Please welcome…J.K. Coi!

Today my guest is J.K. Coi.
J.K. has a fabulous series called The Immortal Series that I love.

The latest in this series was recently released, and today J.K. is going to tell us a little about it in my Book Version of “Complete the Sentences.”

 

dark-immortal-new-My book is titled:

Dark Immortal

 

-My book is about:

Demons, destruction and apocalypse…the powerful Immortal warriors who fight to keep evil at bay…the strong and determined women these men probably don’t deserve… and of course, love. It’s always about love.

 

-The idea for my book came from:

Well, I knew this couple once. The perfect couple. Everyone always said how obvious it was that they were very much in love. One day, I saw the woman while I was out shopping. When I asked her how she’d been, she didn’t beat around the bush, but told me straight up that she and her husband had split up. Her voice flattened out on the word “divorce”, and I felt my stomach plummet in response.

 

I didn’t want to believe it, but the look on her face was enough to convince me. I pried. I admit it. “What happened?” I asked. “You guys were the perfect couple. You seemed so much in love.” She glanced over my shoulder, but I don’t think she was looking at anything. I could see from the sheen in her eyes that her heart was breaking right there in the parking lot of the shopping mall, and I felt awful for stirring up her pain. I tried to apologize, but she looked back at me then and shook her head. “Sometimes love isn’t enough.”

 

-I think readers will like the hero because:

Alric is such a strong man. And his love for Diana is just as strong. He tries so hard to be the man she needs, but there’s a darkness in him that he struggles with. I think there is something irresistibly seductive about a hero who has a sordid past, who struggles with a baser, darker part of himself. There’s a thrill that comes with being involved with someone who’s not necessarily…safe. At the same time, I think that it’s important that his motivations are understandable. A bad boy who’s nasty and cruel just for the sake of it, isn’t going to get sympathy from anyone. But a man who’s angry and defensive for a reason and who can find it in himself to work through that and still be an honourable and decent man—well that’s someone you want to hang onto.

 

-I think readers will like the heroine because:

Diana is no shrinking violet. She knows about pain and loss and has fought hard to come to a greater appreciation of the delicate, fleeting gifts life has to offer, even while she fights with issues of guilt and believes she’s undeserving of love. Through the course of the book, she’s forced to take a hard look at the man she loves and the world that he lives in, to decide if she can accept the danger and uncertainty that comes along with it. I was impressed that she refused to just go along for the ride, shrug her shoulders and take whatever was dished out. Even afraid and confused, she takes charge of her future.

 

-If I had to describe the hero and heroine’s relationship with one word, that word would be:

Tumultuous

 

-One word that describes the hero is:

Determined

 

-One word that describes the heroine is:

Brave

 

-My favorite character in the book is:

Karnage (Disclaimer: besides the hero and heroine who are smokin’ characters)

 

-I like this character because:

Karnage is a full-blooded demon. Evil. Born and bred. But…wait, demons don’t love. Right? There’s more to him than meets the eye. You know he’s far from good. In fact, you want him to be bad. You’re rooting for just his particular brand of evil.

 

-My favorite scene in the book is:

Diana has suffered a severe trauma and her memory is affected. She doesn’t remember Alric, and definitely doesn’t believe that they’re actually married. At one point, she is sitting calmly on the kitchen counter letting Alric bandage her injuries (actually, Alric had to lift her up by her armpits and plop her on the counter, and he would say that she doesn’t so much let him bandage her up, but has no choice in the matter if she knows what’s good for her). As Alric opens up, it’s really the first time that Diana realizes how gentle he is with her, how tender. He talks about her family as if they were his own, he talks of their life together and she begins to see what it might have been like.

 

-The thing I enjoyed most about writing this book was:

How invested I was in the story, how much I wanted to know what happened as if I were the reader instead of the writer. And how natural the voices of the characters were to me. Maybe it’s because I’ve already had a few books to really get into their heads, but while writing the book was sometimes hard for me for various reasons, it wasn’t ever because the characters had stopped talking to me.

 

-What surprised me most while writing this book is:

The very existence of this book took me by surprise. When I began to plan out the series, I had a clear picture of the men in each book and the roles they were going to play. Alric was one of those necessary supporting characters who would help me flesh out the “real” heroes. But just as I was finishing up book 2, the entire series’ plot arc took a sharp twist—all because Alric stepped forward, no longer content to stay in his “supporting role”. Alric. In the first two books, he seems so strong and centered. His relationship with Diana is a perfect model of happily ever after. But in writing him as a secondary character, his past was slowly revealed to me; the horrible torture, the endless darkness, and the overwhelming rage. I needed to know how he had escaped the certainty of madness—and of course, the answer was Diana. She was his saviour, his light.

 

Then I was too intrigued by what he told me to set him in the background again. The questions and possibilities wouldn’t leave me alone. What would happen if that light were taken away, if darkness were to envelop him once more? What would happen if he were faced with his worst nightmare in the very image of the one person who kept him sane?

 

The story just had to be written.

