Please welcome…Donna Lea Simpson

First, yesterday’s winner is: Lori Ann

Please e-mail me to claim your prize!

***

Today my guest is Donna Lea Simpson…author of Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark.

Lord Darkefell, Lady Anne & the Singles Column.

Donna Lea Simpson – Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark

ladyanneHow many Regency-set romances have you read that feature the Marriage Mart, Almacks, Bath, and the endless round of balls young people (and some not-so-young) attended to meet and find a mate? ‘The Season’ features strongly in Georgian era romances too, which is the time period in which Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark is set. It was a serious business, finding a husband or wife, and negotiations were often entered with a forthright boldness that would surprise us now.

I’ve always wondered how one went about it, finding a husband or wife. I can imagine it was simple enough for some; families were connected and couples met at country house parties, or were matched during the Season. But what about those who were either too busy to go looking, or who disliked being matched by mutual friends? What about those who were picky or difficult?

Of course, that got me thinking about our own modern equivalent of the Season for those trying to find a spouse or just someone to date… the singles column or website! Some of the ads looking for potential mates are amusing, some sad, some touching, and I wondered, if the hero and heroine of Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark (Sourcebooks Casablanca – April 2009)two extremely eligible people, by the way, but both with issues-advertised in the singles column of their local paper or on Match.com, what would their description say about them?

***

How about this, for Lady Anne Addison:

Single #5333 – SWF, NS, SD (Wine, mostly), 24 yrs. old, passable appearance, reasonably fit, looking for a passionate, ambitious, energetic man to keep up with me. Independent and intelligent, I’m a daddy’s girl! No man can ever compare to my dear papa. However, if you want to try, I’m a good catch! Hobbies: sketching, painting, walking and solving mysteries. I’m family-oriented, love cats, not fond of children. Dislike the big city, gossips and stupid people. Pet peeves: bigotry in any form and liars. Love the country, long walks with my cat, Irusan, and my papa. I’m socially aware and support equal rights for all; I enjoy helping those less fortunate than myself. I am NOT looking for marriage!

Woo me with words, fellas, because I like witty conversation, candlelit dinners and kissing in the moonlight. My perfect match must be intelligent, scholarly and with a gentle nature; no jocks need apply! Contact: Harecross Hall, Kent, UK.

And this for Anthony, the Marquess of Darkefell:

Single #7430 – SWM, NS, SD. I am on the right side of 30, dark hair worn a little long, dark-eyed, fit, well-built, athletic, good looking and modest. I’m extremely masculine; not into wigs and make-up! I’m a bit of a clothes horse and keep up on the latest fashions. Looking for liberated lady who is not shy and doesn’t mind moving to be closer to me, as my work keeps me pretty close to home. I’m worth the extra effort! I have a few mother issues, but I’m working through them. Hobbies: pugilism (I’ve never met a man I can’t beat), horses, and I enjoy evenings out ‘howling at the moon’ with my best bud, Osei – not literally, LOL. I’m family-oriented, love dogs (not fond of cats), kids okay. Dislike the big city and have no patience for stupid people. Pet peeves: prejudice, stupidity. Love horseback riding on my extensive property.

I suppose I’ll have to get married some day, but right now I’m just looking for a good time with my ‘lady fair’; looks not important, but intelligence is. Good body and sensual nature are definite pluses! Contact me at: Darkefell Castle, North Yorkshire, UK.

***

Now, would you match these two? Some of the items are a little problematic, aren’t they? He’s into boxing, horseback riding and dogs, while she’s looking for someone with a gentle nature, who likes to walk and doesn’t mind cats. But at least he likes intelligent women, and Lady Anne is certainly that!

Ultimately I suppose that no matter what we think we want, finding the perfect match is a whole lot more difficult than a laundry list of specifications. Anne finds Darkefell’s intense masculinity unsettling but exciting, and he finds her independence difficult to deal with, though he respects her for it. He’s got ‘mother issues’ and she adores her papa. He finds her ‘snooping’ into his family mysteries annoying, and she is irritated by his evasiveness, as well as by his tendency to take her by surprise with overtly sexual kisses. They argue and investigate, fight and kiss; I think that if these two crazy kids do manage to ‘make a match’ it will be because loving each other makes the drama of working out their differences worth it!

Will they make it?

Well, just to warn you all, readers will have to stay with me through Book Two of the Lady Anne series, Lady Anne and the Ghost’s Revenge (Sourcebooks Casablanca – August 2009) and Book Three, Lady Anne and the Gypsy Curse (Sourcebooks Casablanca – November 2009) to find out if they make a match!

If you want to know a little more about Lady Anne Addison and Lord Anthony Darkefell, check out my website for more info: http://www.donnaleasimpson.com

Thanks so much for that fun post.
Readers be sure to check out Donna Lea Simpson’s website and to look for Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark in stores now!

5 Responses to Please welcome…Donna Lea Simpson

  1. Brandy W says:

    I totally want to read this series. Historical Romantic Mystery. Want it.

  2. Roberta Harwell says:

    This sounds thrilling. Will definitely be on the look out for this series. Would still love to win a copy though. Have a great day.

  3. Pam P says:

    Hi Donna, thanks for the extra insight to your characters via the personals. I’m so looking forward to seeing these two match wits.

  4. Caffey says:

    Hi Donna!
    There’s not much Historical mytery romance so its exciting about yours!! 3 books right? Do you think there may be more related to these? I’m excited about these and have so enjoyed your paranormals and heard too that more is coming (book #4)

  5. Aggie says:

    What’s up?. Thanks a bunch for the info. I’ve been digging around for info, but there is so much out there. Google lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the great information. I will be coming back over here in a few days to see if there is updated posts.

Leave a Reply

