Amelia Grey Guest Blogs!

Today’s guest is author Amelia Grey.
Amelia’s book, A Duke To Die For hits stores in April!

ameliagreycoverHere’s a blurb:
The handsome fifth Duke of Blakewell is more interested in card parties, horse racing, and carousing than in settling down to manage his extensive estate and vast fortune. When young Miss Henrietta Tweed arrives on his doorstep and announces he’s her new guardian, she also tells him that a family curse accompanies her, and each of her previous guardians has met an untimely end. Finding her remarkably capable and cool-headed, Blake sets about to get her a husband, but finds something wrong with every one of her suitors.

When Blake suffers a series of accidents, Henrietta is more than ever convinced she must free him from the cursed guardianship. Just as Blake realizes he wants nothing more than to marry her himself, she accepts a suitor and now he has to win her back. But someone or something definitely seems out to get him, and one final accident may prove to be deadly.

Now here is Amelia…

“Bits of Wisdom”
by Amelia Grey

I absolutely love quotes, sayings, and clichés.  Be they clever, inspiring, funny or too puzzling to spend a lot of time trying to figure out the meaning.  I can find a use for them all.   When I came across the book of Lord Chesterfield’s letters to his son I knew I had to write a book using some of the earl’s most famous quotes.

I already had the idea for my new Regency trilogy The Rogues’ Dynasty, with three handsome, titled cousins, simmering in the back of my mind.  All I needed was someone to connect the heroes to the earl, and their famous grandmother fit the bill for that.  So throughout A Duke To Die For(in stores in April!), A Marquis To Marry (Fall 2009), and An Earl To Enchant (Spring 2010) you will find bits of wisdom from Chesterfield. 

The fun of this idea was to have characters throughout the three books attribute quotes and sayings to Chesterfield that he never said.  For instance in the first book of the trilogy A Duke To Die For  Chesterfield  is given credit for saying, “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks.”  He didn’t say that, but he did say, “Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.”

It’s been so much fun weaving familiar and odd quotes into the trilogy.  Some of my favorites, I have gleaned from workshops at conferences. In a RWA chapter a few years ago there was a contest to come up with the best sentence to describe a hero.  I don’t remember the winner’s name, but I remember the quote; “An outlaw in a white shirt.”  I’ve always loved that.  In a workshop I attended a few years ago one of the presenters said, “Every romance book needs to do three things: make them laugh, make them cry, and make them wait.” Now I think this is a close variation of something Charles Dickens wrote, but I still believe it fits for a romance book today.  And my favorite quote of all time I copied from the movie poster of Kevin Costner’s Robin Hood.  It goes like this: “For the love of one woman and the good of all men, he fought to uphold justice by breaking the law.”  Quotes don’t get any better than that.

I hope you enjoy all the quotes you find in The Rogues’ Dynasty Trilogy. What are some of your favorite quotes?

 

Thanks Amelia for that great post…I, too, love quotes and actually keep a notebook full of them.

Readers, as Amelia asked, what are some of your favorite quotes?

Leave a comment to enter to win a copy of A Duke To Die For.
I’ll announce the winner tomorrow so be sure to return.
Residents of US and
Canada only for this contest.

And to learn more about Amelia and her books, be sure to check out her website:  http://www.ameliagrey.com

22 Responses to Amelia Grey Guest Blogs!

  1. Helen says:

    This books sounds wonderful and I love books in a series and especially historicals all the quotes sound very interesting can’t wait to read it this one I will be on my next order.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Amelia Grey says:

    Hello Everyone! It’s me stopping by to thank Jennifer for hosting me today and to wish all of you a day filled with sunshine and good things that make you smile.
    Helen, come on!?! Don’t you have a favorite quote you want to share? I was hoping to get a few to add to my collection.
    Amelia

  3. Beth R says:

    The book does sound wonderful.

  4. Maureen says:

    I like the sound of this story and I do like to repeat sayings and cliches to my children. Some of my favorite:
    A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.
    A stitch in time saves nine.
    Don’t cut off your nose to spite your face.

  5. JenB says:

    Ooh, I love this idea! (And the book sounds WONDERFUL!)

    Here are two of my absolute favorite quotes:

    “The kiss itself is immortal. It travels from lip to lip, century to century, from age to age. Men and women garner these kisses, offer them to others and then die in turn.” -Guy de Maupassant

    “We cross our bridges when we come to them and burn them behind us, with nothing to show for our progress except a memory of the smell of smoke, and a presumption that once our eyes watered.” -Tom Stoppard (Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead)

  6. Amelia Grey says:

    Great quotes, Maureen. I’ve said all of these at one time or another, and you don’t want to know how many times I’ve cut off my nose to spite my face :-).
    Hey, JenB, I’m still re-reading the last one. It sent a sizzle up my back. 🙂

  7. Quilt Lady says:

    Hello Amelia,nice to see you here! I also love quotes and the blurp of your books sounds fantastic! I would love to read it.

    Never pretend to a love which you do not actually feel, for love is not ours to command.

    To love and be loved is to feel the sun from both sides.

  8. JOYE says:

    Enjoyed reading the comments. The book sounds good and I have added it to my TBR list.
    I think Shakespeare told us a lot about love in the books he wrote. But I like the musings of Emily dickinson who wrote “That love is all there is, Is all we know of love.
    The one quote I have above my computer is
    Liv your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says “Oh shit…she’s awake.”

  9. Jennifer Y says:

    I guess I should share some of my fave quotes. I have notebooks full so this is difficult as I could post all day. Some are fun. Some are sweet. Some are inspiring. Each one struck me in a different way and really stands out to me.

