Day 3 of the 12 Days of Giveaways

Important: Please click here for details and rules about the 12 Days of Giveaways here on the blog.

 

The 12 Days of Giveaways are continuing and today I have invited a very special guest to our little blog party.

From the fabulous book, Reaction Time by Alannah Lynne, please welcome, Adam Guthrie…or as the heroine of Reaction Time, Nikki, refers to him “Tight Ass”

 

First here’s a little about the book…

 

reactiontimeFive days. Close quarters. It’s enough to drive any woman crazy—or into submission…
 

Nikki Kincaid carries her smart mouth and in-your-face attitude like other women carry mace. But the sharpest parts of her razor tongue are reserved for Adam Guthrie, a man who sparks her body’s reaction time quicker than a green light. That out-of-control response terrifies her, because control is her middle name.
 

When someone starts sending Nikki threatening letters, Adam jumps at her brother’s request to help protect her—whether she likes it or not. For the past year and a half he’s been watching her, analyzing her body language and cutting remarks, and has come to one definitive conclusion. She’s a sexual submissive in hiding.
 

Five days in close quarters is exactly what Adam’s been waiting for—and Nikki’s idea of hell. Bringing her deepest desires to the surface will be the greatest challenge of his life. And, if he succeeds, his greatest reward.

 

Now available from Samhain Publishing

 

Now here’s my interview with Adam…

 

Welcome to the blog.  How are you? 
I’m great, thanks. Happy birthday, by the way.

 

Aw, thanks.  *blushes* So, what have you been up to lately?
Nikki and I just got back from vacation. We wanted to spend Christmas with our families, but since it’s our first Christmas together we wanted to go away and have some alone time too. *slow, easy grin* We had a great time.

 

I am sure you did. *laughs*  So I hear that the author Alannah Lynne wrote a book featuring you and Nikki.  Have you read it yet?  If so, how accurate was it?
Alannah sent Nikki an advanced copy. Nikki read it to me while we were driving to the mountains. *Laughs heartily* It’s a pretty accurate portrayal of the way things began with Nikki and I.

 

That’s good to know.  Some people might be bothered to have their life shared with the world, how do you feel about your story being told?
Flattered, I guess?  

 

That’s cool.  Can you tell us more about yourself?

I’m a detective with the local police force. I’ve been friends with Nikki’s brother, Nate, for a couple of years and I’ve been biding my time, waiting for Nikki to realize what a great guy I am. *laughs* I’m grateful she finally got with the program.

 

Sounds like you are a very patient man.  What about Nikki…can you tell us about her?
She is the most stubborn, hard-headed, exasperating woman I have ever met. *chuckles and eyes sparkle* And I wouldn’t want her to be any other way. Life with her is a constant challenge and I love every minute of it.

 

She sounds like she was worth the wait, then.  So can you describe yourself in three words?
Honest. Fair. Patient – although Nikki tests that patience on a daily basis.

 

I can see how she could do that.  What three words would you use to describe Nikki?
Stubborn. Hard-headed. Mine.

 

Great!  What do you like to do for fun?
*slow, easy grin again* These answers have to be kept PG, right?

 

Um, yeah, but I think we get the picture.  Well, Adam, thanks for being here.  I know you are busy, but before you leave, do you have anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?

Yeah, I need their help. I want to get Nikki a puppy for Christmas. Since Amber spends most weekends with Nate. And I have to work most weekends, Nikki spends a lot of time at the race track by herself. I want to get her a puppy to keep her company but I don’t know what would be a good breed. I only know about big dogs. But she needs one that would do well travelling and in the small space of her motor home. I’d love suggestions.

 

Aww…how sweet of you!  I hope you and Nikki have a wonderful Christmas!

 

Readers, you can learn more about this book and author Alannah Lynne at her website:  http://alannahlynne.com/

 

Well, readers, any suggestions for Adam?

 

Today as part of the 12 Days of Giveaways one winner will receive:

a download of Reaction Time courtesy of Alannah Lynne

and

a candy-filled ornament

 

To enter today’s giveaway:

Just leave a suggestion for Adam or leave a comment or question for Alannah Lynne

And be sure to return on Dec. 27 to see if you won!

