Final Day (Day 12) of the 12 Days of Giveaways!

Please check here for the rules and details about the 12 Days of Giveaways!

 

 

Today’s our last day of the 12 Days of Giveaways!

 

I’ll be posting all of the winners tomorrow, Dec. 27 so be sure to check back to see if you won!

 

what_a_scoundrel_wantsToday’s prize is:

-A copy of What a Scoundrel Wants by Carrie Lofty

-Snowman sticky notes

 

A couple of weeks ago I won a copy of this wonderful book on author Ann Aguirre’s blog and I enjoyed it so much that I decided to give away a copy here on the blog.

 

(Check back later today for my review…I am out of town and trying to get it posted)

 

Here’s my review…my apologies if I ramble.

 

I had been looking forward to What a Scoundrel Wants for a long time and I have to say that I definitely wasn’t disappointed.  As a fan of the Robin Hood legends and movies, I loved the fact that this story’s hero was Will Scarlet, Robin Hood’s nephew.  I really enjoyed  Ms. Lofty’s take on Will’s story as we learned more about this mysterious secondary character of the Robin Hood legend.

 

With its fascinating plot and intriguing characters, What a Scoundrel Wants has it all and provides readers with a unique story rich with history, emotion, and passion. 

 

From the very first page this story captures the attention as we meet Will and the heroine of the tale, Meg, a blind young woman journeying to reach her sister in the midst of a battle.  Having been framed for murder, Will doesn’t need the complications that getting involved with Meg would provide, but he can’t seem to stay away from the intriguing beauty. 

 

The core of this story is definitely the relationship between Will and Meg.  We learn more about Meg as Will does and like Will, I wasn’t sure what to think of her at first as she is a complex individual that I initially found hard to like.  But as the story progresses you get to see the many sides of Meg and what she keeps inside.  You can really feel the pain and vulnerability that she does her best to hide behind her tough façade.  And this might sound a bit odd, but I especially enjoyed the fact that she was blind as it is not something I am used to reading about in historical romances.  Her blindness enhanced the character and the story as she faced many obstacles that people might take for granted.  It also added to the sensuality of the love scenes and encounters between Meg and Will as she explored his face and body.  Meg is a character that shows perseverance and I loved the fact that she was a heroine with imperfections and strength.

 

Will, the hero of the tale and my favorite character, has his own pain and vulnerable side.  Having spent his life in the shadow of his famous uncle, he longs to stand on his own and be known for his own accomplishments.  A longing so strong that it has affected his relationships with and loyalty to his family and friends.  And be honest, who hasn’t felt this way before…a longing to be your own person?  I believe this added realism to this character and helped to make him relatable despite the fact that the story takes place hundreds of years ago as this is a universal feeling that is timeless.

 

While Will and Meg definitely share a complicated relationship filled with ups and downs, together they find what they need most…love and acceptance.  They both help to make each other stronger and in the process discover more about themselves as they both doubt their self-worth.  Their relationship fascinated me and I enjoyed seeing what would happen next.  Both were strong individuals and I enjoyed the passion and the banter between the two as they butted heads time and time again.  The emotion of their relationship really touched me. 

 

In addition to the romance of the story, there is also an intriguing plot involving alchemy, greed, murder, and corruption.  I enjoyed learning a bit about alchemy as it added something different to a historical romance.  In fact, I found all of the historical aspects of the story, from the setting to the characters to the history, refreshing and interesting as they aren’t something you see every day in a historical romance.

 

Overall, What a Scoundrel Wants is a well-written tale full of emotion, romance, and adventure that I would definitely recommend to those looking for a unique historical romance.

 

Another thing I must add is that this book is part of the Zebra Debut line from Kensington. I love the Zebra Debut books as they are reasonably-priced making it easier and more affordable to try (and become hooked on) a new author.  I have certainly become hooked on Ms. Lofty’s writing and look forward to reading more!

 

 

If you would like to win today’s prize, leave a comment telling me what your plans for New Years Eve are.

25 Responses to Final Day (Day 12) of the 12 Days of Giveaways!

  1. Cheryl S. says:

    Oh, New Year’s Eve is spent with my two kids. We have pork and sauerkraut at midnight. We rent a couple movies and have veggies and dip and cream cheese/olive spread on crackers and our “special” pink punch (Hawaiian punch, 7-up and softened vanilla ice cream)while we watch it. Fun night.
    Hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and best to all in the new year.

  2. Liza says:

    My friends have a band coming to one of their restaurants, so I’ll be with all of my friends on New Years Eve. The food is amazing and it will be lots of fun.

  3. Natasha A. says:

    I think we will be going to a friends house to celebrate. Nothing is concrete yet.
    Natasha A.

  4. Minna says:

    I’ll be watching the fireworks.

  5. Stefanie D. says:

    I’m going to my parents and we’re going to eat (I’m already looking forward to that part) and watch the fireworks.

  6. azteclady says:

    (Please don’t enter me in the drawing, as I have the book–I just want to let everyone know that it is a truly great read.)

  7. Lea says:

    Awesome contest Jennifer, thank you again so much. And, I hope your Christmas was wonderful.

    I am going to kick back under a warm blanket and read one of the books from my TBR.

    All the best!

  8. limecello says:

    My NYE plans thus far are quite tame – to stay in with the family and have a quiet night 🙂

  9. Paula says:

    I’ll have a quiet night at home with family and enjoy TV and the books I received at Christmas.

  10. Helen says:

    New Years Eve Hubby and I are going to stay at home and watch the fireworks on Sydney Harbour on the TV one of our dogs is very scared of fireworks and lots of people let them off and we need to be home to look after her but I don’t mind I enjoy a quiet night at home.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  11. Maureen says:

    We stay home on New Year’s Eve and usually have a nice dinner.

  12. Kammie says:

    I plan to stay in on New Years Eve, watch some movies, play on the PC and have a few snacks.

  13. Jane says:

    We’ll probably stay home and watch the ball drop on tv. We might have some champagne.

  14. Crystal B. says:

    My husband and I plan to have a quiet night at home.

  15. cheryl c. says:

    Not sure yet. Right now, I am trying to recover from Christmas! 😉

  16. Cherie J says:

    We will be staying home. We eat snack type food like wings, pizza, etc. and watch movies together.
    Gives us a chance to relax and enjoy each other’s comapany.

  17. Quilt Lady says:

    I plan on staying home and reading. Don’t enter me I have read this book and it is a great read!!!

  18. Fedora says:

    We’ll likely be playing Wii with our kids, then off to an early night in 🙂 Sad, huh? ;p

  19. Chi says:

    No plans at all 🙂 Last year, I was watching Family Guy and missed the fact that midnight had already passed. I’ll probably do something similar this year… 😀

  20. Evelyn says:

    For New Years Eve, I plan to go to church with my family.

  21. Sue A. says:

    I’m staying home and probably gonna watch some movies.
    Have a Happy New Year!

  22. Terri W. says:

    Wow another awesome prize pack!

    On New Year’s I plan to stay home and rent some movies (I just want to relax).

  23. Deidre says:

    Not a whole lot I’m afraid. Staying at home and hoping desperately for a better year.

    Deidre

  24. Teresa W says:

    Going to a friends house for a party to bring in the new year!

  25. Jodi says:

    For 20 years me and my family have been eating a Chinese dinner for New Year’s Eve. It’s a tradition that we really adore. All of the children are so used to this that they ask about it as New Year’s Eve approaches every year! We love it!

Leave a Reply

