Diana Cosby Guest Blogs…

First the winner of a copy of Friday’s Child is:

 Lois

Please send me your mailing addy!

 

***

 

Now, I am thrilled to welcome back to the blog, author Diana Cosby.  I loved Diana’s first release, His Captive and her latest, His Woman, is available now!

 

Diana wrote up a guest blog for today with a message that everyone, readers and writers, should find beneficial…

 

It’s Your Dream – Never Settle!

by Diana Cosby

 

            We all have dreams, and for some of us, they are to write a novel.  If this is your dream, I wish you the sincere best.  As you embark on your journey as a novelist, I’d like to state, it’s YOUR dream, never settle, and second, the only path to your dream is the one YOU envision, not anyone else.

            Define YOUR dream.  Is it to self-publish, e-publish, publish with a large New York house, another writing venue?  Regardless of what venue your choose, this is YOUR dream, not your friends, another writers, or anyone else.

            One of my biggest frustrations on my writing journey is when writers submit to houses that don’t fulfill their dream, then are dissatisfied.  I assure you, I understand the frustration faced in selling a novel.  I received over 100 rejections before I quit counting.  The bottom line is, it’s a writer’s responsibility to choose where to send their work.  If the publishing house doesn’t fulfill your idea of a dream, don’t send it there – it’s that simple.

Now, if the publishing house doesn’t fulfill your idea of a dream, but you perceive it as a step toward your ultimate goal and are HAPPY with your decision, then submit your work to the target house.  Looking back, if you’re not happy with your experience in working with that house, use this information as a building tool as you focus on your future.  Remember, writing is a huge learning curve. 

            Along the way, you’ll find people with good intent who tell/advise you what you should do.  Do you listen to their advice?  It’s always good to weigh your options, but the bottom line is, choose what you believe is the correct path for YOU.  Hey, it’s your manuscript, don’t submit it until you’ve done your homework and are thrilled about the house you’re targeting.

            I wish you the sincere best as you pursue a career in writing.  It’s a unique and tough challenge, but one of the most rewarding.  The people you meet, writers and readers alike, touch your life, and often, become your friends.  Adversity tests if we truly want our goals.  Nothing worth anything is ever easy.  Never give up – perseverance is the key.   My sincere best to each of you as you follow your heart.  Thank you for stopping by!

Diana Cosby

www.dianacosby.com

 

Bio:  U.S. Navy Chief Meteorologist/Oceanographer, Diana Cosby began her last tour in the military by re-enlisting on the back of a camel in Tangier, AfricaWith 31 moves and an incredible career, she decided to create characters who reflected the amazing cultures and people she’s met over the years. Her years of living in Europe influenced her decision to write in the medieval time frame, hence the MacGruder brothers were born.  Diana now lives in Texas with her husband who recently retired from the Navy after 24 years and their youngest son.  Her older son is serving in the Marine Corps, and her daughter is attending college to become an art therapist.

 

Diana’s second novel in the MacGruder series, “His Woman – Duncan’s story,” is available now!  Order His Woman at:
Amazon.com
B&N.com
Amazon.com in Canada

 

Here’s a blurb:

 

his-woman-jpgTrusting Her Was Unthinkable

Lady Isabel Adair is the last woman Sir Duncan MacGruder wants to see again, much less be obliged to save. Three years ago, Isabel broke their engagement to become the Earl of Frasyer’s mistress, shattering Duncan’s heart and hopes in one painful blow. But Duncan’s promise to Isabel’s dying brother compels him to rescue her from those determined to bring down Scottish rebel Sir William Wallace.

 

Resisting Her Was Impossible

Betraying the man she loved was the only way for Isabel to save her father, but every moment she spends with Duncan reminds her just how much she sacrificed. No one could blame him for despising her, yet Duncan’s misgivings cannot withstand a desire that has grown wilder with time. Now, on a perilous journey through Scotland, two wary lovers must confront both the enemies who will stop at nothing to hunt them down, and the secret legacy that threatens their passion and their lives…

 

Check back tomorrow for more with Diana…

26 Responses to Diana Cosby Guest Blogs…

  1. Marin Thomas says:

    Diana

    great advice! I agree with you that it doesn’t hurt to listen to others but in the end we have to stay true to ourselves and what we want…how we want to reach our writing goals.

