Please welcome…Kimberly Killion!

kimberlykillionbiopicsmallToday’s guest is one of my fave authors…Kimberly Killion!

Kimberly has been a guest a couple of times here on the blog and in fact was a guest long before her book, Her One Desire was released…a book I loved and am happy to say was recently nominated for a RITA!

 

I invited Kimberly here today to tell you a bit about it…

 

 

The Cinderella story continues…

 

hodThat’s right…this Cinderella has yet to have a bad time at the ball. The said ball that I’m referring to is what romance authors call ‘national’. It’s where we go to learn, smooze, network, and meet up with old friends. My experiences with National go a little something like this:

2007 National: Dallas – Sold my first book to Hilary Sares of Kensington Publishing.

2008 National: San Francisco – Got to sign that book and wear a special ‘First Sale’ ribbon.

2009 National: Washington DC

 

This year is going to be the icing on the cake for me. You see that book I sold in 07 has been nominated for a RITA! What’s a RITA you ask? It’s the romance-publishing industry’s highest award of distinction. Think of the Oscars. RITA awards are presented annually to the best published romance novels of the year, and I’m beside myself to be nominated next to fabulous authors like Sherry Thomas and Anthea Lawson.

 

A little about ‘the Call’…

ritastickerI went to work early. Had my cell phone in hand…hopeful…but it never rang. 9:00 am came and past, then 10, 11, 12. By 2:00, I had given up and headed home. It’s 4:00 pm by now and I went to check my messages. I’m fairly confident the only message I will find on my machine is the one from my dentist reminding me about an appointment for the following day. Yes, the dentist had called, but when the phone beeped the next message, I nearly passed out. Kelly St. John, in a sweet southern drawl, called me to let me know that I had been nominated for a RITA in the Best First Book category!

 

I cried.

 

Checked the website again…I still wasn’t listed.

 

I quickly listened to the message 3 more times and managed to write down Kelly’s phone number after which I called her and told her there must be a mistake because I wasn’t on the list. She insisted she was in the right. In fact, she said she’d judged HER ONE DESIRE herself and loved it. She said she would send in an email to RWA and that the error would be corrected asap.

 

Hmmm…I was still skeptical, so I checked the RWA website just a couple minutes later and there I was. The first listing in fact. It was so cool…

 

I cried again.

 

Then what did I do…

I quickly spread my news all over cyberspace.

 

Life has been a whirlwind of emails ever since. And I wouldn’t trade my Cinderella story for the world. 🙂

 

I want to thank Jennifer for having me back on the blog…thank you, Jennifer! And here’s a question for your readers…

What’s your Cinderella story? Was it when you meet Prince Charming? Was it when you finally stood up to the evil stepmother?

Do tell…

 

highlanddragonwikiCongratulations Kimberly!!!  I am very happy for you!

 

Readers, you can learn more about Kimberly and her books on her website:  http://www.kimberlykillion.com

 

In the meantime, go ahead and answer Kimberly’s questions or leave a comment.

Kimberly has kindly donated a great prize to one lucky winner:  a signed copy of the RITA-nominated, Her One Desire and a signed coverflat of her upcoming release, Highland Dragon.

 

I announce the winner on Saturday, April 18 so be sure to return to see if you won!

18 Responses to Please welcome…Kimberly Killion!

  1. Greta says:

    I still need to get Her Only Desire, I’ve had it on my TBB list for a while now. The cover for Highland Dragon looks amazing. I’m going to have to add that one to my list.

    As for Cinderella – I have had my Cinderella moment yet or met my prince charming. I’m still slaving away for the step-sisters (EDJ & bills). Maybe someday in the future.

  2. First off…a HUGE thank you to Jennifer for supporting authors both known and unknown. Without readers like you, our stories would still be tucked under the bed. : )

    Greta, thanks for posting. Beware of those evil stepsisters. They can consume your life. LOL. And keep your eyes peeled for prince charming. He is likely wearing a disguise. : )

    Oh…and thanks for the kudos on the cover for Highland Dragon. I was verra much blessed y the over gods.

