Special Guest…Cynthia Eden!

Today my guest is author Cynthia Eden.

Cynthia chose to do the “Complete the Sentences Book Version” for her new release, Immortal Danger.

 

immortal-danger-My book is titled: Immortal Danger

 

-My book is about: An ex-cop turned vampire heroine and the shifter hero who has to trade his blood for her help.  🙂

 

-The book was inspired by: I actually wrote a novella for Red Sage about a female vampire (Blood Hunt in Secrets, Volume 25). I had a great time with that character, but I kept wondering what would happen if I made a darker heroine, one with a very scarred past, one with a bleak future, and one who just had nothing to lose. And with those thoughts…Maya was born.

 

-My book is set in:  LA, modern time, well, modern with a few paranormal upgrades.

 

-I chose this setting because: I wanted to use a very urban setting for this story, and I wanted to head to the West Coast with these characters (because the characters from my “Midnight” trilogy are the East Coast gang). 

 

-I think readers will like the hero because:  Adam Brody puts family first and foremost in his life. He’s dedicated, he’s loyal, and he’s very, very dangerous.

 

-I think readers will like the heroine because: Maya Black is a survivor. She’s tough, street-smart, and independent. She can also kick some serious supernatural butt. 

 

-If I had to describe the hero and heroine’s relationship with one word, that word would be: Dangerous. 

 

-My favorite character in the book is: Maya. 🙂  She’s so broken, and so bad and I love her.

 

-My favorite scene in the book is:  Hmmm…my favorite scene occurs when Adam finally gets to show the world just how powerful he is. 

 

-The thing I enjoyed most about writing this book was:  The characters–the characters were so much fun to write!

 

-If I had to summarize my book in one sentence it would be:  A shifter must put his fate into the hands of a female vampire he doesn’t trust, but craves more than any other. 

 

-I would love to know what readers think about “darker” characters in books. (By darker, I mean characters who don’t lead perfect lives, characters who have to deal with tragedy and horror, and characters who show that sometimes, that line between right and wrong is very, very weak.)

 

Thanks Cynthia!

 

Readers, you can learn more about Cynthia and her books at her site: www.cynthiaeden.com

 

Go ahead and tell Cynthia what you think about “darker” characters in books.

 

Cynthia was kind enough to donate a prize to one lucky commenter.

One commenter will win her/his choice of one autographed book from Cynthia‘s backlist (this includes Immortal Danger).

 

I’ll randomly select and announce the winner tomorrow

39 Responses to Special Guest…Cynthia Eden!

  1. Helen says:

    This book sounds really good I have just read my first vampire book and loved it so I am looking forward to reading some more, I love darker heros ones that seem to be almost bad but you can always see a touch of good in them.
    Thanks for a great interview Jennifer and Cynthia

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Lu says:

    Hi Jenn and Cynthia, great interview!!! Reading the answers sparked something in my crowded brain, and helped with my own plotting! How cool is that?? And I’m NOT working on a vamp/shifter story LOL. I haven’t read any vampire stories since Anne Rice (LOVED her). Perhaps I should give them another try.

    Have a great day!!!

    Lu

  3. Liza says:

    Welcome Cynthia! Immortal Danger just went on my tbb list. I love reading paranormal romances. I like that the characters are just a little darker and think it just adds to the story.

  4. Natasha A. says:

    I love dark characters. I sometimes get sick of “perfection”. Kick ass characters rock!
    Now you said that this is a trilogy, this is the second? I dislike reading out of order so I guess I have to go find some books huh? 😀
    This sounds absolutely fantastic.

  5. Cynthia Eden says:

    Hi, Jennifer! Thank you so much for interviewing me! I loved the “Complete the Sentence” interview version! 🙂

    Good morning, Helen! I’m glad you like the sound of the books and I am very happy to hear that you’ve started reading vampire books–those are some of my favorite books!

    Thank you, Lu! So cool to hear that you’re plotting got a kick today!

    Hi, Liz! Thanks for putting my story on your TBB list. I like to think that the darker characters add to the story, too.

