January’s Top Reads

As I mentioned at the beginning of the year each month I will be posting a list of my top 5 reads for the previous month (if it is too difficult to choose just 5 I may include more) along with some brief thoughts on why I chose them.  The books may be old or new releases, but they will come from the list of books I read that month.  At the end of the year I will compile a list of my top reads for the year taking books from each month’s “Top Reads” posts.

 

I am a bit late posting January’s list because of other scheduled events, but here it is.  Now this list is in no particular order and it was very difficult to choose just 5 as I read some great books (the entire list can be found in the sidebar later this week), but here it is… 

 

(You can find out more about each book by clicking on their covers.)

 

justthesexiestmanaliveFirst we have Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James…I blogged about this one earlier in the week so I won’t go into too many more details, but I will say again that this was a great read that I really enjoyed.  Lots of fun and, as I mentioned, it reminded me of some of my fave romantic comedy films and it is interesting to learn that the author originally wrote it as a screenplay (something the author shared in the comments of my discussion post).

 

onceuponchristmasNext is Once Upon a Christmas by Lisa Plumley.  This one had been in my TBR for a while, but I finally got around to reading it and really enjoyed it. It was a fun romantic comedy anthology with three cute and fun stories.  As I mentioned with the book above, this is another one that reminded me of some of my fave rom/com films and I could easily see each story as a movie…in fact I found myself picturing my ideal cast as I read.  I had read her historicals, but this was my first contemporary by Plumley, but it won’t be my last if this is what I can expect.

 

onefootforwardThe ebook, One Foot Forward by Rose Middleton is next on my list.  This was my first book by this author and I loved it.  The heroine of the story was severely injured in an auto accident and the hero is the firefighter that stayed with her as the firefighters worked to free her from her mangled vehicle.  I really enjoyed the relationship between the leads in this book.  The heroine is a strong individual and she really grows and gains confidence as the story progresses.  Both characters have to learn to deal with their fears.  It was a touching story I enjoyed a great deal…and yes, I have a thing for stories with firefighters.

 

beautyforashesBeauty for Ashes by Dorothy Clark is my next Top Read.  I loved this wonderful inspirational historical.  This story of a marriage of convenience really touched me and I enjoyed the chemistry and bond that the two main characters share as they learn to trust one another.  Both have had painful experiences in the past and they help each other to heal.  They face a few ups-and-downs on their journey to their happy ending, but those events help make their relationship stronger.  There are more books featuring secondary characters that I hope to read in the next few weeks.

 

slave-to-sensationLast but not least we have Nalini Singh’s Slave to Sensation.  I originally chose to read this one as part of my Random Reading Challenge and I am so glad that I did.  It had been in my TBR for a while and I am not sure why I didn’t read it before now.  This paranormal/futuristic romance was so good.  I loved the premise, the characters, everything.  The characters and the story are fascinating and I became lost in the story.  It’s a strong start to a series that I can’t wait to read more of…I have already moved the next books up in the TBR stacks.

 

So that’s my list for January…it was an interesting mix of genres, formats, and release dates.  I read some really good books last month and this month is shaping up to be no different…choosing February’s list is going to be difficult.

 

What have been some of your favorite reads so far this year?

5 Responses to January’s Top Reads

  1. Helen says:

    Jennifer sounds like a great list
    I loved Slave To Sensation when I read it last year and have read the whole series now can’t wait for the next one.
    I read 10 books in January and really loved them all Anna Campbell’s To Tempt The Devil was fantastic Jacquie D’Alessandra’s Seducued At Midnight loved it Kendra Leigh Castle Call Of The Highland Moon this was really good I have the next one in the series on the TBR pile and am looking forward to it
    I also read 2 of Annies West’s harliquinn sexy books both of them I loved The Billionaire’s Bought Mistress and A Mistress For The Taking
    I also read Contact by Susan Grant which is a sci fi and I did enjoy that one as well
    Margo Maguire’s book Wild was a relly good read
    February has started slow for me in reading I have been so busy but I am on holidays from work now because I am going to The Australian Romance Readers Convention in Melbourne next week and I am so excited but I don’t think I am going to have time to read as many books this month.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Liza says:

    I’ve had Slave to Sensation in my tbr pile for a while. Will try and move it up in the pile so I read it soon. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this series.

  3. ThatBrunette says:

    You always post such glowing reviews. Are you lucky or are you diplomatic? 🙂 Is there a genre you don’t like or won’t read? (try to read in a questioning voice not a snarky one)

    I just attempted to read a book I won in a contest. I love reading the author’s blogs and enjoy her chats. Her book…not so much. What do you do when you get a clunker? Keep reading or move on?

  4. Jennifer Y says:

    LOL TB, no, I don’t like everything I read, but I will say that I am getting better at weeding out books and finding ones that I do like most of the time…and if I don’t like it, I typically won’t blog about it unless I have to.

    I usually choose only to blog about those I do enjoy…or if it is a book that I have to discuss, but didn’t care for (such as a review request or a book-of-the-month) I try to find something positive to say while pointing out the parts I didn’t care for (guess I am a bit of a diplomat). It’s easier for me to blog about something I like than to blog about one I didn’t because I never quite know what to say (plus I don’t have a snarky bone in my body…LOL…you won’t see a “Worst Reads” here, but believe me I have come across a lot that would make that list over the years…LOL).

    As for genres that I don’t care for…hmm…I guess that would be straight horror…I just don’t care for it (other than the old Christopher Pike and RL Stine books I adored as a kid). Most of my reading (and therefore my blogging) is romance and covers a wide range of genres and heat levels. I like variety as you can tell from the list above.

    When I do get a clunker, I try to keep reading, but sometimes I just can’t. I used to be a compulsive finisher, meaning I read a book all the way through regardless of whether I enjoyed it or not, however, lately I have found that I can’t do that and have stopped reading and moved on several times. I only include books I finish on my “Books Read” lists though.

    Hope I answered your questions…I don’t mean to sound like “Pollyanna” where everything is sunshine and roses when it comes to the books I read…LOL…because it definitely isn’t. But that’s just what I prefer to include on this blog.

  5. I love Nalini’s series. Of course I’m a bit biased because she’s a friend and a New Zealander. I think my favorite in the series is Caressed by Ice but they’re all great!

    I’ve just read Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon. It’s a great book and I really felt for Ash. He had such a horrid life, but he had a happy ending, which was great. The only problem with this book was it’s so big and a hardcover. I find hardcovers awkward to read, especially in bed.

Leave a Reply