  3. Crystal B. says:

    Hi Kimberly. Congratulations on your RITA nomination. I am so happy for you. I have not had a cinderella moment.

  4. Roberta Harwell says:

    Hello Kimberly,

    Congrats on the RITA nomination. I’m glad to have had the opportunity to learn more about you. Thank you. Have a great day.

  5. RobynL says:

    My one desire is to read the book Her One Desire. You know what Greta, I now am Cinderella but those darn bills keep coming anyways; I now have someone to share them with, though. lol.
    Congrats Kimberly on the Rita nomination.

  6. Thanks ya’ll!!! It’s an exciting time for me, but also stressful. I have been having trouble finishing my current WIP. Especially since I got the new cover. ALl I want to do is play in PS and make book trailers andnbookmars and…and…!!! 8 (

  7. Pat L. says:

    Congrats Rita on your nomination.

    Enjoyed reading the blog.

    This book sounds v.g.

  8. Minna says:

    Congrats on the RITA nomination!

  9. Fedora says:

    Congrats, Kimberly, on your own Cinderella story! Hmm… a being-freed-from-the-evil-stepmother moment was being able to resign from my job (which had become more and more political and less and less fun) to stay at home to care for my family–huge sighs of relief and happy smiles all ’round!

    Is Her One Desire a standalone? What’s up next for you, Kimberly?

  10. Helen says:

    Thank you Jennifer for inviting Kimberly back I loved Her One Desire and huge congrats on the RITA nomination so well deserved and I am so looking forward to reading Highland Dragon WAY TO GO KIMBERLY.

    I met my Prince Charming when I was 15 years old and he was 17 we married 5 years later and have been married for 32 years now have 4 beautiful children and 4 even more beautiful grandchildren I couldn’t be happier.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  11. Quilt Lady says:

    Hi Kimberly, congratulations on your RITA nomination, this is great news. I have Her one Desire in my TBR pile, I just haven’t had a chance to read it. I need to move it up to the top. I love the cover of Highland Dragon, it looks like a good one too.

  12. Fedora,
    Sounds like you have your hands full but loving it. 🙂
    Her One Desire is a stane alone (right now) I would love to do Smitt’s story. He is a secondary character in the story and a bit o’ a womanizer. I think it would be a fun story to write.

  13. Wow, Helen! You do have a Cinderella story. We have a little in common. I met my dh when I was 15 and we married when I was 21. Been married 18 years…

    Glad you enjoyed Her One Desire. 🙂

  14. Yes Quilt Lady! Move it to the top. LOL
    Thanks for stopping by to chat.

  15. Leslie says:

    Congratulations Kimberly on your RITA nomination!

    My Cinderella story is that the prince and I dated but broke up. Then two years later the prince wrote and to say he was wrong to break up and wanted me back. Yes, I took him back and next week will be our 22nd anniversary.

  16. Caffey says:

    Beautiful on the RITA Nomination Kimberly!!! I’m teary eyed reading this right now on when that call came!! That makes you a winner already! I am truly happy for you! I have loved reading these Zebra Debuts and have met some wonderful authors like you that so care about your readers. So you are appreciated for all you have done!

    My Fairy Tale is more like After leaving college for the end of my 3rd year, it was so hard to not be with my hubby, then boyfriend. He sent a letter EVERYDAY and the poor mailman if that letter didn’t come! But he surprised and came up to see me! We took a walk to the park under trees and sat under that and both were saying at the same time that we cannot be ever apart and wanted to spend the rest of our lives together. We asked each other! I didn’t even think to ask where was my ring, cuz that wasn’t’ important. No evil witch in this one tho!

  17. RachieG says:

    Congratulations Kimberly, you more than deserve it! Much luck in the future too!!

  18. JOYE says:

    Enjoyed reading the comments and about the book. I am always looking for new authors to read and I have added this book to my TBR list.

Leave a comment