Random Reading Challenge for 2009

The sidebar has been updated with all the pertinent information for the Random Reading Challenge for 2009 if you’d like to learn more about it and join the fun.

 

I loved the suggestions that some of you gave for the Random Reading Challenge for 2009.  I added some to the box and today I am announcing January’s challenges.

 

I randomly selected 5 challenges from the “challenge box” and they are:

 

1.  Read a book from AAR’s Top 100 Romances list (the list can be found HERE).

2.  Read a western historical.

3.  Read a book by an author with initials in his or her name.

4.  Read a book with a single parent character.

the-hot-line5.  Read a book with a monochrome cover (i.e the cover is predominately one color…for an example here is the book I chose)

 

I warned you that these mini-challenges would be random 😆

 

I have picked my books and I’ll be reading those (and more) all month.  At the end of the month I’ll blog about my choices and my experiences with the challenge.

 

As I said anyone is welcome to join along with me as I do this challenge either by commenting here at the end of the month or by blogging about the challenge on your own blog at any time.  If you choose to do that be sure to give me the link either through e-mail or in the comments below so I can share it with others and check it out.

 

You don’t have to read 5 books, you can pick any or all categories and choose some books to read.  And the books aren’t limited to the romance genre.  Any book will do as long as it fits the mini-challenge.

 

And I know some of the genres mentioned in the challenges might be outside your comfort zone, but I encourage you to try them. But it’s really all up to you how you do the challenge.  And if you need some suggestions for books, let me know and I’ll be sure to pass some along.

 

So, if anyone is joining in with me share the books you chose in the comments or feel free to choose the books as the month goes on…you are welcome to change the books as time goes on as well.  I’ll be posting my discussion for January on Jan. 30!

 

Happy Reading!

5 Responses to Random Reading Challenge for 2009

  1. Brandy W says:

    A challenge….will definitely check this out.

  2. Lu says:

    Hi Jenn,

    The Random Challenge is a great idea, and may help me whittle down my TBR pile. Do you have a recommendation for a Western Historical? Something on the steamy side?

    Hugs,
    Lu

  3. Helen says:

    I have a few books that match with the challenge on the TBR pile so I am going to do my best and read some of them this is going to be fun.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Fedora says:

    Hmm… Sounds fun, Jennifer! I’ll have to check the ol’ TBR and see what might fit 🙂

    Lu, if you haven’t read Stacey Kayne or Beth Ciotta, you might want to check them out. For steamier, I think Kate Pearce and Diane Whiteside both have steamy westerns.

  5. Jennifer Y says:

    Lu: Fedora gave some great choices and I’d like to add Sarah McCarty. She is one of my favorites and her books are definitely on the steamy side.

Leave a Reply

