The Heyer Days Party continues…

So the winner of a copy of Cotillion from yesterday’s post is:

Brandy W
Please send me your mailing addy so I can be sure that you receive your prize!

 

 

Our party continues today with another favorite of mine.

 

Regency Buck

 

I ran out of time (time keeps getting away from me as the holidays grow closer) and didn’t get the review for this one written for today, but I didn’t want to miss out on letting all of you know about it.  I will tell you that I loved it just as much as the other ones that I have spotlighted this week.  It is such a fun book that I thoroughly enjoyed.

 

regency-buckHere’s the backcover blurb:

 

An altogether unsatisfactory arrangement

After their father’s death, Miss Judith Taverner and her brother Peregrine travel to London to meet their guardian, Lord Worth, expecting an elderly gentleman. To their surprise and utter disgust, their guardian is not much older than they are, doesn’t want the office of guardian any more than they want him, and is determined to thwart all their interests and return them to the country.

 

With altogether too many complications

But when Miss Taverner and Peregrine begin to move in the highest social circles, Lord Worth cannot help but entangle himself with his adventuresome wards…

 

To learn more about the book click here.

 

I am giving away a copy of Regency Buck today to one lucky commenter.

 

To enter answer the following:

 

To many readers, the books of Georgette Heyer are comfort reads.
What are some of your comfort reads?

 

I’ll randomly draw the winner from the comments and announce it tomorrow.

Again, this giveaway is only open to US or Canada residents (sorry)

16 Responses to The Heyer Days Party continues…

  1. Lea says:

    Congratulations Brandy W. Enjoy! 🙂

    Hi Jennifer:

    My idea of a “comfort read”, is a romance story that grabs me from the first page and makes me feel good and satisfied when the H&H reach their HEA. There are a number of authors that fit this category for me.

    Thank you!
    Great Contest!!
    Lea

  2. Lois says:

    Julia Quinn’s How to Marry a Marquis. . . Marianne Stillings’s first and second books most especially. . . Amanda Quick, basically any. . . around now, one of my repeat reads for Christmas that is quite comforting is Vicki Lewis Thompson’s Tis the Season. . . and that’s all that’s coming to mind right now! 🙂

    Lois

  3. anne says:

    I have many wonderful comfort reads. Anything by Lauren Willig and Sarah Addison Allen are great and memorable. Thanks for this special giveaway.

  4. Crystal B. says:

    Romancing Mr. Bridgerton by Julia Quinn and The Raven Prince by Elizabeth Hoyt are comfort reads for me.

  5. Fedora says:

    Hmm… some of my comfort reads are just about anything by Jennifer Crusie, SEP, and Julia Quinn. In a comfort reading, I’m usually looking for not-too-heavy with a dose of funny 🙂

  6. Quilt Lady says:

    My comfort reads is Constance O’Banyon’s Rebel Temptress. It is a very old book and out of print and I have about wore out my copy. I still get it out from time to time and read it.

  7. Leslie says:

    My comfort reads are from Mary Balogh, Lisa Kleypas, and Jo Goodman. Old friends.

  8. Jane says:

    My comfort reads include any historical by Julie Garwood and Lisa Kleypas.

  9. cheryl c. says:

    Hi, Jennifer. There is an interesting article about Regency Buck on the Risky Regencies blog.

    Comfort reads? For me, Stef Ann Holm, Lisa Kleypas, Jennifer Crusie, Julia Quinn, Julie Garwood, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Kristan Higgins.

  10. limecello says:

    Oh this book sounds *very* interesting! And it reminds me of “Minx” by Julia Quinn… which I just re-read 😛
    Comfort reads? Shocking the Senator by Leanne Banks, a number of Lisa Kleypas, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Eloisa James, Christina Dodd… 🙂 That about covers them all, I think.

  11. Nathalie says:

    My comfort reads are Laura Lee Ghurke, Jill Mansell, Sophie Knisella and Georgette Heyer!

  12. Beth R says:

    The MacKenzie’s by Linda Howard I can re read them many many times and I love them still. Same with Elizabeth Lowell’s historicals.

  13. Maureen says:

    I have several comfort reads and one of them is Mrs. Drew Plays Her Hand by Carla Kelly.

  14. Danielle A. says:

    comfort reads: Marley & Me by Josh Grogan and pretty much anything by Nora Roberts, Jennifer Crusie, and Gena Showalter.

  15. Caffey says:

    Historicals are the comfort read genre for me as well. There’s so many! Julianne Maclean, Julia London, Christina Dodd, Sara Bennett! Too especially a medieval setting or regency. These I go to pick up to read and know they will let me go with whatever and be with the story and good feelings!

  16. Pam P says:

    Congrats, Brandy!

    For comfort reads it might be the older Garwoods or Jayne Krentz’s earlier contemps.

Leave a Reply

