5. Larraine-
    You’re not alone on that one, trust me. I love them, I’ve written paranormal and am currently working on a ghost series. But for a while there it seemed that’s all there was to read.

  6. Larraine-
    Forgot to add, I think you will be pleasantly surprised with Mac’s story. It fits her well, she told me so.:)

  7. Kat-
    You have just described my favorite, a tall dark handsome muscular man in a well fitting tux shirt half unbuttoned sleeves rolled up. Just begs you for more.

  8. larriane says:

    Elaine, after that tall handsome cowboy how can you favor a tux? and tell Mac to she’s not nearly as hard nosed as she pretends.

  9. larriane says:

    for a while it was hard to get by the exotics on the romance loops too.

  10. Larraine-
    The tall cowboy looks damn good in a tux as well. 🙂 So I get both.
    Mac likes to think she’s hard nosed, it comes from her brothers. She always had to be just as tough as them.

  11. larriane says:

    oh, i forgot, he was in a tux. she should have know right then that man–oops, don’t want to give anything away. some how everytime i think of a man in a tux sexy, i think of Bond, James Bond. if he looks as good as Pierce, yum, yum.

  12. Larriane-
    Sorry I took so long getting back to you. I wasn’t ignoring you. The wicked RPJ(rent paying job) wears me down.
    To answer your question of he looks as good as Pierce All I can say is better! I used Sam Elliott as the model for EZ.

Leave a Reply

