Winners…and some sad news…

First, don’t forget to vote in April’s Book(s)-of-the Month polls…details can be found in yesterday’s posts or in the sidebar.

Now, I have some winners to announce…

First the winner from Beth Kery’s guest day who will receive a download of Flirting in Traffic is:
Natasha A.

And Friday’s winner who will receive a copy of Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy is:
Liza

Winner’s please e-mail me to claim your prize!

***

I don’t want to bum everyone out, but I kind of needed to vent and do this…I have a bit of sad news to share with everyone.  Yesterday one of our family pets passed away unexpectedly.  Mattie was a special cat whom we all loved very much.  She always made me smile even when she unexpectedly jumped on my back to climb on my shoulders (I believe she may have been a parrot in another life as she LOVED riding on shoulders) or jumped up on the middle of the laptop computer to sit until I paid her some attention.  We are not sure what happened to her.  We found her in the driveway early Saturday morning and it looked as if she were perhaps injured by something overnight, but we can’t tell what (perhaps another animal).  Mattie was only a couple of years old and wasn’t really scared of much so I could easily see her curiosity getting the best of her.

Recently, Mattie (along with another of our cats) was “interviewed” on Meankitty.com…you can find that interview here…it might give you a glimpse at how special she truly was to my family.

Here is a picture I took of our Mattie Friday night (the night before she passed) when she jumped on my bed and refused to get off.
I am gonna miss her.

img_0181

 My apologies if I bummed anyone out.
Give your furry friends (if you have any) a hug for me!

19 Responses to Winners…and some sad news…

  1. Natasha A. says:

    OH! I am so sorry! *huge hugs*
    I think I need to go give my babies a little snuggle now 😦

    Thank you by the way, I will email you in a few.

  2. Greta says:

    (((Jennifer)))
    I am so sorry. I so know what it is like to loose a pet family member.

    Take care.

  3. Pat L. says:

    Jennifer, I am so sorry for the loss of Mattie.

    Take care.

  4. Beth Kery says:

    Jennifer,
    I’m so sorry. Here’s to Mattie, and your wonderful memories of her.

  5. Lea says:

    Jennifer:

    So sorry about your Mattie. Our pets are part of the family and their loss is always felt deeply.

    ((hugs))
    Take Care

  6. Lisa W. says:

    Jennifer,

    I’m so sorry to hear about Mattie. Our pets are very important parts of our families.

  7. ThatBrunette says:

    Jennifer, I am so sorry to hear about your kitty. I hope you do something to make yourself happy today. I suggest laying on the bed and dangling your paw off the side. 🙂

  8. Helen says:

    Jennifer
    I am so sorry it is so sad when you loose a special friend Mattie looks very much like one of the cats we had Mitchie they could have been twins.

    Helen

  9. Jennifer Y says:

    Thanks everyone!! I appreciate it.

  10. azteclady says:

    I am so very sorry to hear of this ((((Jennifer)))) Losing a pet, particularly in those circumstances, can be extremely hard.

  11. Cheryl McInnis says:

    Sending you cyber hugs Jennifer! It’s so hard to say good-bye to our furry buddies, especially out of the blue like that. Hope you meet up with Mattie again someday on the other side of the “Rainbow Bridge”

  12. Sending big cyber hugss Jennifer I am truly sorry to hear about your lost. Mattie is a very beautiful cat.

    Congrad’s to the winners.

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  13. Jennifer, I am so sorry to hear about your precious kitty passing. Pets do become a part of our lives and the loss is felt tremendously. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    I do want to also congratulate Liza for winning my book. I do hope you will enjoy it, Liza, and let me know. Thanks for participating. And thanks again to Jennifer for the opportunity.

    Sincerely, Sharon Lathan

  14. Fedora says:

    I’m so sorry, Jennifer–hugs to you and your family on Mattie. I’m glad you had the time and memories of her that you do!

  15. Oh Jennifer, I just read this and I’m so sorry to hear about your cat. I’m a major cat lover and finally this year found a breed my allergic husband can tolerate. Big hugs to you!

  16. Liza says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about Mattie. I don’t currently have a fur baby, but I claim my dad’s big chocolate lab as mine.

    I’ll send you an email now for my book. Thanks so much for drawing my name.

  17. Beth R says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of Mattie.

  18. I am so sorry. Big hugs.

  19. Pam P says:

    Aw, that is sad, Jennifer.

Leave a Reply

