More with Diana Cosby…

Diana’s back today and she is taking questions from you…

 

Questions about writing?

By Diana Cosby

 

            Vice a traditional blog, I thought it would be fun to have a day where readers and writers could ask questions about the craft of writing and/or creating the characters who make the story come to life.  I’m far from an expert, but am passionate about the craft.  If you have any questions about what it takes to start writing a novel, where to target your work, or how to research/submit your novel, please ask.  I’m a major plotter, love writing synopses, and believe we should follow our heart.  My motto, “Dreams are visions of what we can become.”  Only you set your limits.  I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,

Diana Cosby

www.dianacosby.com

 

his-woman-jpgLatest review for His Woman:

4 Stars – HOT
“Former lovers find each other again in book two of Cosby’s Scottish trilogy. She deftly combines historical accuracy, well-rounded characters and continuous action in this sweeping romance, which should keep readers engaged until the last page.”
Romantic Times

Order His Woman now!
Amazon.com
Amazon.com in Canada
Barnes & Noble

 

Do any of you have questions for Diana about writing or anything else?
Go ahead and ask away…

22 Responses to More with Diana Cosby…

  1. Dawn McClure says:

    Hi Diana! I’m reading your book right now and LOVING it.

    Okay, I have a few questions. :o) First, I’ve heard other writers speaking of ‘themes’ in their books, and that your book should have a theme. What is your take on this?

    Do you ever have writer’s block, and if so, what are your tips on getting over it?

    And my last question – when writing a trilogy, how do you keep up with the character’s individual personalities? Do you keep index cards, profile sheets?

    Thanks Diana. :o)

  2. Diana Cosby says:

    Dawn wrote: Hi Diana! I’m reading your book right now and LOVING it.

    ~Dawn, thank you so much for picking up Duncan and Isabel’s story! I hope you love their journey as much as I did writing it. 🙂 I hope your current release, Azazel, is doing wonderfully! ^5

    Okay, I have a few questions. :o) First, I’ve heard other writers speaking of ‘themes’ in their books, and that your book should have a theme. What is your take on this?

    ~I’ve heard of that as well. For me, my stories tend to be that not all is what it seems. I’m didn’t scientifically figure this out, or it wasn’t a planned event. I’ve always loved writing complex plots, but somewhere after my 8th manuscript, I had an epiphany. 🙂 Some authors go into a novel with a set theme. I think this is fabulous as when they write, they can play up0n their theme by including parallels within their scenes. Example, if their theme is family, a scene could show a mother and son arguing, which is a play on family being tested. Does this make sense?

    Do you ever have writer’s block, and if so, what are your tips on getting over it?

    ~Normally if I’m writing along and I hit blank thoughts, I’ve done something the hero or heroine would never do. My characters are wonderful about being stubborn and silent if I go out of character. So, what I do, and this is thanks to both Rebecca Sinclair and Alicia Rasley’s suggestions, I go back to where the story was flowing and edit up. Normally, this shows me where I wrote out of character.

    And my last question – when writing a trilogy, how do you keep up with the character’s individual personalities? Do you keep index cards, profile sheets?

    ~I used to do all of the character sheets, and I still do to some degree, but these days I have a computer file with all of the hero’s/heroine’s names on it and detail about them that are important. I label each file for the respective book and file it under editing notes. Then, as I edit the book, I call up the file to make sure all eye colors match, any specific details respective to character are the same and so on.

    I hope this helps. Thanks a ton for stopping by. 🙂 I wish you tons of sales, and that you and your family have a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  3. Dawn McClure says:

    I was re-reading my post…just to clarify – I didn’t mean that His Woman had to have a theme…LOL!! I meant that books in general should have a theme.

    Just in case anyone took it the wrong way. :o)

  4. Diana Cosby says:

    Dawn wrote: I was re-reading my post…just to clarify – I didn’t mean that His Woman had to have a theme…LOL!! I meant that books in general should have a theme.

    Just in case anyone took it the wrong way. :o)

    ~:) No, I didn’t take it the wrong way at all. Have a great day!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  5. Denny says:

    Hi Diana,

    I like your planning process – I may borrow it:)…

    But I do have a question about Goal, Motivation and Conflict.

