Heyer Days Continues…

So the winner of a copy of Faro’s Daughter from yesterday’s post is…

 Stacie Mc

 

Please send me your mailing address so you can receive your book.

 

Our Heyer Days Party continues today with a look at…

 

The Reluctant Widow

 

reluctantwidowIn this book, Elinor Rochdale boards the wrong coach and finds herself at the estate of Eustace Cheviot rather than her employer’s home.  Eustace’s cousin, Mr. Ned Carlyon persuades Elinor to wed the dying Eustace.  Elinor soon finds herself a wealthy widow, but things grow complicated as Elinor finds herself in the middle of an international espionage ring and mystery surrounds the family estate.

 

Another wonderful Heyer book, The Reluctant Widow is filled with colorful characters, humor, and intrigue.  Elinor is a witty and charming character that I adored.  I truly enjoy the heroines of Ms. Heyer’s novels and Elinor is among my favorites. 

 

I enjoyed reading as the story unfolded and we discovered something new with each page.  With The Reluctant Widow, Ms. Heyer once again demonstrates her wit and attention to detail with this delightful book.

 

Unlike yesterday’s book, this one is more of a mystery.  However, it is just as enjoyable and easy to lose oneself in as you enter this fascinating world.

 

 

Click here to learn more about this book and to order your own copy.

 

To enter to win a copy of this book just leave a comment below answering the following question:

 

Many of you mentioned being fans of historicals yesterday.  Who are some of your favorite historical authors?

 

Leave a comment and I’ll randomly draw the winner and announce it tomorrow when I post about another Heyer book.

Once again, this contest is open only to residents in US and Canada (sorry)

16 Responses to Heyer Days Continues…

  1. Jane says:

    My favorite historical authors are Julie Garwood, Jacquie D’Alessandro, Lisa Kleypas, Loretta Chase, Gaelen Foley and Stephanie Laurens.

    Congrats, Stacie.

  2. Lea says:

    I haven’t read many historicals lately Jennifer, but I enjoyed Julie Garwood’s books many years ago. I also read a book by Loretta Chase recently that was very good.

    Thank you
    Have a great day!

  3. Brandy W says:

    I’m a simple person who was introduced to romance through the historical genre from my friend so my favs are the ones she let me read; Suzanne Enoch, Julia Quinn and Lisa Kleypas.

    Brandy

  4. Leslie says:

    Some of my favorite historical authors are Jo Goodman, Lisa Kleypas, Mary Balogh, Deanna Raybourn, Elizabeth Hoyt and Pamela Clare.

  5. anne says:

    My favorite historical authors are Sandra Worth, Phillippa Gregory, Claudia Dain, Deanna Raybourn,and Leslie Dicken. Thanks for this giveaway.

  6. Crystal B. says:

    My favorite historical authors are Julia Quinn, Lisa Kleypas, Kat Martin, Elizabeth Hoyt, Julianne Maclean, and Karen Hawkins.

  7. Teresa W says:

    My favorite Historical author is Elizabeth Hoyt!

  8. Quilt Lady says:

    My favorite historical authors are Constance O’Banyon, Elizabeth Hoyt, Shari Anton, Nora Robarts, Julia Quinn, Kat Martin, I could go on and on. Constance O’Banyon is the one that got me started reading. I have been reading her books sense back in the early 80’s and I still buy everyone she come out with, which is about one or two a year. I have all of her books.

  9. Lois says:

    I’m definitely going to be repeating some already mentioned — Lisa Kleypas, Julia Quinn, Jacquie D’Alessandro, Victoria Alexander, Candice Hern, Sabrina Jeffries as a short list. . . but also too, the original Jane Austen! 🙂

    Lois

  10. RobynL says:

    Candace Hern
    Elizabeth Hoyt are two that I can think of at this moment.

  11. Maureen says:

    Some of my favorites are: Loretta Chase, Lisa Kleypas, Carla Kelly, Cheryl St. John, Liz Carlyle.

  12. Fedora says:

    Yep, ditto on lots of the favorites–Loretta Chase, Julia Quinn, Kleypas, Hoyt, and for Western historicals, Tamera Alexander and Stacey Kayne.

  13. limecello says:

    Favorite historical author? Lisa Kleypas. Christina Dodd. Some [older] Stephanie Laurens.
    I know there’s more… OH! Duh, Eloisa James. Erm, and I’ve just begun reading some Joanne Bourne books.

  14. Danielle A. says:

    I’m gonna have to go with the majority and say…

    Lisa Kleypas
    Julia Quinn
    Nora Roberts

    🙂

  15. Pam P says:

    I read almost all the Heyers way back when, then they all got lost in a move, been so long time for re-reads and I had to buy a few I remembered as my favorites.

    I’m a big historical fan so have lots of favorites, among them, most autobuys, a few – Connie Brockway (and she’s got a new one coming out very soon, yay), Loretta Chase, Lisa Kleypas, Madeline Hunter, Jo Beverley, Mary Balogh, Julia Quinn, Carla Kelly and those older Julie Garwoods, and recently Jo Goodman, Joanna Bourne, and Elizabeth Hoyt.

  16. Caffey says:

    I love this because I get to check out more here that I haven’t read from those you all list!! Mine are:
    (alot of the above, plus)
    Julianne MacLean, Stephanie Laurens, Sara Bennett, Jillian Hunter, Anne Herries, Mary Balogh, Elizabeth Holt, Jennifer Ashley, Candace Camp, Hannah Howell, Lynn Kurland, Paula Quinn, Kathie Caskie, Catherine Kean, Jane Feather, Laura Lee Gurkhe, Linda Broday, Adele Ashworth, Jane Goodger, Hope Tarr, Brenda Joyce, Victoria Dahl, Terri Brisban, Victoria Alexander (Oh i got to stop, LOL)

    I miss these and hope they write again soon: Karyn Monk, Maggie Osborne, Cheryl Holt, Tina St.John (love her vamps, but still miss her historicals), Julie Beard, there are more, but I thought of them when I was making my list.

    And would love to be in the contest for THE RELUCTANT WIDOW

Leave a Reply