25 Responses to Day 3 of the 12 Days of Giveaways

  1. Lea says:

    Hi Adam:

    I have 3 dogs and two of them are small breed. I’ve done lots of research and have trained dogs as a hobby, so this question hits one of my passion buttons! lol

    Okay, I have 2 Chinese Cresteds, one is a hairless and the other is a powder puff. Both are non-shedders and are sweet and spoiled. Cresteds do tend to be nervous little dogs so caregivers have to be cognizant of this breed factor. The other small breed dog I love are the Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, they are easy to train, very loving and an all around solid dog. Also non-shedding. I could go on and on but won’t bore you further. lol

    Alannah (Adam): Wonderful interview with Jennifer. Your book sounds awesome and I am going to add it to my list right away.

    All the best for the festive season. 🙂

  2. Lu says:

    Hi Jenn, Alannah and *sigh* Adam *fans self*

    Take a look at the Cairn Terrier, smart, feisty and cute. Just like Nikki.

    Great contest Jenn, you’re my first “blog-stop” of the morning!

    Lu

  3. Natasha Armstrong says:

    I love Min Pins (miniature pinschers). They are adorable and love to cuddle!
    Natasha A.

  4. RobynL says:

    A male Apricot toy poodle is my suggestion. We had one and he loved to cuddle, sleep on top of the bed behind our knees, go for car rides, sit beside us on the recliner; he’d go everywhere I went in the house. He was a companion, friend, and a comfort for me. He learned tricks at age 3 and did them up till we had to put him down.

  5. Alannah says:

    Good morning, everyone! Just wanted to drop by and see how everyone was doing!

    Adam, that is so sweet! I’m glad Nikki got with the program too! You two were a pleasure to get to know and spend time with. Enjoy the holidays!

  6. Deidre says:

    Adam sounds wonderful, well, except for the hard-headed part. LOL

    Deidre

  7. Denise says:

    What a great interview! I wonder what Adam would say if he knew that Nikki thought he was a tight ass. LOL I haven’t read the book yet, but I read that’s what she calls him (in an excerpt).

    Alannah, when you think of yourself as a published author, where do you see yourself ultimately? In print? Do you prefer the ebook world? Is even the genre you see yourself in? I love to hear about others’ dreams and goals.

    Great interview, Jenn!

  8. Liza says:

    Congrats Alannah! I can’t wait to read Nikki and Adam’s story.

    Adam, I suggest getting Nikki a dachshund puppy. They are really cute, but are fierce protectors. I had one growing up and he was the sweetest dog ever, but would go after anyone who tried to mess with me.

  9. Crystal B. says:

    Great interview. I would suggest a shitzu or a yorkie. They are so cute.

  10. OMG!!! Adam’s getting me a puppy?!!! That is so sweet. And he’s right, now that Nate has Amber I am by myself a lot at the track. What an awesome present.

    And I’ve learned something. I thought all Chinese Cresteds were hairless. I tend to be a little high-strung myself, so I’m not sure that would make a good combination. LOL But I love Spaniels, and I especially like the idea of non-shedding.

    LOL…Thanks, Lu. I don’t think I’ve ever been compared to a dog! ROTFL

    Min-Pins? I’ve never heard of them, but I love the idea of cuddling. I don’t think I’d have ever thought that something called a Pinscher would be a good cuddler! LOL

    Awww…Robyn, your dog sounds awesome. A friend of mine has a teacup poodle and she’s a ton of fun. That’s a definite thought.

    Deidre..LOL..Adam is wonderful and he’s not hard-headed, I am! You can’t fault him for speaking the truth!! LOL

    Hey Denise! Adam knew I called him Tight Ass. That’s what made it the most fun!!!

    Liza, Adam will probably love your idea. He does want me to have company, but the thought of me being protected would be an added bonus for him. He’s such a worrier!!

    Cyrstal, I love Shitzu’s and Yorkies. As a kid I thought Shitzu’s were the best thing ever. I had a friend who had one and I loved being able to say what she was because I always felt like it was a free pass to say a bad word!! ROTFL

    Thanks for all the great, great ideas!

  11. Jane says:

    Hi Alannah and Adam,
    I don’t know much about dogs, but how about a golden retriever puppy. They’re so cute.

  12. Hi everyone!! Wow, Adam has gotten some great suggestions.

    Jane, I chuckled at the idea of a Golden. We used to have an 80 lb. golden who thought he was a lap dog. He was the sweetest dog ever…but not too cute when he wanted to sit on your lap! LOL

    Hi, Denise…great questions. Let’s see:

    Alannah, when you think of yourself as a published author, where do you see yourself ultimately? In print?