    How do you incorporate believable conflict (that’s not trite) into your stories? I’m reading GMC by Debra Dixon, and the ‘conflict’ portion is the toughest part of writing I think. How do you get it in your stories without it becoming an afterthought or more coincidence than substance? Do you incorporate it while doing your plotting outline?

    Thanks,

    Denny

  6. Diana Cosby says:

    Denny wrote: I like your planning process – I may borrow it:)…

    ~:) Hey, if it helps, go for it.

    But I do have a question about Goal, Motivation and Conflict. How do you incorporate believable conflict (that’s not trite) into your stories? I’m reading GMC by Debra Dixon, and the ‘conflict’ portion is the toughest part of writing I think. How do you get it in your stories without it becoming an afterthought or more coincidence than substance? Do you incorporate it while doing your plotting outline?

    ~First, Debra Dixon’s book is wonderful. Though I love ultra complex plots, when it comes to conflict, I have to keep things simple. So, whatever the characters external goal is, during the black moment it has to be jeopardized/and-or, they lose it. Period. What makes a hero or heroine is the sacrifices they make, it’s their actions, or better, their actions during a crisis. We see pure character when they’re making decisions under duress.
    So, for discussion sake, in Romancing the Stone, Jack wanted the stone. During the black moment, he had to choose between the stone and the heroine. He chose her, sacrificing all of the plotting and planning he’d done to procure the stone with no hope of ever finding it again. Only after he saved her, does he dive into the water for the stone. But, his act of heroism, how he sacrificed all he’d worked to achieve, gave him hero status to the viewers. 🙂

    Conflict is achieved when characters are given choices that oppose their goal. When you add emotional connection, where the character begins to care, that messes up everything in their story goal, but conflict wise, ups the stakes.

    Did this help? Please don’t hesitate to ask more questions. Thanks for stopping by. Have a wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  7. Hey, Diana, here’s my question…

    Do you think it’s possible for a plotter to become a pantser or adopt pantser approaches, and vice versa – can a pantser successfully adopt plotter approaches to crafting a novel?

    I know you’re a rampant plotter, thus the question. Do you ever pants, and, if so, how does pantsing fit into your writing/creative process?

    Cindy

  8. P.S. Ironing pants doesn’t count.

  9. Diana Cosby says:

    Cindy Procter-King wrote: Hey, Diana, here’s my question…

    Do you think it’s possible for a plotter to become a pantser or adopt pantser approaches, and vice versa – can a pantser successfully adopt plotter approaches to crafting a novel?

    ~Yes, to a degree. I pantzed my first book. With each book, I plotted more and more, but I find that some books demand a different approach, and I’m forced to pantz a bit more, which is like a foreign language to me. *G*

    I know you’re a rampant plotter, thus the question. Do you ever pants, and, if so, how does pantsing fit into your writing/creative process?

    ~Though I love to plot, inevitably, events happen while writing the story that I don’t plan for. At those times, I pantz. Thank you very much for stopping by. Good question. 🙂

    P.S. Ironing pants doesn’t count.

    ~ROFLOL. I don’t iron. Thanks for stopping by. Have a safe and fabulous holiday, and I wish your sales for your latest release, Good Vibrations, Secrets 21, are a huge success!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  10. Hi Diana,
    Sorry I missed yesterday’s post, which was fab, btw. It’s always nice learning more about your writing journey.

    My question is what drew you to the medieval period of history? Had you always read books about that time frame? Or did a trip with castles spur your imagination? Or was it just something you always knee?

    Maggie
    http://www.maggietoussaint.com
    http://groups/yahoo.com/group/TheBookSpa/

  11. sorry I just realized I didn’t proof my comment. My last sentence should read, : … something you always knew

    Maggie, who has sawdust for brains this afternoon

  12. Fedora says:

    Diana, did you start your trilogy knowing that it was going to be part of a series, or did that sneak up on you after? How do you plan for the connections? Did you plot all three in advance? How are you keeping track of all the details? And do you think you’d ever try a longer series?

  13. Diana Cosby says:

    Maggie wrote: Sorry I missed yesterday’s post, which was fab, btw. It’s always nice learning more about your writing journey.

    ~Hey, I appreciate you stopping by today. With as much as you have going on in your life as well as your latest release, In for a Penny,” keeping you busy, I’m amazed you have time to post.

    My question is what drew you to the medieval period of history? Had you always read books about that time frame? Or did a trip with castles spur your imagination? Or was it just something you always knew?