    Natasha, I am SO far from perfection–I know most folks are–so it is always good for me to read about imperfect characters. This book is actually a stand alone title. I do have a trilogy with Kensington Brava, though, and that is my Midnight trilogy. (Sorry if my answer above was confusing!) My Midnight trilogy order is: HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT, MIDNIGHT SINS, and MIDNIGHT’S MASTER (due out in July). The Midnight gang all live in Atlanta, and while IMMORTAL DANGER follows the same “world” rules, the setting is the West Coast.

    Thanks for checking out the interview. And, again, Jennifer–thank you!

  6. Natasha A. says:

    @ Cynthia: Thanks for clarifying that! I have a crap load of books to buy now! 😀 lol

  7. RachieG says:

    I love darker characters!! I think it makes them a little more like general people you know? I couldn’t read Twilight (NOT to put it down, just I didn’t like it) simply because Bella was so “perfect” She had tons of friends, happy adjusted childhood, blah blah blah. I think everyone has problems and when you read, if you find the character has problems too it’s easier to connect.

    This book sounds fantastic!

  8. Liane says:

    Mmmmm, did you say dangerous? My favorite kind of relationship. 😀

  9. Taylor Z says:

    It sounds like a great book! I can’t wait for Easter, so i can go get it with giftcards….Darker characters to me are actual people in the world. Somewhere someone is probably dealing with the same problem. No ones perfect, so darker characters tend to express that even characters in books aren’t perfect, but just like ones in real life they find a way to solve their problems. I know alot of people who think well since its a book this will never happen, so the persons perfect, but this stuff does happen, and no one in a book or out if perfect.

  10. Elaine says:

    I currently have this book in my purse to read, unfortunately I have to wait until after I read the two books I also currently have in my purse…lol

    I love it when the species mix it up.

  11. Cynthia Eden says:

    First, Liza, I apologize! Earlier, I mistakenly typed Liz as your name–ack! Sorry!

    Thank you, Natasha! 🙂

    Hi, RachieG! Oh, I agree–we all have our problems and I think it is so much easier to connect with imperfect characters.

    LOL, Liane. My favorite, too!

    Thank you, Taylor! (I’m hoping to get some giftcards from the Easter bunny, too.)

  12. Cynthia Eden says:

    Hey, Elaine! Hey–my purse sounds like yours! 🙂

  13. Carolyn Jean says:

    Okay, don’t enter me in this contest because I want to give other people a chance to win, but hey, this book is definitely going on my to-buy list.

    Cynthia, I absolutely love your one sentence description. I love the ‘vampire he doesn’t trust but craves thing.’

  14. Lisa W. says:

    I think your book sounds really good and have added it to my tbr pile.

  15. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. I love Cynthia’s books. 🙂

  16. Lori Ann says:

    Fun interview!

    Darker characters are almost always more interesting to read about than perfect characters. They have more to deal with and more to overcome throughout the course of the story – which adds extra depth to a book.

  17. Teresa W says:

    Darker charactors are sometimes fun to read about you never know what their going to do or they could possibly have some hidden secret. Looking forward to your latest release!

  18. Chris says:

    What I like about the darker characters in books is that they usually have more at stake and it’s more fulfilling to read about them getting themselves together/being redeemed.

  19. Jane says:

    Hi Cynthia,
    I enjoy reading about darker characters. We get to understand the character by seeing their struggle with internal conflict as well as external.

  20. Roberta Harwell says:

    Hello Cynthia,

    The darker the characters are the better for me. I want to be pulled and twisted up in knots because of the characters turmoil. I want to be able to feel their pain. If a book grabs me by the heart, the author has me for life. Have a great day.

  21. sara hurt says:

    Hello Cynthia COngrats on the release it is sure to a huge hit. I totally agree with Roberta and love a dark and tormented character. The emotional rollercoaster is a big winner in my book.

  22. Amy S. says:

    Great interview! Immortal Danger sounds great!

  23. Liza says:

    No worries Cynthia. Loved the interview(forgot to say that earlier)!

  24. Donna S says:

    Thanks for sharing! Cant wait to read Immortal Danger it sounds so good.

    I like darker characters in books because they seem to be deeper and more involved with more to either win or lose and make it exciting.

  25. Cynthia Eden says:

    Thanks, Lisa! 🙂

    Hi, Crystal! Glad you enjoyed the interview (I loved the format Jennifer offered). And thank you very much for the compliment on my books!

