Special Guest Ann Aguirre…

First, the winner of yesterday’s giveaway is:
Marie E.

Please e-mail me to claim your prize!


Now for today’s post…

Today I am pleased to welcome Ann Aguirre to the blog.
Ann’s latest release, Blue Diablo, hits stores April 7!

 

blue-diabloHere’s a blurb:

Right now, I’m a redhead. I’ve been blonde and brunette as the situation requires, though an unscheduled color change usually means relocating in the middle of the night. So far, I’m doing well here. Nobody knows what I’m running from. And I’d like to keep it that way…

 

Eighteen months ago, Corine Solomon crossed the border to Mexico City, fleeing her past, her lover, and her “gift”. Corine, a handler, can touch something and know its history—and sometimes, its future. Using her ability, she can find the missing—and that’s why people never stop trying to find her. People like her ex, Chance…

 

Chance, whose uncanny luck has led him to her doorstep, needs her help. Someone dear to them both has gone missing in Laredo, Texas, and the only hope of finding her is through Corine’s gift. But their search may prove dangerous as the trail leads them into a strange dark world of demons and sorcerers, ghosts and witchcraft, zombies—and black magic…

 

 

Now here is Ann…

 

Interesting on Demand

 

Six months before release, you start thinking, hm, I need to schedule some guest appearances. So you do that (or you have someone book said appearances for you). You’re happy as a clam, looking at your appearances schedule because it means people want to hear what you have to say. Glee! For those months, you savor the warm fuzzy feeling of being wanted.

 

Two months before release, you start getting nervous while looking at your appearances schedule. Lo, you have fifteen guest blogs. Can you possibly be interesting on fifteen different occasions? Probably? Maybe. Well, possibly not. But you have a book to write, so you put it from your mind.

 

One month from release, you examine your calendar again, and say to yourself, holy crap. Self, this is really happening. You’d better come up with something fast.

 

Unfortunately, your brain has turned to Malt O’Meal from the grueling word count, and all you can think about is how spray-on tan works for old people. I mean, if someone with really serious wrinkles steps into the tanning salon, how do they keep from getting extra dye caught in the creases? Maybe old people don’t do spray-on tan? Then you chastise your brain for being so obviously damaged, demented and deranged. That’s right—the triple-D, which isn’t nearly as impressive as in breastises.

 

Somehow you manage to stop thinking about spray-on tan and focus for a little while, only to discover your concentration has been fried by the time you spent writing fiction in the morning. See, that’s what you signed on for. Guest blogs are hard! You swore you had something to say six months ago. Pre-book. In some cases, it may have even been three or four books ago.

 

Self, you need a personality implant, you decide. You know how some people seem effortlessly cool on the internet, radiating charisma and constant witty repartee? Well, that’s not you. You write in your pajamas, and you run errands on Tuesdays. You constantly forget to pull something out of the fridge to make for dinner, and your family wonders if you’re ever going to get a haircut. A few of them suspect you’re insane. Once you get really deep into the book, you mumble as you do household chores. Crazy? No, you’re plotting. Really.

 

Three weeks before release, you’ve run contests until you start to wonder whether anyone would be interested in your soul, along with a nice Coldstone Creamery gift certificate. Sadly, given the state of your soul, you decide they probably would not.

 

Anyway, so here I am. If any of this has made you smile I’m glad because according to this study, brain deterioration begins at 27. So apparently I’m lucky I have any neurons firing at all in my thirties.

 

I think I’m relieved to have a reason for my mental decrepitude!  What do you guys think? Is that true? Do you have any weird brain-fart moments that you think could support this hypothesis? If so, what are they? The best / funniest story will win a copy of Blue Diablo.

 

Thanks Ann for that great blog!

 

Everyone, as Ann mentioned there is a giveaway today!

Leave a comment answering Ann’s questions to enter.

 

But wait, there are some special rules for this giveaway:

1) Winner must to post a review online somewhere (Amazon, BN.com, personal blog, etc.) by April 25th and send a link to the online review to Ann (an e-mail addy will be provided to the winner) E.T.A.  This rule is no longer a requirement.

2) Winner will be contacted via email, therefore a valid email address must be provided for the comment to be entered in the giveaway

 

Other than that, anyone can enter.
The winner will be announced sometime tomorrow so be sure to return to see if you won.

 

And if you want to learn more about Ann and her books visit:  http://www.annaguirre.com/

 

Oh, and before I forget, Ann is having a BIG blowout contest to celebrate the release of Blue Diablo.

Click here for more info.

22 Responses to Special Guest Ann Aguirre…

  1. Natasha A. says:

    Well. That would explain the last year…. (I turn 28 in July). Hmm.
    Well, you made me smile 🙂 I can see this being hard. What about keeping a document on your desktop, so whenever you come up with an idea to write for a guest blog session, you jot it down (this of course 6 months before the blog)
    I am a big lister….I write lists for everything.
    Anyways, this book sounds great. I can’t wait to get my hands on it.
    And thank you Ann for the interview!
    natashaw1 AT gmail DOT com

  2. Natasha A. says:

    OH! and congrats Marie E.!

  3. Ann Aguirre says:

    Hi Natasha! I was pleased to have a reason for my absentmindedness. 😀

  4. Donna L says:

    That was an enjoyable post, definitely made me smile. Brain deterioration, explains a lot for me, I turn 40 this year. Yuck.

