Day 5 of the 12 Days of Giveaways

Important:  Please check here for details and rules for the 12 Days of Giveaways.

Today as part of the 12 Days of Giveaways Party I invited the fabulous Lisa Renee Jones here to the blog!

Lisa recently moved from Texas to New York and has noticed a few differences…here’s what she had to say…

Happy Holidays everyone! I am writing to you from Austin, Texas where I am home visiting family. I moved to New York in February and it’s like living in another world. I never imaged how different the two places could be.  A few months after moving I blogged at Avon’s blog about the differences in the two places. Now many months later, sitting back home in Austin, I thought it would be fun to revisit such a list. I am a bit blurry eyed from the travel so forgive me if I misspell or mistype!

First – a lesson in New York slang:  You must use a ‘W’ —  Coffee is not Coffee. It’s CAWFFEE.  Call is Cawl. Practice makes perfect. Tongue on the roof of the mouth. You can do it! Try it!

-A slice of Pizza does not exist in New York.  It’s a slice of PIE. Fortunately, there is no special size terminology–no Venti or Grande PIE–small, medium, large still apply. And in case you wondered, pizza is the New York Taco. You can find it on every block.

– The view from Battery Park is gorgeous and happy hour is indeed quite happy as you sit and overlook the water.

-The Macy’s windows are full of spectacular Christmas scenes during the holidays. Truly spectacular.

– They do not have Jack-in-Box, Dairy Queen, Whataburger, Luby’s, Furs, Chick-fil-A or Taco Cabana in New York.  I am in Austin for Five days and must fit all of these in at least two times. Can you imagine the DIET when I get home?

– In Manhattan, everything has the calorie count on it. In concept, this is great, but, man, it can really ruin a good cookie and coffee! Sometimes I just DON’T WANT TO KNOW!

-Those cupcakes showcased in the show Sex in the City from the Magnolia Bakery in Manhattan are to DIE for. Oh my gosh, they are so so good. And fattening. And expensive. And my DH and I buy a dozen every time we go to the city and eat them.  All. The TWO of us.

Hmmmm – this blog is getting very food obsessive, isn’t it? I am hungryJ Can you tell?

– It is 70 today in Austin. There was snow on the ground when I left New York.

-When you order food in New York at a restaurant they say ‘Is this to STAY or to GO?’.  In Texas, they say ‘Here or to go’. Little small things you’d be amazed you noticed when you move someplace new.

 -The Jewish religion is by far the most dominant in Long Island. I’ve learned so much about the Jewish culture and met some wonderful people.  It’s very common to see men wearing a Yarmulke here. In Texas you see Cowboy hats.  One little boy asked me if we have cars in Texas or do we just ride horses.  I told him I take my car out once a week to allow my horse some rest.

-You won’t see Justin Ropers and Wrangers in New York.  It’s dress shoes with True Religion jeans.

So – those are a few of the difference I’ve seen in New York.  Hope you enjoyed the listJ More than anything, I wish you all a wonderful, safe holiday!  And if you happen by a bookstore and see Lone Star Surrender on the shelf, know Lisa is smiling. Having my books on shelves is a blessing I am immensely thankful for.  

Happy holidays!

Lisa Renee Jones

www.lisareneejones.com

Thanks Lisa for that great blog!

lonestarsurrenderReaders, today’s prize is:
-A copy of Lone Star Surrender courtesy of Lisa
and
-A snowman notepad

Today’s question is:
Have you ever made a big move?  If so, did you notice any major differences when you did move?

Psst…how many of you actually tried saying CAWFFEE outloud…LOL…and I am still in shock over the no Chick-fil-A in New York…I don’t know how I’d survive 😮

Anyway, be sure to check back on Dec. 27 to see if you won today’s prize!

46 Responses to Day 5 of the 12 Days of Giveaways

  1. Pam P says:

    Hi Lisa, I’m in CT very near NY, so I’ve heard Cawffee lots of times, lol, even one of my nephews talks like a New Yorker since he was born, strange, lol. You should have seen those store windows way back in the 70’s, Macy’s, Gimbels and a few others, even better than they are now. And the food, who needs fast food with so much to choose from.

    Never made a major move out of state, hard enough moving in the same town, lol. But I can see how you can miss your favorite restaurants and haunts until you find new ones after you move. I found a few great places to eat at near my father’s second home in Fla and wish they were located up here. One is a small take-out place with tables outside with authentic cappucino and homemade gelato in various flavors changing every day, best I ever had, and the place is jumping every night, we go every night when down there.

    Happy Holidays!

  2. Lea says:

    Hi Lisa and Jennifer!

