Day 8 of the 12 Days of Giveaways

Important!  Please check here for the details and rules for the 12 Days of Giveaways!!!

 

We’re nearing the end of the 12 Days of Giveaways, but they aren’t over yet and today I have a guest…

 

Please welcome Michelle Lauren!
Michelle is a finalist in the Romantic Times American Title V contest and recently sold a novella to Liquid Silver Books!

 

Here’s my interview with Michelle…

 

Welcome to the blog Michelle, and congratulations on being a finalist in the American Title V contest.  Can you tell us more about the contest?

Thanks so much for having me Jennifer. American Title V is a contest for unpublished novel-length manuscripts. It is sponsored by Romantic Times magazine and Dorchester Publishing. The grand prize is a contract with Dorchester.

 

Most people have seen the television show American Idol. Well, this contest follows that format in that it allows readers to vote on their favorite manuscripts in rounds like Best First Line, Best Hero and Heroine, Best Dialogue and Best Romantic Scene. Voting for Best Hero & Heroine is going on now!

 

Voting is super easy: You can view my entry here and then send a BLANK email with the subject “HOW TO TAME A HARPY” to votes@romantictimes.com

 

The rules: Only one email vote per person. Voting for this round ends December 28th.

 

Where can readers find more information about the contest?

I got to do a lot of fun promotional stuff for this book. The first link goes to my author interview at Sylvia Day’s site. The second link lets you listen in as I “interview” my heroine Siren.

 

·        http://www.sylviaday.com/blog/2008/11/17/1759/

·        http://www.sylviaday.com/blog/2008/11/20/1767/

 

What about your entry?  Can you tell us a little about How to Tame a Harpy?  (I love that title by the way)

Sure! How to Tame a Harpy is a multicultural urban fantasy. It is a fast-paced, darkly humorous read with action, mystery, romance and a happy ending.

 

Here is a short blurb for the book:
Welcome to Poseidon, Virginia, a place where the things that go bump in the night come to play and where passion and danger go hand in hand.

Tall, dark and lethal, genetically-enhanced human DANIEL SMITH lives in the shadows. Nicknamed “gargoyle” for his ability to shift into stone form in direct sunlight, he is considered an outsider even among other creatures of the night. Jaded by past betrayals, Daniel swore off love. But when fate—and a series of murders—tosses SIREN JONES (a street smart harpy with a temper that has a mind of its own) into his lap, he finds both his heart and his life in danger.

Passion and danger collide as Daniel struggles to protect Siren from a killer determined to destroy them both. As time runs out, his only hope lies in learning HOW TO TAME A HARPY.

Where did the idea for the story come from?

I’ve always been a fan of comic books and fairy tales. This story combines the best of both worlds –fantastical elements mixed with themes of true love conquering all. Although the plot involves a murder mystery, at its core, How to Tame a Harpy is very much a love story.

 

Daniel is the kind of guy I would fall for. He has a definite bad boy vibe but at his heart, he is a good man: loyal and fiercely protective of the woman he claims as his. Siren is independent, bold and street smart, a strong woman who needs an equally strong man. Both are emotionally scarred and don’t initially realize how much they need each other. I really enjoyed showing how their relationship developed.

 

You also recently sold a book to Liquid Silver Books.  Can you tell us a little about that book?

Thanks for asking about this! I was over the moon when Liquid Silver Books offered a contract for one of my novellas, Starstruck. Starstruck is an urban fantasy about a fallen star on the run from ruthless hunters after her life-prolonging energy. She finds protection – and passion—in the arms of an unlikely ally, an ex-star hunter seeking redemption for past wrongs. Here is a blurb:

 

A woman on the run…
When twenty-four year old star Miranda Snow crash lands on Earth, a place where humans hunt and kill her kind for their life-prolonging energy, she doesn’t know who to trust. Danger is everywhere. Her only hope for survival lies in the unlikely arms of ex-star hunter Noah Benson. Tall, dark and jaded, Noah’s touch sparks her passion and melts her defenses.

A man with a dark secret…
Nine years ago, Noah lost everything in one night: his freedom, his friends and all hopes of a future in astronomy. Years later he is driven by revenge against the man responsible, a ruthless killer determined to claim Miranda – something Noah refuses to let happen. But when faced with an impossible choice, will he protect Miranda or betray her?

