A Character Interview…

Today my guest is the character Benjamin (Ben) Powers from Tomorrow by Jeral Davis…

 

 

tomorrowThank you, Benjamin, for joining me today.  I am delighted to have you here.  So, how are you?  What have you been up to lately?

Thank you. Please, call me Ben. The only person who calls me Benjamin is my mother. And it’s not because she’s pleased. I’ll share with you what’s been rolling through my mind lately. It is one thing to espouse that God exists and quite another to embrace Him. I attended church while growing up. Yet, the God spoken of seemed detached, aloof. Why would I want Deity in my life to deepen my insignificance? I believe that’s what fuels my desire to be a part of something much greater than myself. For the past decade I have assisted in building orphanages in impoverished countries, supplying resources to those with HIV or AIDS, shifting the spotlight from me as a popular actor to those who have little to no voice.

 

I heard that your story was recently published. As someone who is constantly in the public eye how does that make you feel?

Paparazzi trail me everywhere. And, I mean everywhere. Yet, the photos they snap don’t truly capture who I am, my fears, or what I cherish.  I’ve been strategic to maintain a certain level of privacy. Yet, within Tomorrow, I’m laid bare. It’s quite unnerving.

 

Well, have you read it?  If so, do you feel that author portrayed your story accurately?

Okay. This is going to sound corny. There was a famous song from the 70’s called “Killing Me Softly” by Roberta Flack. Davis has captured exactly what is sung about in that song. This individual hears their dreams, aspirations, regrets and pain sung in a song by a stranger. Again, unnerving. I’d sing a few bars, but I don’t want you bolting from the room in agony.

 

In interviews you resist in sharing your private thoughts or desires.  As a matter of fact, you appear to loathe it. So, I’ll ask for you to describe yourself in only 3 words.

Hmm. Persistent. Determined. Optimistic.

 

You seem to have had some difficult times lately.  Would you care to share those with my readers?

So much has happened so abruptly in my life. I’m wrestling with the murder of a young mother who was stoned to death in a nearby village where I volunteer in South Africa. Which brings me back to wondering if there truly is a heaven or hell. Things aren’t settled.

 

How have these events affected you?

It’s like a volcano that has spewed lava and scorches everything in its path. That’s funny. I just realized a correlation. Have you ever had someone erupt into your life? That’s the way I would describe how I met Juliana DeLauer. She entered my life with such ferocity that it seemed like a rushing wind that had been asked for far too long to wait. Her views seem archaic – very old school if you get my meaning. She’s very much (makes parenthesis with his fingers) into God and the Bible. Yet, she never backs down.  Despite our opposing belief systems, I am finding her fascinating. (Straightens and clears his throat). I mean, the way she thinks has interested me.

 

Intriguing. Can you tell us a little about Juliana?

She’s a magazine writer who also gives voice to those many have tossed aside. Although she graduated from college a mere two years ago, she can go toe-to-toe with the most seasoned, hard-nosed skeptic. She does it with such eloquence and style you don’t realize your head is swimming from her convictions.

 

How would you describe Juliana using only three words?

Poetic. Elegant. Provoking.

 

Is there anything that people might be surprised to learn about you?

I believe that every life has a purpose. Every adversity has a purpose. Yet, I’ve recently disclosed a secret that could shatter all that truly matters to me.

 

I really appreciate you taking the time to share with me.  Your candor has been insightful. Before you go is there anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?

Yes. If a secret of theirs were exposed, would they truly trust God with the end result? And why?

 

Thanks Ben!

 

Readers you can learn more about the author Jeral Davis and her book, Tomorrow, by visiting her site:  http://www.jeraldavis.com/

 

And feel free to answer the question…

Leave a Reply