    As for brain fart moments, I’ve had many. But my lastest: I subscribe to a lot of blogs that have to do with mainly my reading interests which are mostly urban fantasy, paranormal romance & fantasy. I started using a new blog reader called Feedly. Feedly pulls in your blogs from Google Reader. Well, you know how you can share blog posts with friends in Google Reader? I noticed last night that the button I’ve been clicking on in Feedly is not the starred button but the share button. *panic moment* then *blushing furiously*. Went through some of the blogs I “shared”, some blog posts showing very sensual book covers, beefcake and gratuitous video of the day…My boss and co-workers are setup to share with me. Funny thing, no has said anything. Been doing this for about two weeks now. What’s even worse, I work in IT. You’ve thought I would know better. Last night, I was worried. Today, I’m laughing at myself.

  5. Ann Aguirre says:

    Hahahahaha. That’s AWESOME.

  6. Angie says:

    I don’t know if this qualifies as a brain fart since it happened not long after I had my first kid and I claim postpartum insanity. I was struggling to keep school, work, baby, husband together and one afternoon I was standing at the top of the stairs talking to hubby at the bottom of the stairs. I was holding a glass of milk and somehow fumbled it and it fell. I looked at the mess and burst into sobs. Husbands response: “You do realize you are actually crying over spilled milk.” It wasn’t funny at the time but never fails to make me grin now.

  7. Ann Aguirre says:

    Angie, that’s a great one. I’ve cried over many spilled substances, but my fave is paprika.

  8. Angie says:

    Paprika?! Do tell…

  9. Ann Aguirre says:

    Well, it had been one of those days, where I just kept dropping everything. I was in the kitchen, making a fairly elaborate dinner. (I was trying a recipe we saw on TV), cabbage rolls from the Ukraine, I think. It took me forever to find all the different kinds of paprika here, too. But I finally had everything ready. I grabbed the paprika out of the cupboard and SMASH.

    Glass shards, red powder everywhere. Dog and cats milling around. I was like OMG (and I cried)

  10. katiebabs says:

    Great post! My brain was fried a long time ago. Tends to happen when you reach 30. 😛

  11. ocelott says:

    If the brain deterioration doesn’t start until 27, I’m screwed. I’ve been a ditz all my life, and it’s all downhill from here? Ouch.

    I combat never remembering my own thoughts for more than five minutes by writing notes for myself everywhere. The issue is, sometimes I can’t decipher my notes. I’ll find three or four words written on a scrap of paper, something I clearly thought “oh yeah, that should be enough to job my memory” and have NO idea what it’s supposed to be about. “Honey? Do you have any idea what ‘spots in July 3pm’ means?”

    He never does. Some excuse about not living in my head. Bonus points for me if I not only don’t remember what I was trying to remind myself of, but don’t even remember making the note in the first place. I’m starting to think gremlins are following me. Gremlins who have perfected my handwriting.

  12. Ann Aguirre says:

    Too funny! Your husband sounds like a hoot.

  13. RobynL says:

    the other night at work I walked down the hall and got halfway down(by the tub room/laundry room) and stand there and couldn’t figure out why I was there. What had I come for anyways? There was no one to ask either being that the residents were all in bed and wouldn’t know any ways. I go back app. half way and then realize I wanted to get a bubble pack of meds for one of the residents as I had used the last pill. Oh my goodness. Where is my brain and what is it functioning on.

  14. Ann Aguirre says:

    Robyn, I do stuff like this all the time. I open up Google to search for something (it’s book research) and then I sit there looking at the search bar. Hmmm, what did I need to know again…?

  15. Caffey says:

    {{{Waving}}} Hi Ann!! This sounds so cool!!! To touch something and know the history is neat! And what was the most fascinated you found Ann? I remember I had to a research paper on a history of a word and how it came to be and that was through books then. Now there’s a wealth of information online! So I can imagine sometimes so much info for you to find online too Ann?

    I’d love to be in this contest, thanks!

  16. Caffey says:

    My hubby has quite a few brain farts. I can’t tell you the number of times I found the weirdest things he puts in the fridge! I mean one time we came home from Target, we weren’t even at the food store, and he I found the package of socks in there! At least they were clean!

    Now to think of mine! I honestly had a hard time remembering because I’m always trying to help my hubby (and my son) that both have alot of brain farts, because my son I would ask for something and 3 hours later he’d come back and ask ‘what did you ask me for?’ My brain farts are usually long walks in the food store. I don’t go aisle to aisle, I jump all over the place because I never remember when I’m in the aisle what I want and even with a list it doesn’t help! So my hubby does alot of the food shopping!

  17. Fedora says:

    Wow, seriously, Ann? If it’s all downhill after 27, and factoring in the impact of having kids on one’s brains, I’m lucky to be still dressing myself 😉 LOL! How can I actually pinpoint just one instance of brain decrepitude? The worst in recent memory was just completely forgetting about a birthday party we’d agreed to attend–it was on the calendar, and I bought and wrapped the present earlier in the week. I remembered as I was going through our “what we’ll be doing tomorrow” with the kids the day before, and even made a mental note about it the morning of. BUT that afternoon? The actual couple hours before, during, and after the party? It was as if the dry-erase board of my brain had been scrubbed clean. Nada. Just a very small “hmm… it seems like we ought to be doing something…” Aack. Completely embarrassing. Alas. The worst of it is, I’m not sure I can promise it’ll never happen again… ;p

  18. Ann Aguirre says:

    Sometimes I block out stuff that I don’t want to remember needing to do.

  19. blodeuedd says:

    Well since I already have an ARC of Blue Diablo I don’t need to share my “blonde” moments as I call them 😉
    By the way, I loved it 😀

    But for a little story, I was walking to class and I couldn’t figure out from where this lovely scent came. It took me a while to realise it was my own hair.

  20. Ann Aguirre says:

    Hehe! Well, at least it was a nice scent.

  21. […] Ann Aguirre, author of Blue Diablo and Wanderlust, by Jennifer’s Random Musings […]

  22. Caffey says:

    Huge congrats Marie!

Leave a Reply