 

You’ve mentioned that your books are Urban Fantasy.  Is there a reason why you chose to write that particular genre?

I think it’s natural to write about things that interest us most. As a fan of comics and fairy tales, when I started pursuing writing as a full-time career, I decided to start writing in this genre. It has been a blast.

 

Are you interested in writing other genres?

Of course! I am very interested in branching out into different genres. I have plans to write contemporary romance and branch into other genres.

 

What do you like to read?

I’m an avid and eclectic reader. I recently finished reading Sabriel by Garth Nix (juvenile fantasy), and I’m re-reading Deerskin by Robin McKinley. My bookshelf holds a little of everything: Science fiction (Tolkien); Gothic Romance; Historical; Western; and Urban Fantasy.

 

Complete the following:

I am: afraid of garden gnomes and life-like stone statues

I like: daydreaming

I wish I had thought of: Post-It notes. I’d be rich.

I can: type more than 100 words per minute

I wish: I could jump rope double dutch

I have never: smoked

I would love to know what readers think of: my heroes

Thanks Michelle for that great interview!
Readers, you can learn more about Michelle at her website:  www.michellelaurenbooks.com

Now for the giveaway…
Today’s prize is:

– a copy of December’s Romantic Times magazine
– a calendar notepad
– a journal with an ink pen

Today I want to know…
What are your favorite types of heroes in books?

Leave your answer below and I’ll announce the winner on Dec. 27.
Be sure to return to see if you won and to come back this week for more giveaways as the 12 Days of Giveaways continue.

 

 

29 Responses to Day 8 of the 12 Days of Giveaways

  1. Lea says:

    Hi Jennifer and Michelle!

    Great interview, good luck with your future writing endeavours Michelle.

    I like very strong heros in novels who can match an equally strong minded heroine. 🙂

    All the best.

  2. Deidre says:

    Hmmm, favorite heroes….ruggedly handsome or pretty-boy handsome with a body like steel, like brick ****house. LOL Loving, but not suffocating and a man who actually doesn’t mind doing a little housework.

    I read Michelle’s interview over on Sylvia’s blog and I was impressed by the sound of this book. Congrats on your sale to Liquid Silver, Michelle!

    Deidre

  3. Lu says:

    Great interview Jenn, and congratulations on the sale Michelle. Your story sounds fascinating.

    My favorite hero is very much an alpha, but not arrogant. Tall, dark and handsome with a body of steel, who likes to cuddle and tell silly jokes.

    Oh, what beautiful snow we have!!!

  4. diane says:

    Thanks for this great interview. My favorite hero has courage, determination and understanding and compassion. A sense of humor and a set of ethics.

  5. Beth R says:

    well alpha’s that aren’t afraid to show they emotions to their love

  6. Cherie J says:

    Wonderful interview! I am a big fan of Alpha males. Just something about a man who is strong and full of confidence that is sexy.

  7. ann marie says:

    Congrats on the contest and great interview Michelle.
    My favorite hero has to be the alpha male with a wicked sense of humor. Happy Holidays 🙂

  8. Minx Malone says:

    Great interview. Good luck with the contest Michelle!

    Let’s see, I love bad boy heroes who have hearts of gold.

    Minx

  9. azteclady says:

    Welcome, Michelle! Here’s wishing you the best of luck and crossing fingers for you!

  10. RobynL says:

    my hero stands up for his family and for what he believes in, is gentle when it counts and a ‘get out of my face’ attitude when it counts. He has a sense of humor. He is beyond a Beta but just enough Alpha so as not to be a smart aleck.

  11. Jane says:

    I love alpha heroes. They’re tall, dark and brooding.

  12. Teresa W says:

    I enjoy the darker heroes who have some kind of secret that they are not revealing!

  13. Maureen says:

    Congratulations on selling your novella and being a finalist in the contest Michelle. I like alpha heroes who fall like a stone for the heroine.

  14. I am really glad you all enjoyed the interview. Thanks for all the well wishes regarding the American Title V contest. I’m getting anxious as the end of this round nears, but I feel so priviledged by the outpouring of support from other writers, as well as readers.