    Picked up His Woman the other day…I remember you mentioning the latrine shaft scene–LOL!! It’s hilarious–great writing!

    Marin Thomas
    RT Top Pick The Cowboy and the Angel (Nov 08)
    http://www.marinthomas.com

  2. Debra Key Newhouse says:

    Diana – I love articles like the one you wrote. And I believe with all of my heart that if we persevere, we can do anything. Your book sounds very intriguing, and with having only two more books on my TBR pile that are of interest, I’m ordering yours. Looks….yummy!

    Debra

  3. Diana Cosby says:

    Debra wrote: Diana – I love articles like the one you wrote. And I believe with all of my heart that if we persevere, we can do anything. Your book sounds very intriguing, and with having only two more books on my TBR pile that are of interest, I’m ordering yours. Looks….yummy!

    Debra, thank you so much for stopping by. Believing in yourself and following your dream are important topics to me. Actually, a couple of my soap box issues. 🙂 Only we set our boundries. I ask, why should we? I firmly believe that dreams are visions of what we can become. It’s our actions that determine if we achieve that dream.

    Thank you for picking up His Woman. I love love love Dunan’s book. I hope you enjoy it as well. I wish you and yours a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  4. Danielle A. says:

    ohhh I love the cover 😀

  5. Diana Cosby says:

    Danielle A. wrote: ohhh I love the cover

    ~Thanks, Danielle. I was blessed with another amazing cover. 🙂 Oh yeah, that’s how I envision Duncan. Thank you for stopping by. Have a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  6. Lea says:

    Thank you for your inspirational words Diana, I was truly moved. I write for the joy of it and have never shared my stories, but maybe someday. Reading posts such as yours are encouraging actually.

    Your book sounds wonderful. The cover art is fabulous! All the very best. 🙂

  7. Diana Cosby says:

    Lea wrote: Thank you for your inspirational words Diana, I was truly moved. I write for the joy of it and have never shared my stories, but maybe someday. Reading posts such as yours are encouraging actually.

    ~Lea, thank you very much for stopping by and taking the time to post. Remember, only we can write the stories that fill our heart. The choice to share them with others, is again ours. What do you want? Follow your dreams. If you choose, you CAN make them become reality. I wish you the very best in whatever path you take.

    Your book sounds wonderful.

    ~Thank you so much. Duncan’s story is a book of my heart. Though he’s stubborn, I had a blast writing His Woman.

    The cover art is fabulous!

    ~It is, I was blessed with another amazing cover.

    All the very best.

    ~My sincere thanks. Please take care, believe in your dreams, and persevere. Have a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder

  8. Diana –

    Very inspiring posting! It really does get hard when the rejections pile up and it looks like we may never find our dreams. Glad you’re well on your way and how far we’ve come from our old days on Prodigy (SKPH76A!!)!

    BTW — all this time and I never knew you were an oceanographer?? OHMIGOSH! That was always a dream of mine…LOL!

    Terri

    http://www.terribrisbin.com

  9. Diana,
    Great words for a writer to live by. Thanks so much for the reminder. 🙂 Expecting your book to arrive any day now. Loved His Captive. And the covers aren’t so bad either.

    Jeanmarie

  10. Diana,
    Wonderful wisdom for all writers at all stages of writing. 🙂

    Mary J. Forbes
    Silhouette Special Edition
    And Baby Makes Four – Nov. 08

  11. Great post, as usual, Diana. And I totally agree. Writers have to take responsibilities for their choices. I chose to go the micro-press route for my romantic comedies, and, while my publisher for my erotic romance under a pen name is a step up the ladder from that (to a small publisher), I’ve yet to achieve my goal of selling to an NYC/big publisher. Some of my choices haven’t worked out; others were great steps. But, whichever I chose, I went in with my eyes open and learned from whatever mistakes occurred. Looking back with regret isn’t productive. We have to keep looking forward.

