What Would You Do?

Here’s another What Would You Do? for ya! 

As a reminder the What Would You Do? post is where I give you a book-related scenario and ask your opinions or what you would do.  I am enjoying the responses that I have gotten on these.  There are no right or wrong answers to the questions and I truly want you to have fun with this.

Keep in mind that these are completely fictional situations that I have made up.

 

Here’s your next situation…this time I have given you some choices:

 

You are at your local bookstore perusing the romance section.  You have a handful of books that you are trying to choose between when you notice that the lady next to you looks a lot like the author picture in the one you just picked up.  In fact, you are pretty sure it is the author as her bio says that she lives in the area.  She keeps eyeing the books in your hands, but doesn’t approach you.

 

Do you:

 

A) Approach her to see if she is the author

B) Discretely ask a bookstore employee if they know if she is the author

C) Say nothing, but try to catch her attention by using the book in some way hoping that she’ll approach you first

D) Get someone else to approach her and ask if she is the author

E) Make your purchases without doing anything and leave the store

F) Other (if you choose this option, let me know what you would do)

 

You can choose multiple answers or just one…what you do is up to you…

 

And I want the authors to answer this as well…also, if you are an author, what would you do in this situation…would you approach a reader in a store if you notice they are looking at your book?

 

Has this ever happened to any of you (readers and authors)?

8 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. Lindsey Ekland says:

    This has never happened to me but I would approach the woman and ask if she is the author. Even if I have read nothing she has written it is fun to talk about romance books.

  2. Lois says:

    It might depend on how shy I was feeling that day, seeing I am shy and all. . . and if they were alone. If they were, I might do A. Otherwise, I just might pretend I never saw anyone and do E. LOL 🙂

    Lois

  3. Lisa Hendrix says:

    Ham that I am, I love it when readers approach me. Please, if you’re ever in a store and see me, tap me on the shoulder and say hi, even if I’m wearing my jeans and have no makeup on. I’ll squirm a little at how schlocky I look, but I’ll talk!

    And as for approaching readers looking at my book…Shoot, I’ve been known to approach them even when they’re just scanning romance shelves–including in the grocery store. I ask what sort of books they like. If it’s sweeter books or erotica, I have plenty of friends’ books to recommend. If, however, they say they like paranormal or historical, I introduce myself and suggest they might like my book. If the book is available, I put it in their hand. If it’s not, they get a bookmark or business card.

    Some people get excited and ask me to sign the book on the spot. Others are less enthused. The key, I think, is to tell them it’s just a suggestion, then move well away after the conversation to take the pressure off and give them the privacy to put my book down if they don’t want it. And I never, ever approach someone who has a book in hand. It would be bad form to talk someone out of another writer’s book.

  4. Liza says:

    I would approach and ask. I’ve been lucky enough to meet several authors, and I love meeting new ones. Even if it wasn’t the author, I love talking about books with other readers.

  5. Helen says:

    I would approach the author I love talking to authors although I have never met any in a bookstore I have been lucky enough to meet some authors and they are all such lovely people.
    BTW Lisa I am so looking forward to your next book

    Have Fun
    Helen

  6. Susan says:

    I would approach her to see if she is the author. I’m shy but if it involved a book and its author I would definitely break out of my shell. 🙂

  7. Elle Amery says:

    My books haven’t yet hit the bookshelf, but when they do, and if I were ever in this situation, I would hope the reader would approach me. Unless, of course, they wanted to argue character development, or try to convince me to use a story about what happened at their cousin Mildred’s bridal shower in my next book! Writers like to know what interests readers, and we love it when readers let us know that they like our work. So yes, please say, “Excuse me, but could you possibly be . . .?” I’d be thrilled!

  8. Pat L. says:

    I too would approach the author to see if she or he was who I thought it was. I just couldn’t let it pass.

Leave a Reply

