Interview with Susan Palmquist…

Today my guest is author Susan Palmquist
Her ebook, A Sterling Affair, is available at The Wild Rose Press now!

asterlingaffair_w2025_680Here’s a little about the book…

Widow Deana Adams gets the shock of her life when she discovers a naked man in her living room. It’s an even bigger shock when she learns Sir Ian Ashby is over 200 years old. Wanting nothing more than to return him to his grave, Deana soon realizes that Sir Ian offers her a second chance at love.

You can learn more about A Sterling Affair at Susan’s website: http://susanpalmquist.com
And you can find an excerpt from the story by clicking here.

And now here’s my interview with Susan…

Welcome to my blog. Your book sounds really interesting, can you please tell us about it?
A Sterling Affair is the story of an American widow and a man from the Regency period who’s brought back from the dead by the widow’s children, no less.  She’s finally enjoying her independence and running her late husband’s company so falling in love is the last thing she wants. He, as you would expect, thinks women have no place in a man’s world. In his previous life he was a lady’s man and the last thing he wants is to fall in love. I like to think of it as a story about the second chances some people are given in life. 

What inspired the story?
I wanted to work on a story where the conflict would come from two people being from different times in history and about two people who are lucky enough to be given another opportunity to fall in love. 

What type of research, if any, did you do for the story?
Although it’s a contemporary, because the hero is from the Regency period and makes lots of references to that time, I read lots of books about that period. And I’m originally from London where the book is set so I didn’t need to do any research on the modern day stuff. 

Can you describe your hero in one word, the heroine?
Hero-headstrong, heroine-headstrong. 

While writing the book, what surprised you the most?
How easy it is to write a book when you create characters that seem to dictate to you, the writer, what they want to do next.

Who has inspired you as a writer?
My late father. When I told him I wanted to write he really encouraged me to do it. He even let me use an unused room in the house as my writing nook. 

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
Treat it like any other business. Stick with it. If you believe in yourself and have a manuscript that you really believe is your best work, keep sending it out. I can’t tell you how many times my three novels were sent out and rejected. If you’re getting some good feedback but you’re still not getting published, I can promise you, one day it will happen. 

What’s on your keeper’s shelf?
I know this sounds awful, but the only books I keep are the classics like Dickens, Joyce, Austen. The other books I usually donate to charity once I’m done reading them.

What’s next for you?
I took a long and unintentional break from fiction writing and I’m trying to make up for lost time. I prefer to work on one book at a time, but right now I’m reworking another paranormal romance, I’m about 10,000 words into a contemporary romance. And earlier this year I entered a first chapter and synopsis for a crime novel in the Harry Bowling prize. I was lucky enough to get long listed and the contest organizers encouraged me to finish the manuscript and start submitting it. Right now, I’m about five chapters into that.

Anything you’d like to ask my blog readers?
It’s always great for writers to get feedback on what readers like to see at the bookstores. Is there any type of book you’d like to read that’s not been published yet? Any story you’d like to be told.

Thanks Susan for the interview.
Readers, how about answering her question…

7 Responses to Interview with Susan Palmquist…

  1. Lea says:

    Hi Susan:

    Your book sounds wonderful and original. The cover art is excellent.

    I can’t think of any particular type of book that I would like to read. I try to vary the sub-genres in the romance novels I read and look for authors who write good strong characters woven into an exciting plot with of course that special HEA. It sounds as though you enjoy “genre hopping”, which is great I think. A crime novel with a romantic sub-plot might be interesting and I can’t say that I’ve read anything like that recently.

    All the best for the festive season.
    Regards

  2. Hello Lea,
    Happy to hear you like the cover art. Yes, romance and mystery are two of my favorite genres, I’m a big fan of some of the older romantic suspense novels. And yes, there does seem to be a lack of crime books and movies too with romantic sub-plots…maybe that’s something for me to think about when I write my next book. Happy Holidays and thanks for stopping by to check out my interview.

  3. Liza says:

    Susan, I really enjoyed your interview. I really like the cover art for your book. I read all types of books, so I’m not sure if there is any one type I’m looking for right now. I’ve been pretty big into paranormals lately, but I’m willing to give any genre a try.

  4. Hello Liza,
    Thank you. I’d love to hear what paranormals you’re reading. I’ve been looking for titles to add to my ‘to read’ list and would love some recommendations-Susan.

  5. caffey says:

    Hi Susan, nice to meet you! I do love Regency romances and putting in an immortal hero from Regency to the present, too sounds so unique! I shall be checking out your site. Did you ever get to visit to visit London? Do you find vising the setting of your books help you even more with research? What other theme or genes you’d yet like to write?

    I love reading a variety. I go from reading one genre to another after each read most of the time, unless my mood wants otherwise. I love reading my favorite themes as well as reading something different. I do especially love reading romances with a legend/myth within it or as the story.

  6. Hello Caffey,
    I love reading about the Regency period, and that’s why I decided to have the hero from that time. And I grew up in London so writing about the locales and customs was easy. The park where the hero and heroine take an afternoon stroll is the same park I used to visit when I was a child. Just writing about it brought back so many memories for me. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, all the best, Susan

  7. I love wordpress for having so many free, quality themes. But even with so many quality free wordpress themes there is still a market for paid themes, in fact, I’ve been selling wordpress themes for the past couple of years. If you’re considering creating wordpress themes to sell them I recommend you invest a lot of time making sure its a high quality theme that includes great design, social bookmarking, plugin integration and regular updates. Users download/buy a theme because they like how it looks, or because they see a good base for there project. It’s also important that the theme looks fine in all the latest browsers. Just my two cents on paid wordpress themes.

Leave a Reply