    Hello, Lori Ann! That is so why I like darker characters, too!

    Teresa, I think darker characters can definitely leave you guessing as you read the story. Sometimes it’s hard to completely figure their motivations, so they can surprise you! And I’m happy to hear you’re looking forward to the next book! Thank you!

    Christ, such a good point–thank you!

    Hi, Jane! Ah, thank you for bringing up the internal and external conflict–those darker characters sure have a lot to deal with!

    Hey, Roberta! So good to know I’m not the only one who gravitates to the darker characters. I hope you have a great day, too!

    Thank you, Sara! And, oh, I am so about taht emotional roller coaster ride! Such fun to be on that ride!

    Hi, Amy! Thank you!

    LOL, Liza, thanks for being understanding. When I type, sometimes letters have a tendency to just disappear…I think my hands can’t keep up with my mind. Oh, if only they could! That would be sweet!

  26. Caffey says:

    Don’t put me in this contest since I’ve dearly have enjoyed all of Cynthia’s books! Whoever wins is going to have a treat of a read!!

    Having read yours of some darker characters and others, I do become emotional too reading them because not wanting anyone to ever hurt, it does happen and to see their growth, usually in them being able to love another is beautiful to read.

  27. Pam P says:

    Darker, edgier characters are so intriguing and dangerousk I like seeing them skirt that line between good and evil, finally admitting to that goodness somewhere in them and staying on the right side of the line.

  28. Michele says:

    Love the darker characters in books. For instance totally intrigued by Niol when he was introduced in HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT and was so excited that he got his own story. Dark characters seem more real to life and pull you into their world.

    Speaking of dark characters, is Lucas from IMMORTAL DANGER possibly going to get his own story? Would LOVE it if he did 🙂

  29. Lisa Freeman says:

    When the dark character is written right, I think he/she gives the story more depth and honesty.

  30. edie17 says:

    Cindy, damaged characters are my favorite — in fiction. 😉

  31. Pamk says:

    love those dark and tormented heroes. Some of my favorite books are like this. One of my alltime favs has a dark and tormented heroine. That book make me cry.

  32. Cynthia Eden says:

    Hmmmm…my typo madness contines. 🙂 When I wrote “Christ, such a good point”–ahem, that should have been Chris. LOL.

    Thank you, Caffey! I’m glad you enjoy seeing the character growth for the darker characters.

    Hi, Pam! I like it when they balance over on the good side, too. 🙂

    Hey, Michele! So happy that Niol caught your attention! He’s one of my favorite characters to date. Oh, and Lucas!! Yes, I would very much like to write a story for him!

    Hello, Lisa! You’re so right–those characters can shine the light of honesty on a story.

    LOL, Edie, I want those characters more in fiction, too!!

    Pamk, when a book is strong enough to make you cry, it’s a book that has to wind up on the keeper shelf!

    Thank you all for the comments! And, Jennifer, thank you for having me over today!

  33. Lynda says:

    Everytime I read in interview about a new to me author that intrigues me, I pop open my Byron database. That way I can read about all of their books and add what I want to the shopping list. I have no idea how I’ve missed you! ALL of your books sound like my type of book! Thanks!

  34. Fedora says:

    Popping in late to say, very fun, Cynthia! I definitely enjoyed your sentence completion! I’m really liking the sounds of this latest–it’s on the TBB!

  35. kh says:

    great inteview. congrats ont eh book.
    eitehr hero is fine by me.

  36. LINDA B says:

    HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WHEWW!!

    SOUNDS LIKE JUST MY CUP OF TEA ALTHOUGH I RATHER READ IT WITH SOUTHERN BUTTER PECAN FLAVOR COFFEE!! LOL

  37. LINDA B says:

    FORGOT TO SAY GOOD LUCK TO ALL AND HAPPY EASTER!

    CATHIE, YOU ARE SO LUCKY TO HAVE READ THEM WHILE THANKS TO SCROOGE, I’VE READ NONE!

  38. LINDA B says:

    OKAY, SO DID I WIN? ROFL!

  39. LINDA B says:

    I DEFINITELY LIKE DARK!! LOL

Leave a Reply