    ~I was finishing up a viking trilogy when I watched the movie Braveheart. That was my inspiration. I loved the unrest, intrigue and gallent people of this intriguing era. It was that simple. 🙂
    Again, I appreciate you stopping by. I wish you and yours a wonderful holiday season – be safe!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  14. Diana Cosby says:

    Fedora wrote: Diana, did you start your trilogy knowing that it was going to be part of a series, or did that sneak up on you after?

    ~When I began His Captive, I knew I would do a story for each of the brothers. Not because it was a well planned event, but because that seems to be my tendency. I have unpublished, a Viking trilogy, a 4 book medieval series, and I’m plotting out a contemporary romantic suspense series with the rough draft of the first book finished. I’m also working on plotting a fantasy series that’s a mix of Star Wars, Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. 🙂

    How do you plan for the connections? Did you plot all three in advance?

    ~I normally don’t plot all three in advance. With my current books, as I now have an agent and want to sell the rest of the series, I have plotted out the three remaining books and sent them to my editor. I’m waiting to hear if she wants them.

    How are you keeping track of all the details?

    ~I have an edit page that I keep very detailed for each book. I have a main fact page that I draw from for my edit page.

    And do you think you’d ever try a longer series?

    ~Absolutely. I’ve created a 7th precinct in Virginia Beach that to me, has unending possibilities. I love writing romantic suspense, regardless of the era. If it’s full of danger, betrayal, intrigue and love, I’m there.
    Thank you very much for stopping by. I appreciate your time. I hope you and yours have a safe and enjoyable holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  15. Diana, hi!

    Do you have particular challenges when you start a new book? The plotting? The first pages? Anything?

    Light,
    Nancy
    La Vida Vampire
    Last Vampire Standing coming in May

  16. Diana Cosby says:

    Nancy Haddock wrote: Diana, hi! Do you have particular challenges when you start a new book? The plotting? The first pages? Anything?

    ~For me, the major challenges are finding a plot that totally excites me. Alot of times, I find historical facts that blow me away, so I use them within my novels. In His Captive, a major plot related issue happened – historically correct. Also, the story opening must be powerful, or I keep revising. And my last vice, words. I’m totally hung up on using the right words, especially at the end of sentences. The ending word gives impact to the tone you’re creating.
    Probably more than you wanted to know. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by. My wish is that your novel, La Vida Vampire, is selling out everywhere! ^5 I wish you a safe and wonderful holiday season! *Hugs*

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  17. Diana Cosby says:

    I’m heading off-line for the night, but before I go, I want to sincerely thank Jennifer for having me on her blog again. As always, I’ve had a blast. I’d also like to thank everyone who took time to stop by and say hi. I’ll check the blog tomorrow morning in case someone posts tonight. I wish you all a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  18. Helen says:

    Your books sound right up my alley I will be adding them to the must get list Diana, I love books that are part of a series because I always like to know what is happening to all of the other characters do you find it hard keeping track of things that happen if books are part of a series.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  19. Beth R says:

    The book sounds like a great read.
    Is there a genre of writing that you would like to try that you haven’t before?

  20. Diana Cosby says:

    Helen wrote: Your books sound right up my alley I will be adding them to the must get list Diana, I love books that are part of a series because I always like to know what is happening to all of the other characters do you find it hard keeping track of things that happen if books are part of a series.

    ~Thank you so much for trying out the MacGruder brothers. I’d love to hear what you think after you read them. I hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season. Take care and thanks for stopping by.

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

    Have Fun
    Helen

  21. Diana Cosby says:

    Beth wrote: The book sounds like a great read.
    Is there a genre of writing that you would like to try that you haven’t before?

    ~Good morning, Beth. As I read all over the board, I plan in the future to write in different genre’s as well, but regardless of what era I write, I’ll always write romantic suspense. I love intrigue, danger and romance mixed. I’ve created a 7th precinct in Virginia Beach and finished the rough draft of a romantic suspense thriller. So, one day that might make it to the shelves. I’ve also written a Viking trilogy and another four book medieval series. They haven’t sold – yet. And in the more distant future, I have a fantasy trilogy idea that’s a mix of Star Wars, Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings.
    I appreciate your dropping by. Take care, and I wish you and yours a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  22. The style of writing is quite familiar . Have you written guest posts for other blogs?

Leave a Reply