    I’d love to be in print. My next goal is to be a Blaze Babe…published by Harlequin Blaze and then I’d love to write single-title, as well. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to continue to write e-books for Samhain. It’s been a wonderful opportunity and they’ve been great to work with. I’d love to think I could do all 3. It will require discipline and organization, but I think I could do that. I’m sure willing to try! LOL

    Do you prefer the ebook world?

    I think e-books are great – they’re certainly great for someone like me who likes instant gratification.

    It’s kind of interesting how I ended up writing Reaction Time. I actually had another project that I’d been working on for several years. I decided to take an online workshop through my RWA Online Chapter that was a “Short-Story Bootcamp.” The goal was to write a 10K word story in 2 weeks.

    I’d had the dream of this opening scene and decided to develop it for the bootcamp. 10K words became 30K words. I’d had a really tough year (beginning on July 16th, ’07 when my husband was diagnosed with a brain tumor). In an effort to change the negative feelings associated with that date, I got Reaction Time spit shined and ready, and submitted to several publishers on July 16th, ’08. Heidi, my editor at Samhain, bought it 3 days later! (and, as a side note, my husband is doing great! Our life is pretty much back to normal and now I’m a published author as well!).

    Is even the genre you see yourself in? I love to hear about others’ dreams and goals.

    I think I answered that with my long-winded answer to the last question (lol) but I see myself as sticking with the steamy stuff…maybe some paranormal or suspense, but always steamy. I actually started out writing sweet and inspirational! No one is more surprised than me to realize I wrote steamy, sexy scenes!

    Thanks for your interest and asking the questions!!

  13. ooopss..forgot to change the name back after Nikki used the computer.

    Sorry such a long post too! Yikes.

  14. Fedora says:

    Hi, Alannah! Congrats on Reaction Time! How terrific! And I really enjoyed Adam’s interview! Not a pet owner, so don’t have much to say about dogs, but they do seem to be friendly, fuzzy fun! Best wishes finding the right one for Nikki! And Nikki, it sounds like you and Adam have met your match in each other–lucky you! Keep that man in line!

  15. Brandy W says:

    Sorry no ideas here. The kids would love a dog but I’m not ready. The books sounds great. Good luck on the puppy search Adam!!!

  16. Julie Robinson says:

    Congrats Alannah. I’m normally a big dog person, but they don’t travel as well.

    Adam,
    I’d suggest a rat terrier. They make great traveling companion and you would both have enough energy for this dog. Or I would suggest a Papillon. They make great therapy dogs for when you need some down time and they’re beautiful with their humongous ears.
    Julie

  17. ann marie b says:

    Congrats Alannah on the new book. What’s wrong with a cat they make great traveling company. I say a jack russell terrier would make a great gift for Nikki. Happy Holidays

  18. Beth R says:

    Adam thanks for the interview

  19. Amy S. says:

    Reaction Time sounds great!

  20. Jodi says:

    This is a great interview and I’ve enjoyed reading it. Thanks for your time and for sharing Adam.

  21. Terri W. says:

    I would suggest a Beagle, they are so cute and obedient.

  22. Hi everyone! I just wanted to drop back by and get caught up on the comments.

    Terri..you’re right…beagles are adorable. A friend of mine has the sweetest little beagle picture as the background on her computer and you can’t help but smile and say, “awwwww” whenever you see it!

    Hey Fedora! Since it’s Friday I can wish you happy birthday here too! Hope you have a fantastic day!

    Hi Brandy – Yeah, probably best to wait until you’re ready for the puppy. Because if it’s like my house, the kids love the animals. But who takes care of them? LOL

    Hey Julie – A Papillion (therapy dog) sounds great for Nikki! LOL Especially when she’s not finished so well at the track.

    OMG Marie! A friend of ours had a Jack Russell and I’ve never seen an animal with so much energy. He was as cute as could be but good googa-mooga. And he couldn’t stand to get his feet wet, which made going out on rainy days a real joy to watch! But they are cute!

    Hey Beth, Amy and Jodi *waves* – sorry I didn’t get back here on Wed. to say hello then!

  23. Minna says:

    How about chihuahua?

  24. Cherie J says:

    Sounds like a wonderful book from reading the Blurb. Enjoyed the interview. Don’t know enough about the small breed dogs to suggest anything but good luck to Adam.

  25. Eve says:

    Alannah Lynne, the cover of your book looks really interesting. I want to buy it. Is it in stores yet?

Leave a Reply