    “Don’t worry about the world coming to an end today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia.” – Charles M. Schulz

    “Far away in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.” – Louisa May Alcott

    “I am careful not to confuse excellence with perfection. Excellence, I can reach for; perfection is God’s business.” – Michael J. Fox

    “I’ve never known any trouble that an hour’s reading didn’t assuage.” – Charles De Secondat

    “A room without books is like a body without a soul.” – Cicero

    “When I am attacked by gloomy thoughts, nothing helps me so much as running to my books. They quickly absorb me and banish the clouds from my mind.” – Michel de Montaigne

    “The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.” – Dolly Parton

    “We cannot direct the wind, but we can adjust the sails.” – Dolly Parton

    “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss

    And probably the most appropriate one for me:

    “Books to the ceiling,
    Books to the sky,
    My pile of books is a mile high.
    How I love them! How I need them!
    I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them.” – Arnold Lobel

  10. Lois says:

    Hi, and can’t wait for the book to come out! 🙂 I have your last couple of Regencies and just loved them. . . quotes though. Hmm. . . well, my favorite is — “Luke, I am your father,” but I don’t think you’re looking for that kind of thing. LOL

    Well, here’s one. . . most of the books I have are romances, but the other half is science, and hero Albert Einstein is always a great one. I love his no nonsense explanation of Relativity. It isn’t word for word, going from memory —

    If you spend an hour with a pretty girl (or handsome guy for us girls) it will feel like a few minutes, if you put your hand on a hot stove for a few seconds it will feel like an hour. That is the theory of Relativity.

    And then of course, Imagination is more important than knowledge.

    I’ll stop there since that’s all I can think of through my sneezes. 😉

    Lois

  11. cheryl c. says:

    This book sounds wonderful. I like the idea of quotes scattered throughout the book, the curse on the guardians,and that it is part of a series.

    One quote I have always liked is by C.S. Lewis, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

    My personal favorite is “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!” 😉 I don’t know who said it originally, but I repeat it often to my family!

  12. cheryl c. says:

    Since I LOVE to read, here is another of my favorite quotes.

    “You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.” ~Paul Sweeney
    (This quote/thought is why I have a keeper shelf and why I frequently reread favorite passages.)

  13. Amelia Grey says:

    Ladies, you have come up with some great quotes and I’m adding several of them to my long and growing list. I had never heard the one that Joye has on her computer. How cute is that! Loved it. And I am wondering just who was the first person to say “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!” Must have been my mom! 🙂

  14. Jane says:

    Hi Amelia,
    Congrats on the upcoming release of “A Duke to Die For.” I enjoyed “A Little Mischief” and “A Hint of Seduction.” One of my favorite quotes is “Keep your friends close, and your enemies closer” by Sun-Tzu.

  15. Lori Ann says:

    Congrats on the release of A Duke To Die For. It sounds fantastic. I love quotes, too. Here are a few that I really like:

    “Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.” – Winston Churchill

    “There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness.” -Friedrich Nietzsche

    “Everything can be taken from a man but one thing; the last of the human freedoms—to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.” – Viktor E. Frankl

    “What is to give light must endure burning.” – Viktor E. Frankl

  16. Pam P says:

    Hi Amelia, congrats on the new releases, all on my wishlist since I’ve enjoyed all the books on your backlist.

    ONe of my favorites is from Dickens – It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,…

  17. Amelia Grey says:

    Ladies, you are doing a great job of giving me quotes to add to my list. I especially like the one from Lori Ann that says, There is always some madness in love. I’m going to try to find a place to use some of these fabulous quotes in the third book of my trilogy. It’s the only one not finished! 🙂 Keep them coming, if you think of more. I’ll check in one more time before the night is over.

  18. Fedora says:

    Congrats on your trilogy, Amelia! I’m a fan of quotes, too, although I have a hard time remembering them when I want to!

    One that has stuck is attributed to Lucille Ball (I think!)– “She who laughs, lasts.”

    And one by Antoine de Saint-Exupery (which I had to look up): “Life has taught us that love does not consist in gazing at each other, but in looking outward together in the same direction.”

    Also, do you already have plans for stories once you finish An Earl to Enchant? 🙂

  19. Jennifer Y says:

    I, too, am enjoying the quotes.

    Here’s another fave of mine…not sure who said it:

    “Life Is Not Measured By The Number Of Breaths We Take, But By The Moments That Take Our Breath Away”

  20. Marie E. says:

    The quote from the Robin Hood movie poster is great! I’ve never heard it before.
    Here’s some of my favorites:

    The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart.

    The sound of a kiss is not so loud as that of a cannon, but its echo lasts a great deal longer.

    What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matter compared to what lies within us.

  21. Caffey says:

    Yeah, you’re back Amelia!!! Its going to be a joy reading this one!!! I’m excited! Congrats Amelia!

    I don’t watch much movies and not good at memorizing things, but I have a favorite quote of Jane Austin’s:

    “I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”
    — Jane Austen (Pride and Prejudice)

  22. Amelia Grey says:

    Everyone,
    This has been an exciting and informative blog session today. Thank you for so many quotes to add to my collection. Wow! you’ve been great. Fedora, glad you asked about what comes after the Earl’s story because my editor asked me the same thing just this week and I had an idea she loved! So stay tuned and if you think of more quotes e-mail me at ameliagrey.com! I can always use another one.
    This isn’t good-bye it’s “Until we meet again”.
    Amelia

Leave a Reply