    Cindy

  12. Diana Cosby says:

    Terri Brisbin wrote: Diana –

    Very inspiring posting!

    ~Thank you so much, Terri. I truly believe we create our own destiny.

    It really does get hard when the rejections pile up and it looks like we may never find our dreams.

    ~Absolutely. The key is to persevere.

    Glad you’re well on your way and how far we’ve come from our old days on Prodigy (SKPH76A!!)!

    ~:) I’m so proud of you. You’re an inspiration to me. Regardless of the challenges, you follow your dreams. ^5

    BTW — all this time and I never knew you were an oceanographer?? OHMIGOSH! That was always a dream of mine…LOL!

    ~:) If you think about it, the only significant about difference between air and water is the density. In the ocean they have fronts, currents and so on.
    Thank you very much for taking the time to drop by. I wish you every success on your latest anthology, “One Candlelit Christmas.” Happy holidays!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  13. Diana Cosby says:

    Jeanmarie wrote: Diana,
    Great words for a writer to live by. Thanks so much for the reminder.

    ~Hi Jeanmarie, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I sincerely appreciate you dropping by.

    Expecting your book to arrive any day now. Loved His Captive. And the covers aren’t so bad either.
    ~:) I hope you enjoy His Woman as well. Oh yeah, I was blessed with amazing covers for both Scottish medievals. I wish you a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  14. Diana Cosby says:

    Mary Forbes wrote: Diana,
    Wonderful wisdom for all writers at all stages of writing.

    ~Thank you very much, Mary. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I appreciate you stopping by. Wishing you the best on your latest release, And Baby Makes Four! Have a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  15. Diana Cosby says:

    Cindy wrote: Great post, as usual, Diana. And I totally agree. Writers have to take responsibilities for their choices. I chose to go the micro-press route for my romantic comedies, and, while my publisher for my erotic romance under a pen name is a step up the ladder from that (to a small publisher), I’ve yet to achieve my goal of selling to an NYC/big publisher. Some of my choices haven’t worked out; others were great steps. But, whichever I chose, I went in with my eyes open and learned from whatever mistakes occurred. Looking back with regret isn’t productive. We have to keep looking forward.

    ~Absolutely. It’s all a learning curve. It’s each author’s responsibility to choose the path of their heart. Only they know if it’s the correct path for them. Other people’s opinions are just that.
    Thank you so much for stopping by. You’re a constant inspiration in my life. I wish your latest anthology, “Exes & Ahhs, Secrets 26,” every success! Happy holidays!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  16. Addison Fox says:

    Diana:

    Great post! And so very true – it’s an individual journey that we’re all on. Certainly one that we are lucky enough to walk with others who share our dream, but the journey is still our own.

    I can’t wait to pick up HIS WOMAN!! Duncan looks yummy! 🙂

    Addison

  17. Fedora says:

    Thanks for the inspiring post, Diana! And congrats on your successes! I haven’t read your books yet, but will be picking them up! I do love stories where the hero and heroine have history–this sounds like a great one!

  18. Diana Cosby says:

    Diana:

    Addison wrote: Great post! And so very true – it’s an individual journey that we’re all on.

    ~Absolutely. It’s the choices we make that create the path we take.

    Certainly one that we are lucky enough to walk with others who share our dream, but the journey is still our own.

    ~Exactly.

    I can’t wait to pick up HIS WOMAN!! Duncan looks yummy!

    ~:) I hope you enjoy Duncan and Isabel’s story. It was an amazing story to write. I appreciate you stopping by. Please take care and have a wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

    Addison

  19. Diana Cosby says:

    Fedora wrote: Thanks for the inspiring post, Diana!

    ~Fedora, thank you very much for taking the time to drop by and post.

    And congrats on your successes!

    ~My sincere thanks, but I assure you, my path has been filled with amazing people who have helped me along the way. They are the ones who I thank.

    I haven’t read your books yet, but will be picking them up! I do love stories where the hero and heroine have history–this sounds like a great one!

