Shelley Munro Guest Blogs…

Today’s guest is the lovely Shelley Munro!

Shelley’s latest ebook release, Fringe Benefits, is available now!

I recently read this very hot story and loved it (look for my review here on the blog next week).


Shelley’s here today to tell us a little about the story and about summer in
New Zealand

 

***

 

Hot Stuff with Shelley Munro

 

My recent release, Fringe Benefits started like a fire. From a small spark, it roared to life, full of heat and color.

 

I started with the idea of “hot”.

A New Zealand summer, I thought. Perfect.

 

For me, summer starts in New Zealand when the clocks go forward an hour in October and we slip into daylight saving time. December is the time when exams end, schools break up for summer and businesses wind down the year with staff Christmas parties. The pohutakawa trees (the trees early settlers called our NZ Christmas tree) come into bloom, their vibrant red flowers looking stunning around Auckland harbor.

Photobucket

There’s a perception among people living overseas that New Zealanders and Australians spend Christmas at the beach. While that might be true of some people, I’ve never had a single Christmas dinner at the beach. Many New Zealanders come from an English background where it’s traditional to have roast turkey, hot vegetables plus plum pudding and brandy cream. I remember eating meals like this when I was a kid. My grandmother and mother would cook in a hot kitchen and we’d eat the hot meal while hiding out from the sun. These days we’re more likely to have a barbeque at home with steaks, fish and salads.

 

The weather at Christmas time is unpredictable. It can be very hot or we can have humid weather with gale force winds and rain. It’s the time when people take time off work and can spend an entire two weeks trapped inside a caravan, tent or bach (holiday home) while the rain pours down outside.

 

Kids return to school at the end of January/beginning of February, which I think is the start of the best and most settled summer weather. It’s the best time to visit New Zealand since everyone is back at work. February has long days full of bright sunshine and crisp heat. It was this time of the year I chose to set Fringe Benefits.

Photobucket

I pulled out memories of childhood holidays and the days when we spent hours swimming in the river at our favorite waterhole. Shane, Kelvin and Marie from Fringe Benefits face the heat by taking regular dips in the river and spending their free time lounging on the riverbank. Of course, the setting was a great way to heat up the romance, with characters stripping down to fringbenefits200x300swimwear and less.

 

Here’s the blurb:

 

Flatmates. Best friends. Casual lovers.

Life’s good—a friends-with-benefits deal works perfectly with her male flatmates, but Marie Wright secretly craves more. A hot threesome. Erotic pleasure. Silken touches from both Shane and Kelvin. One hot summer day the sensual tension explodes between the three. For Marie each caress is a slice of ecstasy. It’s seductive magic, and she’s bewitched. Momentary pleasure isn’t enough. She wants a future with her lovers—a permanent ménage a trois—but if she makes a wrong move, she might irreparably destroy their friendship and lose everything.

 

If you’d like to read an excerpt of Fringe Benefits visit my website:  http://www.shelleymunro.com/books/fringe-benefits

Buy your copy from Ellora’s Cave today.

 

***

 

Thank you, Shelley for sharing that with us!

Readers, as Shelley mentioned you can get your own copy of Fringe Benefits at Ellora’s Cave.

Shelley also donated a download of Fringe Benefits to be given away to one lucky winner who leaves a comment on today’s post!

I’ll randomly choose the winner from the comments below and announce it on Sunday Nov. 23!

Remember to read the contest rules (can be found in the sidebar) before entering and to return to see if you are a winner!

30 Responses to Shelley Munro Guest Blogs…

  1. Yvonne says:

    Hope your Holidays are fantastic! Thanks for sharing, never realized. Your book looks great, have it on my to buy list.

  2. Greta says:

    I just wanted to come by and say hi Shelly. This book looks good, I’m adding it to my TBB list. I love menage stories. I ca’t wait to get this one.

  3. angie says:

    great pictures

    and great excerpt

  4. Cara says:

    I am really looking foward to reading Fringe Benefits. It sounds like a wonderful read!

  5. Helen says:

    Shelly
    I live in Australia so I too have a hot Christmas and we still do the traditional hot lunch with all the trimmings but one day I would love to have a white Christmas.
    The book sounds good

    Have Fun
    Helen

  6. Fedora says:

    Ooh, what great photos! And how funny, the thought of Christmas on the beach! Maybe one year you could, Shelley, just for laughs! 🙂

  7. MsValerie says:

    Wow…wonderful pictures! I definitely envy you. I grew up sailing on the Chesapeake Bay in Maryland and Virginia, but now live in landlocked Indiana (sigh). The leap off the bow brought back some great memories of bikini days.

    Oh yeah…Fringe Benefits sounds great!

  8. Candice says:

    oh wow great post! and that excerpt is HOT! But so are all of Shelley’s books 🙂

  9. Hollie says:

    Hi Shelley, I love the sound of warm weather we have snow warnings starting tomorrow. I’m going to go to bed and dream about your sun

    Hugs
    Hollie
    xxx

  10. Katie Bug says:

    This book sounds wonderful! I live in Florida and every once in a while we get a christmas where you can wear shorts and flip flops. I miss having a white christmas sometimes.

