Heyer Days and Giveaways!

So today is the first day of “Heyer Days,” my blog party celebrating the works of a talented romance author whose work has not only provided enjoyment for readers, but has also inspired many writers over the years…Georgette Heyer.

 

Ms. Heyer authored over 50 books during her lifetime and has received much praise for her witty writing, fabulous characters, detail to the time periods and more.  Sourcebooks, Inc. has been re-releasing some of these wonderful books so that people can continue to read and discover why this author is considered the Queen of Regency Romance.

 

This week I will be spotlighting a few of these lovely books.
Each day from Dec. 1-5, I’ll be blogging about a different Georgette Heyer book and giving a copy of that book away courtesy of Sourcebooks, Inc.


So be sure to check back each day this week for your chance to discover why Georgette Heyer is a favorite of many romance readers and writers today!

 

To learn more about Georgette Heyer and her books click here…and don’t forget to read below for the first giveaway.

 

***

 

Up first in my Heyer Days party is…

 

Faro’s Daughter

 

faroIn this charming Regency romance, Max Ravenscar has been asked by his aunt to intervene when his young cousin falls for Deborah Grantham, whose aunt owns a popular and elegant gambling house.  Max heads to the gaming house and finds himself intrigued by the lovely young woman despite his belief that she is a fortunehunter.  When he realizes that his cousin’s interest in Deb is serious, he will do all that he can to prevent the match including bribery.  His offer enrages Deb who sets out to make Max see that she can’t be bought.

 

This book features quite a few interesting characters and a fascinating story.  I loved the character of Deb who finds herself in quite the predicament as she fends off advances and proposals from two suitors while also dealing with Max.  She also has to find a way to help her aunt who has found herself with quite a few debts.  There is more to Deb than meets the eye and I enjoyed each new discovery about her.

 

The book is also a fine example of how well Ms. Heyer illustrates the Regency life in her work.  With its charming characters and attention to detail, Faro’s Daughter is a wonderful tale.

  

To learn more about Faro’s Daughter and order your own copy click here.


Today I’ll be giving away a copy of Faro’s Daughter to one lucky commenter.

This contest is only open to residents in the US and Canada.
To enter, just leave a comment below letting me know that you’d like to be entered to win it and I’ll randomly draw and announce the winner tomorrow when I spotlight and give away another Heyer book.

20 Responses to Heyer Days and Giveaways!

  1. Lea says:

    Good Morning Jennifer:

    I would love to be entered in the contest! Ms. Heyer’s book does sound delightful!

    Thank you. 🙂

  2. Brandy W says:

    Morning. I would love to be entered in the contest. I haven’t read Georgette Heyer before and would love the chance to.

  3. Maureen says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    I have read and enjoyed Georgette Heyer stories but would love to win this one since I have never read it.

  4. azteclady says:

    Hi, Jennifer!

    You know, I’ve read only a few of Ms Heyer’s books, and Faro’s Daughter is not among them. I would really love to get it.

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  5. Lois says:

    I’d love to be added too — me, I only have read one, and that was the Great Sophy. And quite liked it too! 🙂 And I sure am a Regency addict, but it’s just always hard to figure out what to go with next, you know? LOL 🙂

    Lois

  6. MsValerie says:

    Hi, Jennifer…Great idea!

    I just realized that my mother is/was a romance reader! She used to suck up Georgette Heyer novels and always tried to get me to read them. Thanks for stirring my memories.

    Truly…this is a clever and interesting theme. WTG!

  7. Crystal B. says:

    Sounds great. I would love to read this book.

  8. Quilt Lady says:

    I would love to be entered into this contest. I have heard so much about Ms. Heyer’s books. I love books written in this time period.

  9. Fedora says:

    Hi, Jennifer! I haven’t read Heyer before, although I have a couple on the TBR. Thanks for the contest–I’d love to be included 🙂

  10. RobynL says:

    I, too, haven’t read Georgette Heyer yet but would love to. Thanks so much for this contest and the opportunity to win.

  11. Teresa W says:

    Wow, can’t believe I haven’t read anything by this author who has so many books. Count me in!

  12. anne says:

    What a delightful book to giveaway. thanks for this chance.

  13. Stacie Mc says:

    I haven’t read this Heyer since I was a teen. I’d love to win and reread it.

  14. Jane says:

    I’m another who hasn’t read Georgette Heyer. Thanks for entering me.

  15. limecello says:

    Ooo I’ve never read a Heyer book :X but the premise sounds so great! I’ve been re-reading a lot of historical romances recently, and definitely am enjoying them 😀

  16. Danielle A. says:

    please enter me in the contest!

  17. cheryl c. says:

    I love historical romances, but I am embarrassed to say that I have never read any by Georgette Heyer! I simply must add a book or 2 of hers to my pile.

  18. Leslie says:

    Hi Jennifer ~ I haven’t read any of Heyer’s books and would love to win this one. Thanks!

  19. Greta says:

    Hi Jennifer – I haven’t read any books by Georgette Heyer. I’m open to new authors & genre’s so please enter me.

  20. Caffey says:

    Don’t enter me in this one, but I’m looking forward to too discussing the others!!!! I have FARGO’S DAUGHTER and its a beautiful cover! I’m reading now BLACK SHEEP and I’m so totally lost into the book, that I kept smiling through reading it. It feels so great to read hers again. I only read a couple, and I don’t know which, when I was a teen, so this is great that they put them out in the trade size, so much easier to read.! Best of luck all. I’m looking forward to discussing more of hers with you on the blog here!

Leave a Reply

