Special Guest Blogger…Anya Bast

Today we have a very special guest…Anya Bast!
Anya’s book, The Chosen Sin was selected by blog readers as November’s Book-of-the-Month and I invited Anya here to the blog to tell you a little about herself and her book…

***

Hi all! In case you don’t know me, I’ll introduce myself.

I am the mother to one gorgeous little girl who is the absolute light of my life. I’m a wife. I’m an animal lover. All the animals in the neighborhood have us marked on their map as SUCKER. We have eight cats, one dog and two rabbits, all but a couple of them rescues. It’s a good thing we live in the country.

After they meet me, most people can’t believe I write what I write. I come off as very nice and sweet (well, I think I actually AM nice and sweet. LOL) and some of my fiction can be quite hot. My poetry professor in college would repeatedly say, after he read my poems, that I had a rich inner life. I would say that’s true.  Readers often say of my Elemental Witches series that there’s nothing else on the market like it. It’s original and different. I reply that it’s my bizarre brain that makes it so. 😉

I’m the author of over twenty eight works of fiction, mostly all spicy (or erotic) paranormal romance. I write for Ellora’s Cave, Harlequin Spice, Berkley Sensation & Heat and Samhain. Most recently I’ve contracted a dark fantasy short story with Morrigan Books. 

I’ve come a long way from when I wrote my first book at the age of twenty one. It was a bumpy ride in places and my successes have been hard earned. All in all, I’m just so very grateful I can do the one thing I love most – write. I thank you, the readers, for that.

smaller-chosen-sinThe Chosen Sin is a standalone novel, not a part of a series. It was simply a concept, (really, a couple of them), I wanted to explore, a one-off sort of thing.

What would happen if a person with a taste for revenge discovered she shared a thread of darkness with her enemy? Just to make it more interesting, I wanted her to have a bias against vampires and yet be irresistibly compelled to become one of them to pursue her ultimate goal of vengeance.

That person is the heroine of The Chosen Sin, Daria. She has a reason to mistrust the Chosen since one of them, Christopher Sante, used her in a ploy to protect his blood mother. Christopher ended up killing Daria’s best friend, a thing she blames herself for, and an event that has turned her heart hard.

When the novel opens it is many years past this transforming event in Daria’s life, but she’s never really gotten past it. She’s tougher than she used to be, has built up walls around herself in an effort to prevent something like it from ever happening again. She has a misplaced generalized bias against all Chosen and suffers from much deep-seated guilt. She desperately wants revenge against Christopher Sante, so when the opportunity presents itself, she leaps toward it.

The catch is that she must become Chosen to pursue it.

The other catch is that her primary partner is Alejandro Martinez, a man whom she spent a night with after Christopher Sante had so badly betrayed her. Alejandro is dangerous to her in a couple different ways. Number one, he’s a distraction. Number two, he’s the only man Daria thinks she could fall in love with and she doesn’t want that anymore.

Which brings us to the ultimate catch. 🙂

Christopher Sante dwells in a tightly controlled and guarded compound. Only those Sante trusts are allowed in. Christopher knows and trusts Alejandro, but Daria in her undercover disguise is unknown to him. So Alejandro and Daria must enter the compound under the guise of a mated pair. That means that as soon they cross the threshold, Daria is Alejandro’s completely.

Alejandro has always cared about Daria and although she is much different—much changed—from the person he knew so many years ago, he still cares deeply for her. That emotion only grows stronger the more time he spends with her and there’s no way he’ll allow her to push him away. He’s decided he wants her and nothing will stand in the way of his pursuit.

But, of course, the biggest roadblock to their happiness is Daria, herself, who is fighting inner demons. She must battle herself as much as anyone else—fight to grow past that event in her past, learn to forgive herself, and to allow herself to love again.

I hope you all enjoy(ed) The Chosen Sin. As ever, I would love to hear your comments about the book – anyabast (at) gmail.com.

I’m giving away a copy of the book today, too. Go ahead and make a comment, any comment, and you’ll be entered.  I’ll be around today answering any questions you might have too. So, shoot. 😉

***

Thanks Anya for being my guest today!
Readers, do you have a question or comment for Anya?