  11. N.J. Walters says:

    Beautiful pictures, Shelley. I can’t imagine it being that hot at Christmas time.

    And congrats on the release of Fringe Benefits!

  12. Liza says:

    Fringe Benefits sounds really great! I can’t imagine hot weather for Christmas. I’m in Tennessee, and we might not get snow, but it normally is really cold.

  13. Yvonne – thanks! I confess I’m looking forward to the warmer weather. I can’t wait to get my shorts out of the wardrobe.

    Greta – thanks 🙂 I’m a huge fan of meange a trois stories as well. There are some really good ones around. I did a Thursday Thirteen last week listing some of my favorites. Here’s the link:
    http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog/2008/11/13/hot-spicy-threesomes/

  14. Hi Angie – thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Cara – thank you. I had lots of fun writing this story.

    Helen – I know lots of people do still have hot meals. It’s part of the tradition. My MIL would have a hot dinner if we let her, but all the family put their collective feet down and squashed the idea. I’d love a white Christmas one day, too.

  15. Fedora – actually that’s not a bad idea. I should try Christmas at the beach one year. 🙂

    Ms. Valerie – I can’t imagine living in a landlocked place. No matter where we live in NZ, we’re close to the sea. I bike every day around an estuary and inlet. Nothing beats the sea air to wake me up! 🙂

  16. Candice – I’m glad you enjoyed the excerpt. It’s true that I’m becoming very naughty. None of the people I went to school with would believe it. I was always so quiet and well-behaved. 😉

    Hollie – When we lived in London we had snow a couple of times. It’s pretty on Christmas cards and to play in for a while. I don’t think I could cope with it every winter. It’s great to see you here.

    Katie Bug – I’ve never visited Florida. I hope to get there one day. It seems plain wrong to have Christmas carols playing on the radio when they’re about snow and hot fires, especially when it’s so hot outside. We have quite a few NZ carols that I enjoy. They seem more appropriate!

  17. Hi NJ! Thanks. The pohutukawas look really pretty when they come into flower. Some are just starting to come out now.

    Liza – Thank you. I’ve had a few cold Christmases when we lived in London. I’ll have to cross my fingers and hope we don’t have rain this year. It rained last year. I distinctly remember the rush for cover!

  18. ThatBrunette says:

    Shelley,

    Does pohutakawa sound like it’s spelled?

    It’s funny that you mentioned Christmas at the beach. I’m from NY. Most people think I spend New Year’s Eve in Times Square. It’s cold there!!!

  19. Stacie Mc says:

    I love the blurb! Sounds like a really hot book to warm up the cold season.

  20. ThatBrunette – yes, if you sound it out you should be almost spot on. I can imagine Times Square is cold on New Years Eve. Brrrr!

    Stacie – thank you. Yes, Fringe Benefits is on the hot side. 😉

  21. loretta says:

    I would love to have a hot Xmas because I hate cold weather.It sound like you have so much fun. I envy you.

    Loretta

  22. Raonaid says:

    In a way I’m envious to New Zealand weather during Christmas time. I really don’t like cold weather. My body and mind seems to short circuit while I bury myself in clothing and blankets to stay warm.

    Enjoyed the blurb!

  23. Congratulations on the release of Fringe Benefits, Shelley!

    I’m one of those who live in Australia and has the full hot cooked traditional Christmas dinner. lol. I think my family would bust a gut if I suggested a bbq. However, they have yet to suggest cooking the dinner themselves!!!

  24. Loretta – on the whole I enjoy the heat of our summer. I think it’s better than cold!!

    Raonaid – I love long summer days and going for a walk after dinner. That’s a nice thing about summer.

  25. Hi Christina – great to see you here. 🙂 That’s the thing. I bet if they had to slave in the hot kitchen they might reconsider that BBQ.

  26. Deidre says:

    This sounds like a real moist-maker title. LOL

    I absolutely love menage and even where there are more than three. Even hotter!

    How hot has it been at Christmas time and what exactly is brandy cream?

    Deidre

  27. Deidre – it is a hot little number, that’s true. It’s hot enough to wear shorts and skimpy sundresses. Even if it rains, it’s very humid. The temperature varies but around 20 – 25 C.

    Brandy cream is sort of like thick cream but it has brandy in it. Very yummy on desserts. We also have brandy butter which is butter whipped with a little icing sugar and brandy added. This is yummy as well.

  28. Julie Robinson says:

    I LOVE this title. And the excerpt left me wondering who was joining the party!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Julie

  29. Sue A. says:

    The book sounded so good I couldn’t resist reading the excerpt. Yum!

    Christmas in the southern hemisphere sounds heavenly! Happy Holidays!

  30. Hi Julie – thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the excerpt.

    Sue – I’m certainly looking forward to the beach weather during the upcoming months. I’m glad you enjoyed the excerpt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