    I love the Harlequin Blaze books and yours looks wonderful! 🙂 I’ve made big moves many times. I’m Canadian from Toronto, Ontario and moved to the Yukon Territories at one point. However where I noticed a major difference was when I moved and lived in Los Angeles for 3 years. The climate, foliage, society, everything was different. lol But it was a wonderful experience and one I will never forget!

    I did try and say “CAWFFEE”, hey that is the way I pronounce it! lol

    Great post,
    Seasons Greetings 🙂

  3. Lu says:

    Hi Lisa and Jenn,

    I’m from Nova Scotia but left home at 23 when I married my American hubby. We’ve lived in Baltimore, Akron, Wauchula, FL (a very small town in the middle of orange groves and cattle ranches, yes they have cowboys in Florida), Ann Arbor, Somerdale, NJ (where they also said cawffee, and water was werter) and now we’ve settled (I think) in Maine.

    LIsa, I’ve added your Blaze to my Harlequin order!

  4. Brandy W says:

    We do big moves all the time but then we are an Army family. We definitely notice changes and stuff like that.

    Yes I did try saying Cawfee. Who can resist a challenge like that?

  5. Liza says:

    Welcome Lisa!

    I’ve never moved more than a few hours from home. I moved from West TN to Middle TN about 13 years ago.

    I don’t know how you live without Chick-fil-A. I have to go there at least once a week for breakfast. Of course with all the wonderful food to pick from in NY, it might not be too hard. I’ve only been to NY once, but would love to go back for another visit.

  6. Crystal B. says:

    I lived with my brother in Michigan for a while and I got lots of comments about my Southern accent.

  7. Jodi says:

    Well, I am a Native New Yorker but right now I am living in North Carolina. Before that I lived in Washington State…before that Florida, Mississippi, Virginia and in a few foreign countries overseas. What I have noticed the most is that the West is more open and accepting of people, the South is very conservative, slow paced and to be honest…prejudice and the East is very fast paced and knowledgeable. I know that sounds a bit odd, but it’s true! I don’t like the South at all and I feel so very sorry for people who are mistreated or not respected. This is a great and wonderful country with so much diversity to share and learn from and rejoice in. I wish everyone felt that way!

  8. Teresa W says:

    No big moves for me I’ve lived in the same place for over 20 years!

  9. anne says:

    Yes, I made a big move which was wonderful and permanent. From Canada to the Southwest. Love it and all the best for the season.

  10. Maureen says:

    I grew up less than an hour from New York and never thought about the way we said coffee but I just said it out loud and I guess that’s the way I do say it. I only live an hour away from where I grew up so I have never made a long distance move.

  11. RobynL says:

    I have made several big moves over the years and many within the city/town I was living in at the time.
    When I moved to the next province when going through a divorce I noticed a few changes but they were due to me becoming single or in the eyes of men, available already. The men here were rather stingy and yet some were quite wealthy. Back home they would at least pay for you and here some did but they sure watched their wallets. Often times we went Dutch.
    Here they had more of a variety of coffee places and nicer restaurants but that being b/c it was a bigger place.

  12. ThatBrunette says:

    I also talk with my hands and 8x faster than everyone else. I’m from Long Island. We also dislike words that end with ‘r’. Him and huh to togethuh.

    The Chinese food is also better in NY. Egg rolls are the best. I could go on and on and on. I’m living in MD and although I don’t want to move back, there are a lot of things I miss.

  13. Lisa says:

    Hi everyone!! Thanks for stopping by. I am popping in to wave and will be back for the evening on line all night. Looking forward to talking to everyone!

  14. Annie G says:

    We have moved from Pennsylvania to Alabama (1986), Alabama to Missouri (1988, 7.5 months pregnant), Missouri to Florida (1992) and Florida to Texas (1996). Let’s see – in PA we drank “pop”, in AL it was “coke”, the rest all drink “soda”. (Oh, and Texans think you can’t get Dr Pepper anywhere else in the country – so weird.)

  15. Leslie says:

    Hello Lisa and Jennifer,

    Texas to NY is a big change. I moved from Phoenix, AZ to Charleston, SC. Talk about different world. When I lived in Charleston I had to get used to not only the accent but the slower pace. I’m back in Phoenix now and thankfully we have Chick-fil-a. 🙂

  16. Laura J says:

    The biggest move I’ve ever made was about 2 hours for college. However, about 4 years ago, we almost made a 16 hour move to Boston. That would never have worked for me. There are 2 CFA’s there, but both towards the north side of Boston and we were looking at houses in South Boston down to Providence, RI. Nope, couldn’t do that when I’m 10 minutes from one now (which my oldest son works at now). Since I eat there oh, let’s just say I eat there often, an hour commute to the “nearest” CFA was a major decision in whether or not “I” wanted to move.