As she mentioned, one lucky winner will receive a copy of The Chosen Sin!
A winner will be chosen at random from the comments and announced Sunday, Nov. 23, so be sure to return to see if you won!

And for those of you interested, I’ll be blogging about the Book-of-the-Month, The Chosen Sin, next Friday (Nov. 28). 
On that day, I’ll post my thoughts about the book and invite others to share theirs.
And the poll for December’s Book-of-the-Month ends this Sunday so don’t forget to vote!

40 Responses to Special Guest Blogger…Anya Bast

  1. Helen says:

    Anya
    This book sounds like it is full of suspense and intrigue very interesting

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. Sara L says:

    Sounds like a great,and a bit dark, book! Would love to read it 😛

  3. Crystal Dee says:

    Can’t wait to read “The Chosen Sin”. Winning it would be nice.

  4. I’ve recently been seeing a lot of Anya Bast’s novels at the Barnes and Nobles that I regularly visit to buy new books. The covers have always attracted my attention but reading this post today has made me want to buy her books espcially “The Chosen Sin” which sounds very good.

  5. azteclady says:

    Welcome, Anya!

    (Please don’t enter me in the drawing, I have to book! *glee* )

  6. Danielle says:

    Hello Anya!

    Your book sounds great! I’m adding it to my wishlist right now! lol

  7. Amy S. says:

    The Chosen Sin sounds great!

  8. Quilt Lady says:

    This sounds like a great read. Maybe a little on the dark side.

  9. Fedora says:

    Ooh, Anya, this sounds really good. Alejandro sounds like quite a hero–devoted and focused! And I’m terribly curious to learn more about Daria and her plan for revenge. I tend to avoid vamps because I’m a wimp, but sometimes the stories are just so interesting, it’s really hard to resist! Thanks a lot, Anya! ;p

  10. Crystal B. says:

    Hi Anya. The Chosen Sin sounds good. I love the cover.

  11. limecello says:

    Ahh – Anya! Thanks for visiting with us today! I’ve been dying to get my hands on a copy! :X Have no time to “chat” am in Seattle for a conv/conf- but congrats on the new book!

  12. Deidre says:

    Hi Anya! What kinds of plans do you have for the holidays and do you still make time for writing during them?

    Deidre

  13. Anya Bast says:

    Hi Deidre — I have a small family, so we’re just planning a low key Christmas this year. That makes me happy since last year we went to Europe to spend it with my husband’s family and it was CHAOTIC. Quiet is good.

    I do plan to write over the Holidays, yes. My deadlines force me to do so. That’s okay, though, because I love it. 🙂

    Thanks for all the comments, all!!!

  14. Paige says:

    Hi Anya!! Saw your post on Twitter. Had to come try for a chance at your book. I’m a fan!!! Can’t wait to read this one!!
    Paige 🙂

  15. Teresa W says:

    I’ve been hearing alot about this one, sounds like my kind of read!

  16. Christine says:

    Well I saw the blurb for the book and it peaked my interest. So it’s on my to be read list.

  17. Lea says:

    Hi Anya:

    Wonderful post! I have “The Chosen Sin”, in my TBR and am very much looking forward to the read. I am devoted animal lover too, 3 dogs 1 cat living with us. No rabbits though (the cat and my German Shepherd would eat a bunny)!

    Best Regards

  18. Anya!

    I loved your Elemental Witches series and I’m so excited about the next one coming out in just a few months!

    Anyhow, I’d love to read this new addition to your book list. I’m a huge vampire fan and your writing skill means that this book will be very good.

    Much success to you and I hope to read this book soon!

  19. Anya Bast says:

    Hi Paige — Thank you so much! 🙂

    Lea — My cats leave them alone, amazingly. They share our screened in porch on nice days. The dog probably wouldn’t, though. I’m not going to test it, that’s for sure!

    Jessica — Oh, thank you so much. I hope you enjoy Witch Heart!