    ~I hope you enjoy His Captive and His Woman. I’d love to hear back from you after you’re finished. Again, thanks for stopping by. Please take care, and I wish you and yours a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  20. Caffey says:

    Diana, growing as the only deaf person in my family, I was totally lost and not even thinking of any dreams after HS. With little communication skills (I didn’t sign then) I didn’t know what I could do. I remember sitting in a room and just drawing on some papers while there was a presenter from a college. I didn’t think anything of it. Then there were people coming around to talk with students and one came to me and I said I wasn’t able to go and he was saying ‘sure you can’. And it was the first time I could dream and then even when family didn’t support me, I kept that dream and I did it. It was years ago that I too finished my masters degree and I still remember that person coming and talking to me and feeling more hope. So its too to realize your dreams, to not feel its not possible at all too! Thanks for letting me think about this again from your post. I can’t tell you how excited I am for HIS WOMAN out. Congrats!.

  21. Diana Cosby says:

    Caffey wrote: Diana, growing as the only deaf person in my family, I was totally lost and not even thinking of any dreams after HS. With little communication skills (I didn’t sign then) I didn’t know what I could do. I remember sitting in a room and just drawing on some papers while there was a presenter from a college. I didn’t think anything of it. Then there were people coming around to talk with students and one came to me and I said I wasn’t able to go and he was saying ’sure you can’. And it was the first time I could dream and then even when family didn’t support me, I kept that dream and I did it. It was years ago that I too finished my masters degree and I still remember that person coming and talking to me and feeling more hope. So its too to realize your dreams, to not feel its not possible at all too! Thanks for letting me think about this again from your post.

    ~Caffey, thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your journey. You are a person who has immense inner strength and truly an inspiration.

    I can’t tell you how excited I am for HIS WOMAN out. Congrats!.

    ~Thank you so much. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did writing it. Duncan and Isabel are very special people. Please take care and have a wonderful holiday season. *Hugs*

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  22. Great advice, Diana. I wish I would have read it four years ago . Onward and upward, I am making my way toward my dream and I will no longer settle for a publisher that won’t get my books onto the store shelves.

    I’ve ridden a camel too!

  23. Diana, hi! You have given terrific advice, right on target. I especially love the emphasis that each decision we make is a learning and building tool.

    I’m soooo excited about the release of HIS WOMAN! It will be my treat to myself this week!

    Light,
    Nancy Haddock
    La Vida Vampire

  24. Diana Cosby says:

    Sherry wrote: Great advice, Diana. I wish I would have read it four years ago . Onward and upward, I am making my way toward my dream and I will no longer settle for a publisher that won’t get my books onto the store shelves.

    ~Sherry, thank you for taking the time to post. Life is a learning curve. As I explain to my kids, at times, we all make decisions we wish we could go back and change, but if we learn from those experiences, than we’ve gained a valuable life lesson to grow from. It’s when we choose to ignore the lessons before us that we spin our wheels in frustration.

    I’ve ridden a camel too!

    ~:) Too cool. Wasn’t it a blast. I appreciate you stopping by. I wish you and yours a safe and wonderful holiday season!

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  25. Diana Cosby says:

    Nancy Haddock wrote: Diana, hi! You have given terrific advice, right on target. I especially love the emphasis that each decision we make is a learning and building tool.

    ~Hi Nancy, great seeing you here. And thanks for your comment on my post, it means alot. I believe we can do anything we want to – if we choose to. Clear goals are obtainable.

    I’m soooo excited about the release of HIS WOMAN! It will be my treat to myself this week!

    ~Thank you so much. I hope you love Duncan and Isabel’s story as much as I did writing it. I’d love to hear from you once you’re done. I hope sales of La Vida Vampire are soaring as well! I wish you and yours a safe and fabulous holiday season! *Hugs*

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

  26. Diana Cosby says:

    I’m heading off for the night, but I’ll check back in the morning to see and answer any more posts. I’d like to thank Jennifer for having me on her blog, and everyone who took time out of their busy lives to stop by and say hi. I sincerely wish you all the best.

    Diana Cosby
    http://www.dianacosby.com
    His Captive/Alexander MacGruder
    His Woman/December 08/Duncan MacGruder – 4 star Romantic Times review!

Leave a Reply