  17. Beth R says:

    No I haven’t ever had a big move

  18. Vickie Couturier says:

    I just recently moved from Vermont to Tennessee,boy what a culture shock!Its almost like being in a foregin country,the food,the slang,the weather,the people,all totally different but each has its on good an bad qualities,but im home no matter where I am with my family

  19. Auriette says:

    My dad was Navy, so I moved twice a year sometimes. I never learned to diagram sentences. Somehow, I always missed it. Either they had already covered it when I started a new school, or maybe they had that lesson after I moved. I was in high school, I think, when it came up, and it was like another language. Or Algebra.

    One of the neatest things I can remember from moving to new place was when I was newly married and living in St. Louis, Missouri. It was spring, and I looked over in the yard, and there was Robin Red Breast tugging a worm from the ground. It was an image I’d only seen before in books, so it was just amazing to me that it really happens.

    I enjoyed reading your comparisons of New York to Texas. I was fortunate enough to visit the Big Apple twice last year, and I learned about paninis (which are making a move to the south) and Duane Reade. It’s an amazing city, but I don’t think I’d want to live there. If I could go for a weekend twice a year (on someone else’s dime, as it was last year), I would be in hog heaven!

  20. Susan says:

    I have never made a big move. I wouldn’t want to leave my little hometown. Two families from New York City have bought homes near me and they talk just like you described! lol

  21. Jane says:

    I’ve never made a big move. I’ve lived in NY my whole life. I would love to try Chick-fil-A one day.

  22. Minna says:

    I’ve moved a few times by now. There always seems to be more stuff when I leave…

  23. Peggy Gorman says:

    I never made a big move .The closest is when my daughter moved to New York this past summer and I have been to visit. I am in Southeastern Ct. Its funny because my one son is living in the home I brought them up in and another has his grandfathers . Both love the area. My baby and the youngest moved to be closer to her fiance and his family is very close and kind to her,so I feel better about it.Cats are my favorite also,I have 4 because my daughter brought me them home when they were a week old,their Mom must have died durning childbirth. They are my kids and act like it. They even love to jump in the truck and take a drive (They sit in the front seat and look out the window)
    Cawfee,love my cawfee.I think I’ll go have a cup

  24. beth shepherd says:

    I have never moved out of my town. Just around it 🙂 But visiting other states and countries it sure is interesting and lots of fun to try and find all the differences. Thank you

  25. Deidre says:

    I’m afraid I’ve never moved far. I’ve always lived in Georgia. I have noticed that folks south of the Georgia line in Florida speak more like northerners.

    Deidre

  26. Lisa says:

    Hi All– I can’t figure out how to add my comments to the actual posts so I will try to do it here:)

    Pam: Macy’s is like the size of city too here! CT is close. I know a lot of people commute. I want to drive up and see it soon.

    The RT conventions are a great way to see new places. I use them as an excuse to travel:) And Happy Holidays to you too!
    *****
    Hi Lea! Thanks for visiting and stay warm! I hear you are getting more snow in your area than we are in New York. It’s suppose to be 19 the day I return home with snow and ice.
    ****
    Lu! Thanks for adding my book to your order list! And wow! You have been all over the place. Talk about climate changes! I was walking around in short sleeves today. It was crazy. I could have worn shorts. Florida to Canada is about as drastic as Texas to NY!
    ***
    Brandy — on tha CAWFEE challenge— now try FORGET ABOUT IT and make it sound like ROCKY lol We keep trying. The scary part is we are getting better at it!
    ***
    Liza — Diego my DH has been to Chick-fil-A three times already and we got here two days ago lol.
    ***
    Hey Crystal — Ya’ll and Fixen is a part of my vocabulary no New York address will ever strip me of!
    ***
    Jodi — I live in NC for 4 years many moons ago. It’s very different from New York too. I also spend some time in Florida for business and loved it. I love Jacksonville. It reminds me of Austin with a beach.
    ***
    Teresa– nothing wrong with no moves! I could have stayed 20 years without one happily!

    ***
    Welcome to the Southwest Anne!
    ***
    Maureen! How funny. I guess its like I never think Ya’ll is anything but normal for all the world and they look at me here like — hello? what?

    ***
    It is different to see just how different people are from place to place Robyn L. I noticed that people in Florida, NC, Texas, and NY, are very different.Tiny things that add up to big culture shocks.
    ***
    ThatBrunnette — I smiled at your post. but please tell me where to get Chinese! I need a good place. Please! I can’t seem to find a place I like but I keep hearing its great here so I am off target!