    Thanks so much for the kind comments, all! 🙂

  20. blackroze37 says:

    been eyeing that book cover for a while :)))
    wowsa , where is men like that at, sure aint close to where i live lol, its sounds like its a really interesting story!

  21. Karin says:

    Anya, I’ve been wanting this book since I read about it a while ago. The characters sound intriguing.

    When you started writing, were you immediately drawn to the paranormal genre? What is it about the genre that drew you?

  22. Anya Bast says:

    Hi Karin — Yes, it’s always been paranormal for me. I love the ability to build new worlds and allow my imagination to go in any direction it wants. There’s so much freedom in writing in this sub genre.

    I was writing paranormal before paranormal was cool (or even published as a sub genre in romance) I’m just glad it finally caught on! 🙂

    Thanks so much, blackroze!

  23. Pam P says:

    Love that cover, Anya, and the excerpts; I like that your heroine is drawn to the dark side.

  24. Julie says:

    I have been drooling over this cover for weeks now and it sounds totally awesome!

  25. ThatBrunette says:

    Anya, I haven’t chatted with you in ages! Good to see you here.

    Why should sweet and nice be separate from having a good time in bed? Or, in your case, in books in bed? Okay, the topic of your latest book isn’t all flowers and butterflies… 🙂

  26. Sue A. says:

    The book sound sinfully good!

    The seven deadly sins are as follows: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride.

    So Anya what would be your sin of choice?

  27. Anya Bast says:

    Sue — It depends on the moment. 🙂 Or, to quote a favorite movie, “I’m a fan of all seven.” Ten points if you can guess where it’s from. *g*

    Thatbrunette — It’s true it has been a while. Nice to see you here.

    Thanks, Julie and Pam. 🙂

  28. Jennifer Y says:

    OOOH…was it Serenity? Didn’t Mal say it? I lubs Firefly.

  29. Anya Bast says:

    Yep, Serenity! I’m a huge Firefly fan. 🙂

  30. Terri W. says:

    Welcome Anya,

    I love reading your books!

    I would love to win a copy of “The Chosen Sin.”

    Thanks!

  31. Jennifer Y says:

    I love Firefly as well…I wish it was still on *sigh* Thank goodness for TV-on-DVD.

  32. Pamk says:

    love the cover and am looking forward to reading this.

  33. catie says:

    I didn’t realize THE CHOSEN SIN was a stand alone Anya. I’m looking forward to reading it though. It’s a fantastic concept and I love your writing!

  34. Dianna F says:

    Hello Anya, I will be so happy to get a paycheck soon so i can finally go out and get The Chosen Sin. I have enjoyed your writing and love reading your blog. Cant wait for Jan either, LMAO.

  35. I have this one on my wishlist so please sign me up for a chance to win it. Sounds great and I’m dying to read it.
    As for a question: I’m wondering if your the one and only writer in the family?

  36. Anya Bast says:

    Hi LadyVampire… Yep. I’m the only one. I have a couple family members who say they want to write a novel and have made attempts, but have never followed through.

    Thanks Terri, Pam, Catie & Dianna!

  37. Brandy W says:

    Hello Anya, the books sounds so good. It must admit that it was the cover that grabbed my attention when I was browsing around looking for new books to buy. I haven’t gotten this yet but will definitely get it one way or another. I will be checking out your books in the near future.

  38. Cheryl McInnis says:

    I’m another one who can’t wait for Witch Heart to be released, I’m getting ready to re-read Witch Fire and Witch Blood to refresh my memory! Do you have any plans to start another series?

  39. Raonaid says:

    Anya I’ve enjoyed your witch books immensely. I haven’t really had the chance to try your others.

  40. Anya says:

    Brandy — Thank you! Yes, the cover faeries have been good to me. 🙂

    Cheryl — I’m writing a new series right now! It’s the same mix of urban fantasy and romance as my Elemental Witches series, but based on fae legend. I’m very excited about it.

    Raonoid — Thank you so much. 🙂

    Sorry it took me so long to reply. I didn’t realize there were more comments here!

Leave a Reply