    @Deidre: Thanks for stopping by to comment. I recognized your name from the comments on my “Harpy” interviews over at Sylvia Day’s blog. I’m really glad you’re keeping up with the contest.

    @Teresa: Thanks for the kind wishes about selling STARSTRUCK

    @azteclady: Great name, by the way! Thanks for stopping by and commenting – as well as for the good wishes.

    @Lu: You have snow? I’m jealous! I keep wishing for it in Virginia but so far, none in my area. *pouts* I’m glad you like the sound of “Harpy.” Hopefully, I’ll make it through the remaining rounds of AT V and you will see it in print!

    @ Beth R, Diane: I’m glad you enjoyed the interview ladies.

    @ann marie: I like the “wicked sense of humor” detail about your ideal hero.

    @Minx: Fancy seeing you hear, my dear. Thanks for dropping by to support me.

  15. @ Cherie J: I’m so glad you enjoyed the interview. Hope you have a great weekend!

    @ Robyn L: Your ideal hero sounds interesting. A beta with alpha qualities? Very cool. Have you read any of Loribelle Hunt’s Lunar Mates series? One of her male werewolf shifters, Billy, is a beta (literally, that is his position in the pack), and he is all about protecting and caring for his mate (she was formerly in an abusive relationship).

    @ Jane: You’re in good company with loving alpha heroes over here!

    @Teresa W: It seems we like the same kind of heroes. 😀 Daniel, the hero from “How to Tame a Harpy” is a gamma hero: with qualities of alpha and beta, but a bit more jaded. He’s a definite bad boy.

    I’m loving reading about everyone’s favorite types of heroes. The mix is so interesting.

    @ Maureen: Thanks for swinging by!

  16. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. I like alpha heroes who are strong, protective and have a mysterious side.

  17. Nice interview. Now I have to go vote:)
    I like a hero that is realistic, although maybe nicer than your average guy. And a sense of humor and an ability to let the heroine stand up for herself on occasion is nice, too.

  18. Eve says:

    I always like the unlikely hero type movies. You know the Beta types.

  19. Pam P says:

    Great interview and congrats on winning, Michelle, sounds like one I’d like to read.

  20. @ Crystal B & Eve: Glad you enjoyed the interview!

    @ Deborah: Thanks so much for the vote!

    @ Pam P: Here is hoping you just made a prediction of the future! Unfortunately, I haven’t won American Title V. I’m one of the finalists, and we’re on Round Two now (which ends 12/28/08). But I’m psyched at your interest in “How to Tame a Harpy” and I hope it gets published so you can read it.

  21. Jodi says:

    I like the unsung hero and sometimes the would be villian!

  22. Amy S. says:

    Alpah heroes are my fave!

  23. caffey says:

    I have the RT magazine so don’t put me in for this contest. I’ve read about your book Michelle! I do love reading Urban Fantasy and too this the title is neat! Its really the first time I’ve gotten involved with the voting and chatting about the American Title. I wished I had knew more about it before because this is the last year, right? I so wished they continue this contest! All the best for you!

  24. @ Caffey: Thanks for supporting the contest and for your interest in “How to Tame a Harpy”! I really enjoyed your comments on my interview at Sylvia D’s site. Thanks again for your kind wishes.

    To everyone who has commented: Please feel free to join my Yahoo group (the link is on my site) because I’m planning some more giveaways (gift cards, books, etc.)and sneak peeks for that group in the near future.

  25. Laura J says:

    I love Alpha males, but occasionally throw in a sexy geek hero (like those from Vicki Lewis Thompson) and I’m a happy camper.

  26. Chi says:

    Ooooh I love the anti-hero! The bad guy with a heart of gold! They’re always so tough, brave and smart, and inside they are sweet 😀

  27. kh says:

    ooppsite attracts kind to the herione

  28. Zara says:

    I like all types of heroes, but I suppose the alphas are my favorite, in general. The betas can have their day too though. Like some others, I love VLT’s nerds!

  29. Fedora says:

    Hi, Michelle and Jennifer! Michelle, congrats, and best wishes with your writing! My favorite heroes are smart and funny, brave and willing to work hard. Hot is nice too, but less important 🙂

Leave a Reply