  27. Sandy says:

    Mmm…okay, now I’m hungry. I’ve never been to New York or Texas, but had fun reading about the differences. 🙂

  28. Pat L. says:

    Nope, no big moves. I have always lived in NY and love it here. I live on Long Island about 1 hr from NYC.

  29. Quilt Lady says:

    Nope, have never made any big moves. I am still about 40 mile from where I was raised. I did try to say Cawffee!

  30. Sue A. says:

    I made all the big moves before I turned 6. Our family moved from one continent to another, then another and somewhere along the way we added another family member. It also involved learning three languages, which I’m sad to say I only held on to two of them.

  31. Fedora says:

    Hi, Lisa! Congrats on your big move! I’ve been blessed to be near where I grew up and still loving where I’m living 🙂 I’m not sure how well I’d meet the challenge of a completely new location, although we occasionally toy with the idea of moving overseas 😉 (I think the packing alone would do me in!) Glad you’re finding ways to settle in and put down new roots!

  32. caffey says:

    Hi Lisa!!! I’m in NY, but all the way on the west near the great lakes. I’ve been to NYC only once and it was in and out so I didn’t get to spend as much time there but hope to some day! I want to experience the stores there! We have alot of the wings here too along with the pizza. A few places here that are known around and get special visitors when they come to this area. I hope you enjoy the warmer visit to Texas because its a snowy state in NY now, Smile. Great to say Hi to you!

  33. Lisa says:

    Vicki I am feeling for you with your move! The food is really a big deal. People don’t realize how that effects your life until you go through the change. I miss so many of the things I love here in Texas in New York but I keep reminding myself that in time you find those things you love in your new place. I had a lifetime to find them in Texas:)

  34. Lisa says:

    Caffey what part of NY are you in? And the city is fun. There are some fun cheap things to do there too believe it or not. Go near Christmas if you can just to see the decorations! We are going when I get back next week.

  35. Lisa says:

    Laura we cosidered Rhode Island at one point. It looks really wonderful. Light houses and water and just friendly. But D’s med school is here on the island so we are fairly confined. He hopes to get a practice in Colorado of all places. He’s always had that dream for some reaon.

  36. Kimmy Lane says:

    I quit my job and went to beauty school. The big change was the first year you do not do as good as you like. That was a very hard year for me.

  37. Lisa says:

    Kimmy the first year always seems to be. I remember that from moving to NC and now in NY I’ve felt that way. I do feel things changing as we bring the year to an end. And being back in Austin, I realize there are things in NY I’ve come to love too. And its too hot here! I never thought I’d say that but its hot!

  38. Kammie says:

    I tend to be a chicken about life and the only big move I can think of is moving to another suburb about an hour away. lol Not that big of a move, but I now live in a more quiet suburb which I enjoy very much.

  39. kh says:

    not mucha of a mover eitehr, i wish, but i would love to try new things.

    such a hot cover an d great reiveiws for your book congrats

  40. Cheryl S. says:

    No big moves for me. I’ve lived in the same place all my life. Loved your post, though. It brought a smile to my face.

  41. Cherie J says:

    I have had two big moves in my life. Once when I was 21 and I moved to SW FLorida with my family from NYC. Quite an adjustment from the fast paced city life to the more relaxed South. Then in 2000 I got married and moved to Northern Florida to be with my hubby which was also a major adjustment for me.

  42. Eve says:

    No, I have never made a move. I am very shy and I tend not to put myself out there. It sucks, but I want to get better at it.

  43. Chi says:

    I moved cross country not too long ago. Most of the differences are small. More to do with the local flavor then any real difference in place. The scenery is different, but life is the same. The biggest difference is, now I don’t know where anything is! 😀

    Now, moving to another COUNTRY, especially one with a very different culture, that would have a lot of big differences, I would think 🙂 I’d love to find out sometime by moving to Japan 😀

  44. limecello says:

    O_o no Chick-Fil-A in NY? Tragic! [Oh and Merry Christmas everyone!]

    I :X have never made a big move >.< I know, I’m so sheltered and boring. Ack. But… I did do a research trip overseas my senior year of college for my thesis/theses/whatever the plural is 😛 Does that count?

    I would like to move, however, at some point.

  45. Zara says:

    I’ve never made a big move. I’ve travelled a lot, but I love coming back home. 🙂

  46. Stefanie D. says:

    No, I’ve never made a big move. I’ve only moved once, but I even stayed in the same town then.

Leave a Reply

