Welcome Back Linda Wisdom…

lwisdomToday’s guest is the fabulous Linda Wisdom.  The last time Linda was here we had a blog party and I had so much fun that I invited her back to talk about her latest release, Wicked by Any Other Name.

It is no secret that I adore her fun and quirky paranormal series and today she is here to blog a bit about the series and the latest book…

 

 

What Makes A Book Series

 

Building a series is actually a lot of work. It’s not all about writing connected books, it’s also making sure continuity is there, that continuing characters are the same personality wise in each book. That the writer doesn’t suddenly making changes without giving a good reason, so the reader isn’t confused. And a writer knows a series has to be nurtured and grow with each book, because it’s common knowledge it can take about five books before a series truly takes off. With each book released, more readers try the most recent book then go in search of the earlier books. I know I’m one of those readers who immediately buy the previous books.

 

I knew my Hex series would need to be built in such a way the characters would be introduced before their book came out. Such as Stasi and Blair showing up in 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover and Hex Appeal. The best part was that readers asked if they’d get their own books, so I knew even those glimpses of them was enough to tempt the readers to come back.

 

I like to call it layering. Each book gave a little more, a bigger glimpse into the future, so to speak. Writing more about all the characters and peeks into their pasts.

 

Wicked.inddSo by the time Wicked By Any Other Name came out, readers knew Stasi was sweet natured and had a dog named Bogie who floated rather than walked. And that she had a lingerie boutique that also featured romance novels. What they didn’t know was that she also had a gargoyle that was about as un PC as you could get and she had a spine of pure iron when need be. That inner strength came out when she was hit with a double whammy of a pending lawsuit in Wizards Court and a sexy wizard attorney affecting her in some pretty wild ways such as seeing red hearts over his head and he seeing them over hers. A witch who promotes romance also trespasses into Cupid’s province and the god of Eros is very territorial. And since witches are further down the social chain, there should be way for a wizard to be attracted to her. But when Cupid gets involved anything can happen.

 

A brief glimpse of Stasi and Blair’s town, Moonstone Lake, let the readers know where the witches lived, so they’re briefly acquainted with it before seeing the town and people as a whole. And what they’ll see is a town with a lake contaminated by olde magick, townspeople looking at Stasi as if she suddenly turned into the Wicked Witch of the West and accusations fly fast and furious. A part of Stasi’s past comes into play since she had lived in Olde Salem during the Witch Trials and the terror from that time hasn’t left her. Another layer to Stasi and in the book you see more of Blair, about her shop and her personality. But more about her this fall.

 

There’s still the mingling of characters with Jazz, Nick and Irma there and naturally, Fluff and Puff, because there’s no way they’d want to be away from any place that might have trouble brewing.

 

Wicked By Any Other Name actually evolved from an episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer titled Hush. In Hush, the characters lost their voices and evil creatures came at night to feed on their fear as they took their hearts. In Wicked By Any Other Name fear is there in a magickal sense as the town is cut off from the outside world due to heavy snowstorms and a power outage. And just like Buffy’s Scooby gang, Stasi has Trev, the wizard attorney, Blair, Jazz and Nick along with some former residents of Moonstone Lake that now resides on another plain.

 

I wanted that balance of engaging Stasi mixed with the dark and hopefully I accomplished my goal.

 

And the layering of characters and events will continue with my October release, Hex in High Heels.

 

I hope you enjoy Wicked By Any Other Name and if you haven’t read 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover and Hex Appeal, that you’ll go out and find them and consider Hex in High Heels when it’s released.

 

Because a series can only flourish as long as the readers want the books.

 

Linda

 

Thanks Linda!  I can’t wait for Hex in High Heels so this is one reader that definitely wants the books 🙂 !

 

Readers, today you have a chance to check out Linda’s latest.  One lucky commenter will receive a copy of Wicked by Any Other Name!

To enter, just leave a comment or question below.

However, this giveaway is open to residents of US and Canada only.

 

I’ll randomly select a winner and announce it on Wednesday, Feb. 25 so be sure to check back!

 

And this weekend I’ll be posting my review of Wicked by Any Other Name!

