Random Reading Challenge!

Today is the Random Reading Challenge Discussion Day!

For info on the Random Reading Challenge see the sidebar.

You may have noticed that I created a graphic for the challenge that those participating may use on their blogs/websites.  It is rather boring and plain, but I am techno-challenged so if anyone can create a better one, feel free to do so and e-mail me.

 

Be sure to keep reading this post so you can learn the mini-challenges for February!

 

As a reminder here were the mini-challenges for January:

 

1.  Read a book from AAR’s Top 100 Romances list (the list can be found HERE).

2.  Read a western historical.

3.  Read a book by an author with initials in his or her name.

4.  Read a book with a single parent character.

5.  Read a book with a monochrome cover (i.e predominately one color…for an example see my choice below)

 


Here are the books I chose for each challenge and my thoughts:

 

slave-to-sensation1.  Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh.

This book is number 100 on AAR’s Top 100 Romances list.  I had already read many of the books on the list and had several in my TBR stacks, but when I saw this one on the list it kind of jumped out at me and I decided to go for it.  Until now it had been sitting in my stacks just waiting for me to pick it up.

 

How did I miss this series?  This book was great and one that I would definitely recommend.  I loved everything about it from the concept to the characters.  I can see why it made the Top 100 list.

 

promises-reveal2.  Promises Reveal by Sarah McCarty

I am a big fan of Ms. McCarty’s books (especially the Promise series) and had been putting off reading this one for some reason so I decided to go with it.

 

As I mentioned, I loved the previous books in this series and really enjoyed this one.  It was about one of my fave characters, the Reverend, and I really liked how his story played out.  While not my favorite in the series, this onerileys-journey definitely held its own.

 

3.  Riley’s Journey by P.L. Parker (an eBook)

This was an eBook that I won a few days before the challenge began so when this particular challenge (“author with initials”) came up, it was fresh in my mind and I chose it to read.

I loved the concept of this book…a woman travels back in time 40000 years…yes, 40000 years.  I really liked the story and the characters of this one and am glad I chose it.

 

and-baby-makes-four4.  And Baby Makes Four by Mary J. Forbes

This book was sitting right next to me when I did the drawing for the mini-challenges and so when I read it had a widowed single father, I thought it fated to be read…LOL…or convenient…it definitely kept me from searching through my Harlequin/Silhouette TBR stacks (although I did notice that I read quite a few single parent stories this month anyway).

 

This was an okay read…it was a cute story, but it had a couple of coincidences that I found a bit hard to buy.  But other than that, I liked the characters and enjoyed their relationship.


the-hot-line5. 
The Hot Line by Cathryn Fox

I bought this book as soon as it came out, but for some reason I hadn’t gotten around to it yet.  This is one time I chose a book to read based on the cover (although I bought it for other reasons…mainly my thing for books with firefighters).

 

This one was a hot one and one that I enjoyed a great deal.  With fascinating characters and an interesting plot, this was a good read.  If you like hot reads, I’d recommend it.

 

So if you did the challenge for January, what books did you read for the challenge?  Why’d you pick those?

Either share your picks and thoughts in the comments or post them on your own blog (be sure to give me a link).

 

***

 

And now for February’s Mini-Challenges….these will be available in the sidebar all month long.

 

1.  Read a book with an animal on the cover.

2.  Read a book by an author you read in last month’s challenge (if you did the challenge, pick one of the authors you read for the challenge and read a different book by them or if you didn’t do the challenge, pick an author you read last month and read another book by that author or read a book by an author I read last month…the full list for January will be added next week here.).

3. Read a friends-to-lovers story. (ETA:  For those looking for suggestions try here or e-mail…this is my fave theme so I could probably recommend some)

4. Read a book with a color in the title.

5. Read a book with a title that begins with the first letter of your last name.  (For example, the book I choose would begin with a “Y.”  If you have a tough letter, you can use any letter from your last name.)

 

There’s some tough ones for February…if you need any recommendations let me know!
Happy
Reading and Good Luck!

10 Responses to Random Reading Challenge!

  1. mslizalou says:

    I did pretty well on my reading challenges for this month(I have the same ones for each month).

    1. I read 3 new-to-me authors(my goal was 1 per month).
    Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas(loved it)
    So Yesterday by Scott Westerfeld(YA book, very funny)
    Regina’s Closet:finding my grandmother’s secret journal by Diana Raab(very powerful book)

    2. I wanted to read at least 2 books from my 2008 tbr pile. I managed to read Gideon by Jacquelyn Frank(wonderful Demon series) and I started Just the Sexest Man Alive. So I really didn’t meet this goal.

    3. Read more ebooks since I bought the Sony ereader. I read 2 ebooks this month. I loved Blazing Bedtime Stories and Something Wicked(both blazes and very fast and hot reads).

    4. I also have started a spreadsheet to keep up witht he books I’ve read and been much better about getting my reviews up on my blog faster. I also read 3 other books this month:Scandal in Spring by Lisa Kleypas(loved it), Deja Demon by Julie Kenner(loved it) and Veil of Midnight by Lara Adrian(loved it and can’t wait for the next in the series).

    My reviews are on my blog: http://lizasblog-liza.blogspot.com/

    I also decided to pick at least one book a month that was outside my comfort zone. I haven’t read any historical romances for years, so starting them back up was a challenge for me.

  2. My reading challenges are stalled at the moment while I read some books I’m judging for a contest. I hope to be back in business soon. January hasn’t been a good pleasure reading month for me.

    Happy reading!

  3. Laura J. says:

    Hi Jennifer! The Hot Line was awesome! And in case you don’t know Christian (you remember him right?) has his own story out (I think at Samhain). And if you haven’t gotten Sun Stroked yet by Cathryn Fox I highly recommend it too.

  4. P. L. Parker says:

    Hey, thanks for the good words.

    P. L. Parker

  5. Helen says:

    I read 10 books in January
    2 new to me authors
    1 paranormal
    1 sci-fi
    3 harliquinn sexy
    5 historicals

    I didn’t do the challenge right but I am keeping track of what I read now.

    I loved everyone of them and Jennifer totally agree with you about Nalini Singh’s books they are fantastic I have read all of that series so far.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  6. Blanche says:

    How neat Jennifer……..I didn’t participate in your January Challenge but I’m planning to participate in February!!

  7. Kara says:

    I didn’t get a chance to participate in your January challenge – didn’t know about it – but through
    Blanche at “There’s No Such Thing As Too Many Books – I heard about the February Challenge. I’m would love to particpate in this one…

  8. Jennifer Y says:

    I am glad to see so many of you reading this month regardless of whether you are doing my challenge or not.

    Best of luck to all of you!

    Blanche and Kara, you are more than welcome to join in…I want everyone to have some fun while choosing what to read.

  9. AmyC says:

    I just discovered this challenge from Blanche. I think I’m going to try to participate. I just wrote down the five categories. Now I’m gonna go see what I have that fits. I’m not sure about the friends to lovers one though.

  10. Jennifer Y says:

    For those looking for Friends-to-lovers stories, try this link…it has quite a few listed:

    http://www.likesbooks.com/friendly.html

Leave a Reply