 

-Readers can find my books:

Book 3 of the Immortal Series, Dark Immortal, is available in ebook at Linden Bay Romance and My Bookstore and More(Click on the names to purchase).

 

J.K. Coi writes dark and edgy paranormal romance, where love is all consuming, the stakes are always high, and the immortals are to die for…

 

Visit her at her website for more information about upcoming books, chats, interviews, reviews, and all things Immortal: http://www.jkcoi.com.

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/jkcoi

Blog: http://www.jkcoi.blogspot.com

Newsletter: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jkcoi/join.

 

***

 

J.K., I can’t wait to read this latest book!

 

Some of the things that I like about this series are the strong characters that J.K. brings to life.
Readers, do you like strong characters?

What about series?  Do you like those?

 

Do you have any questions or comments for J.K.?

11 Responses to Please welcome…J.K. Coi!

  1. Lea says:

    Hi J.K. and Jennifer:

    Your book “Dark Immortal”, sounds wonderful, like my kind of read. I love dark paranormal romance and am always looking for an author’s work that I haven’t read previously.

    The impetus for Diana and Alric’s story is so sad, with respect to your friend and her marriage break up. I can see how it would inspire you to write a story about a couple in a tumultuous relationship.

    I like the female heroines in the books I read to be strong and will appreciate that in Diana.

    Is there verbal sparring between this couple in the dialogue? Do either of them have that dark wit that, I think is so great in a relationship such as Diana and Alric’s?

    I do enjoy series work, especially when a strong character is introduced in a previous novel and the writer expands that character in subsequent work.

    I’ll definitely look up your book at My Bookstore & More.

    Best Regards

  2. Blanche says:

    Hi J.K.!!!

    This sounds like a very interesting book!! I’m just getting into paranormal/demons and things, I’ve read just 2 other authors’ work and love it so I’m looking forward to finding your books and reading them!! 🙂

  3. Greta says:

    Hey J.K. your books sounds awesome. I have the first two of your books on my TBB list once I get paid next month.

    I love any books that are paranormal. Especially demosn. I look forward to purchsing & reading them.

  4. highlandlove says:

    Ohh wow sounds like a great book. I’m sorry for the pain the woman felt when you ran into her, though.

    I’ll have to look for these. Are they available as print books? Or did I miss that?

    Do you keep a chart or anything of your characters when writing?

    hugs,
    WendyK

  5. vtibbs says:

    These are on my TBR pile – just need more time! I’ve heard such good things about this series, I may bump them up in the pile!

    Thanks!

    Valerie

  6. JK Coi says:

    Hi everybody! Thanks for the kind words Blanche, Greta, Wendy and Valerie! Sorry I’m so late today, it’s been a scary long day.

    Valerie–The first two books in the series (My Immortal and Immortal Kiss) are also available in print.

    And no, I don’t really keep much of a chart, although I probably should and as the series grows and the cast starts to expand, I think it will come to the point where I will have to.

    Hi Jen!!

    J.K. Coi
    Immortals to Die For
    http://www.jkcoi.com

  7. JK Coi says:

    Hi everybody! Thanks for the kind words Lea, Blanche, Greta, Wendy and Valerie! Sorry I’m so late today, it’s been a scary long day.

    Lea–if you like a dark hero and a strong heroine, then you’ll love this book (she says so modestly) 🙂

    Valerie–The first two books in the series (My Immortal and Immortal Kiss) are also available in print.

    And no, I don’t really keep much of a chart, although I probably should and as the series grows and the cast starts to expand, I think it will come to the point where I will have to.

    Hi Jen!!

    J.K. Coi
    Immortals to Die For
    http://www.jkcoi.com

  8. J.K. Coi says:

    Hi everybody! Thanks for the kind words Lea, Blanche, Greta, Wendy and Valerie! Sorry I’m so late today, it’s been a scary long day.

    Lea–if you like a dark hero and a strong heroine, then you’ll love this book (she says so modestly) 🙂

    Valerie–The first two books in the series (My Immortal and Immortal Kiss) are also available in print.

    And no, I don’t really keep much of a chart, although I probably should and as the series grows and the cast starts to expand, I think it will come to the point where I will have to.

    Hi Jen!!

    J.K. Coi
    http://www.jkcoi.com

  9. J.K. Coi says:

    Hi everybody! Thanks for the kind words Lea, Blanche, Greta, Wendy and Valerie! Sorry I’m so late today, it’s been a scary long day.

    Lea–if you like a dark hero and a strong heroine, then you’ll love this book (she says so modestly) 🙂

    Valerie–The first two books in the series (My Immortal and Immortal Kiss) are also available in print.

    And no, I don’t really keep much of a chart, although I probably should and as the series grows and the cast starts to expand, I think it will come to the point where I will have to.

    Hi Jen!! Thanks again for letting me visit with you and your readers!

    J.K. Coi
    Immortals to Die For
    http://www.jkcoi.com

  10. Helen says:

    These books do sound really good

    Have Fun
    Helen

  11. J.K. Coi says:

    Damn, looks like those posts did get posted after all. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