 

So any questions or comments…
Have any of you read this series?

23 Responses to Welcome Back Linda Wisdom…

  1. highlandlove says:

    Wow what a great post! Sounds like a great book too. I find I love series books. Something about seeing a romance I fell in love with continue even if they face harder times in the future they stick it out together. That I love to see.

    hugs,
    WendyK
    http://www.mybookaddictionandmore.wordpress.com

  2. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks WendyK,

    Although this series is about 13 witches so you get to peek into each of their lives. Jazz has two books, 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover and Hex Appeal, and there’s a third book brewing for her.

    Linda

  3. Cheryl Brooks says:

    Hi Linda!
    This one’s next in line on my TBR pile, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy it as much as I did the first two.
    I agree it’s nice for readers to ask for stories about other characters, because it gives you some hope that the series will flourish!
    Good luck!

  4. Crystal B. says:

    Great post. Wicked By Any Other Name sounds good. 🙂

  5. Lisa W. says:

    These books sound really good. I just added them to my tbr pile. Thanks for the great interview. I love series as you get to know all the characters.

  6. amandasue says:

    Sounds like a lovely book and I like the cover!

  7. bluecat says:

    The book and series sound great. Now I have something else to look for at B & N. YEAH!

  8. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks Cheryl!

    It’s happened with series I’ve written in category and I had so much fun showing what’s happened with original characters and all the new fun stuff that can show up.

    But the witches really know how to put the fun into fun.

    Linda

  9. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks Amandasue and Bluecat.

    It’s been a blast to write and keeping up with the witches has really been a fun challege.

    Linda

  10. Teresa W says:

    Looking forward to this one, I enjoyed Hex Appeal!

  11. Quilt Lady says:

    Wow this one sounds like a great read! I love to read witch books so I would love this series. You would be a new author to me and I enjoy that too.

  12. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks Quilt Lady.

    While I’ve written paranormal for category romance, I’m having fun going even further in depth.

    Linda

  13. MarthaE says:

    Your books sound like they would be alot of fun to read. I like series and lately have found I like stories about fun witches! 50 Ways is the first in the series right?

  14. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks MarthaE,

    50 Ways is the first book and features Jazz who’s also featured in Hex Appeal. All the books can stand on their own, but you learn about all the witches if you read the series.

    Linda

  15. Pamk says:

    Love this series. Will we be seeing any more apparel that lives. I love Fluff and Puff and dogone it but the boots names escape me. Love that they change color to go with your outfit.

  16. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks Pamk,

    You’re thinking of Croc and Delilah, the crocodile stilettos. There will be more surprises with each book, but you’ll find to find out what they are and it’s not always apparel. We’ll have some interesting creatures too.

    Linda

  17. Brandy W says:

    Freakin’ hell man. Another new to me author which means more books to buy. I love the premise of this and WHY have I never known about it before?! Okay so I’m hoping you have a website and a listing of the books in the order to be read, I know they can stand alone but I really don’t want them to be lonely.

    Thank you, thank you Jennifer for someone new to read. I feel a book buying binge coming on. I’m tingly all over. 😉

  18. Linda Wisdom says:

    LOL Brandy W!

    My website isn’t up but my MySpace blog has a listing of all my books including this series. Wicked is the third book and Hex in High Heels comes out in October. 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover is first and Hex Appeal is the second book.

    And I totally understand the need to make sure the books aren’t lonely. There’s many a time I’ve had to search out all the books in a series for that very reason.

    Linda

  19. Jane says:

    Congrats on the new release, Linda. Looking forward to reading your Hex series.

  20. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks Jane and I hope you enjoy it.

    Linda

  21. Fedora says:

    Hi, Linda! I just started 50 Ways, and it’s terrific! Congrats on your latest! You mentioned that it takes at least 5 books for a series to take off–did you mention how many you envision for this series? 🙂

  22. Linda Wisdom says:

    Thanks Fedora!

    With luck, this series will be 16 books. I was just contracted for two more so I’m up to 6 contracted. And as long as you wonderful readers pick up my book and buy it I can continue writing the series.

    But as we know it takes readers to keep them going.

    Linda

Leave a Reply

