Special Guest…Holli Winters

Today’s guest blogger is author Holli Winters!

Holli’s debut, A Christmas Wish, was released last week from Whispers Publishing.

 

Here’s a little about the book…

a_christmas_wishTwo years ago, Brady and Macy kissed and walked on the edge of giving into their desire, but the time was not right. She was newly widowed after the death of her abusive husband, who was also Brady’s cousin. Now it’s Christmas Eve in the midst of a snow storm. Macy heads to Brady’s bar for a drink and ends up stranded when the storm turns into a blizzard. Now, she’s trapped with a man she’s wanted for a long, long time…and the timing couldn’t be better.

 

One night of passion isn’t enough for Brady, but can he convince Macy they have more going for them than just the desire that’s been simmering for years?

 

And here’s a lovely video to tell you more…

 


Now here’s Holli’s blog…

  

Why do we like Christmas Romances?

 

I love Christmas themed stories. There’s something about the holidays and all the love that flows from person to person as they share the magic and pageantry.  Goodwill to all men and women. We put aside our differences and invite strangers into our midst to help celebrate the holiday.  No matter what, or where you are, there’s no barrier between people during Christmas.

 

When I started writing A Christmas Wish, I knew there wasn’t any way it wouldn’t take place on Christmas Eve. (Title notwithstanding, I wrote it before I had the title) I think of Christmas Eve as one of the most romantic holidays, apart from Valentine’s Day, where we get together with our loved ones and push aside our differences. In a way, this is what Macy and Brady did during A Christmas Wish. As much as she saw Brady as being part of her painful past, she set aside that and took a chance on one, magical night together. Fortunately, that one night broke the ice for a happily ever after.

 

Every year, dozens of romances are released that take place during the holidays. Publishers know they’ll sell, despite readers busily getting ready for their holiday celebrations. There is a variety released, from the super hot romances to those with religious themes.  They all have something in common: love and a happily ever after.  I’m one of the buyers of these Christmas romances and they are usually available from September onward. I think one of the biggest publishers of holiday romances is Harlequin, as most of their releases in October and November take place during Christmas.  When things are hectic during December, there’s nothing like a good, Christmas themed romance to keep you in the mood while being relaxing.

 

I hope you enjoy reading A Christmas Wish, because it’s a story I loved writing. Macy has had a terrible past, but she’s now on the road to happiness…with Brady, the man she was meant to fall in love with and marry.

 

Question for readers: do you read a lot of holiday themed romances?

 

Thanks Holli!

Readers, you can learn more about Holli at her website:  http://www.holliwinters.com/

Or visit her blog:  http://holliwinters.blogspot.com/

 

So readers, do you read a lot of holiday-themed romances?
And I’ll take things a step further and ask…do you only read them around the holidays or do you read them year-round?

 

Go ahead and comment…one lucky winner will win a download of A Christmas Wish.
I’ll announce the winner on Sunday, Dec. 14.

17 Responses to Special Guest…Holli Winters

  1. ThatBrunette says:

    Hello Holli,

    My favorite holiday is Halloween and I like when it is included in stories. I will happily read Halloween stuff all year long.

    For me, reading a holiday-themed book during the correct holiday season is more ‘power of suggestion’ than actually seeking out that type of story. Seeing the decorations in the store and on the cover of the book will probably aid in my purchase.

  2. Beth R says:

    I loved Christmas themed romances

  3. Brandy W says:

    I do tend to read a lot of holiday themed stories around the holidays but if there is a really good one I will read it anytime.

    The holidays are an excuse for me to build my holiday book collection mostly my ebooks.

  4. Deidre says:

    I can commiserate with Macy and we all want a HEA after a bad past.
    I agree with ThatBrunette in that Halloween is my favorite holiday and I can read it all year long.
    I kind of have to be in a certain mood though to read a Christmas story or if it’s that time of year to get me in the spirit.

    Deidre

  5. Fedora says:

    Hi, Holli! My favorite is Christmas stories (which I do admittedly read year-round), but I’ll read just about any holiday 🙂 Congrats on A Christmas Wish!

  6. Jane says:

    Hi Holli,
    Congrats on your debut release. I love Christmas romances. Mostly I read a lot of Christmas themed anthologies.

  7. Cara says:

    Hi Holli,

    Huge congrats on the release. Loved it! It’s a fabulous book.

    I love Holiday romances. I’m a huge sap for them this time of the year. It’s something about the mistletoe wrapped up with the whole magic of Santa Claus and his eight… er sorry Rudolph, NINE reindeer.

    I’d read them year round if they were sold year round. So I try to tank up on them when I can, just in case I want to have that festive holiday magic with me during the grueling summer heat.

    Happy Holidays everyone!

  8. Alannah says:

    Hi Holli!! Congrats on the new release!

    I don’t read a lot of holiday themed stories but I always enjoy them when I do. And I can’t wait to read this one (but I’m forcing myself to wait until I’ve finished my current wip).

    Congrats, again, on the release!!

  9. Hello everyone! And thank you Jenn for having me!

    I’m a big sucker for holiday romance books! Every year that there’s a Brava Christmas anthology, I grab it and read it.

    I see A Christmas Wish as a new beginning for Macy. Up until now, she’d kept her life frozen (no pun intended!) to force herself to never love again, but Brady um….thawed her out… :))))

    Let me know if you read A Christmas Wish and what you think. You can contact me at holli@holliwinters.com

  10. Jolene says:

    I love holiday themed books, especially christmas.. just such a peaceful romantic setting.. i absolutely cant wait to read yours..it sounds so good..

  11. Cheryl McInnis says:

    I love Christmas themed romances, it just seems like Christmas is the perfect time of year for love….I do sometimes dig out a Christmas story in July if I’m feeling a little blue and need something to cheer me up!

  12. BadBarb says:

    I love to read holiday themed romances all year long.

  13. caffey says:

    I plan to read this one of Holli’s soon!
    I do read a few that I’m able to find of Christmas related within the stories. I just haven’t been able to get out to get the print ones this year yet. I do like the Ebooks too, to read! I love especially reading them in historical settings!

  14. Jodi S. says:

    Hi Holli!
    Congrats on the new release!

    I love Christmas themed stories, just wish that I had time to read more! I can’t wait to read yours.

    I usually read them only around Christmas, but I have been known to read them whenever I feel like it!

  15. Tamara B. says:

    I read any type of romance books anytime. I quess if I was in a book store, it was Christmas time and I saw a book with a Christmas theme I probably would be more likely to buy right then and there.

  16. Lindsey Ekland says:

    I read only a few Regency romances and I always look for the Christmas themed anthology that comes out in October. Holiday themes are fun.

Leave a Reply

