First Lines…

I haven’t done this in a while so I thought I’d do it today…

I love first lines (as I have mentioned before here on the blog) because they can really help set the tone for the story (or not)…so…

What is the first line of the book you are currently reading?
Be sure to include the title and the author in order to give credit to the creator.

Here is the first line of my current read:
“He was standing on the wrong end of the shotgun.”
Promises Reveal by Sarah McCarty

And I have included the first line from our Book-of-the-Month….just because:
“Taylor Donovan may have been new to Los Angeles, but she certainly recognized a line of bullsh*t when she heard one.”
Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James

9 Responses to First Lines…

  1. Helen says:

    Do you believe in ghosts? Mrs Marguerite Greeley was found murdered and robbed last night in her Berkley Square town house.

    Seduced At Midnight Jacquie D’Alessandro

    I am loving this book

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Liza says:

    Rick punched Josie Vargas’s number into his cell phone.

    Something Wicked by Julie Leto

    I love all of Julie’s books and although, I’m not very far into Something Wicked, I can tell it’s another winner.

  3. Brandy W says:

    Osbourne Decker had no sooner pulled his truck into the frozen,snow-covered parking lot to start his night then his pager went off.
    Do You Hear What I Hear by Lori Foster

    Yes, I’m reading a Christmas story. I just finally got it.

  4. TerryS says:

    The worst part about murdering someone was planning exactly how to do it.

    Divorced, Desperate and Dating by Christie Craig

  5. Jane says:

    On Monday, Roxanne Lynne Treymayne Parker bleached her hair blonde, had her navel pierced, and got a tattoo on her right ass cheek.

    Talk of the Town by Karen Hawkins

  6. Lori T says:

    “Sir?” she repeats. “How soon do you want it to get there?”

    Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

    This is a young adult book and I am finding it very interesting and a bit sad.

  7. Getting a phone call can be a good thing. It could be someone calling to inform you of an inheritance, or that cute blonde you met last night begging for another round of “find the kielbasa.”
    Guns Will Keep Us Together By: Leslie Langtry

    Hugssss
    LindaH

  8. AE Rought says:

    How about a first line from a book I’m currently writing? This is the first line from my werewolf novel:
    Being called a bitch was the least of my concerns.

    *sigh* Gotta love a kickass heroine.

  9. Cheryl McInnis says:

    “Whenever you have a sorcerer betwixt your thighs, your powers tend to disappear,”
    KISS OF A DEMON KING by Kresley Cole

Leave a Reply

