Tracy Garrett Completes the Sentences…with a twist…

First, I want to remind y’all to check the post below for last week’s winners…I was late posting it yesterday and want to make sure the winners see it.

 

So, people seem to enjoy my “Complete the Sentences” interviews so I decided to do change things up and create a new version…so today I give you “Complete the Sentences:  The Book Version.”  In this version, authors complete open-ended sentences about their recent release rather than about themselves.  My hope is that it helps you learn a little more about the books and give you the author’s perspective of the book.

 

The fabulous Tracy Garrett graciously agreed to be my first guest to interview using this format.
I loved
Tracy’s first release, Touch of Texas and her recent release, Touched by Love looks and sounds just as good.

 

So without further ado, here are Tracy’s completed sentences related to Touched by Love:

 

touched-by-loveMy book is titled…
Touched by Love

 

My book is about…
Here’s the back cover blurb to give you an idea of the story:

 

A TEXAS PROMISE…

Jaret Walker is a loner, a gun for hire with a heart of ice. He’s never had anyone to call his own, and he likes it that way. But when a promise made to a friend leads him on a ride through the desert and to remote Two Roses Ranch where he meets Isabel Bennett, the woman he’s supposed to protect, all he can think of is making her his. She’s the kind of woman a rough-riding cowboy like him can never have. But her hot gaze tempts him like no other woman has before…

A SCORCHING DESIRE…

The moment Isabel Bennett lays eyes on Jaret Walker, she remembers the dreams she’s denied for so long. She’s sworn never to marry. It’s the only way to protect her ranch. But when Walker rides into her life, she decides to let herself taste what she’s giving up—a passion that burns through her with each kiss—and a desire that won’t be denied…

 

The idea for my book came from…
the setting. I truly love this story. My husband and I took a short vacation to the King Ranch in south Texas. The landscape and the amazing history of the ranch were the inspiration for Touched by Love. I set the story in 1847, when the state was still young and wild, and only the strongest survived.

 

I think readers will like the hero because…
Jaret Walker is smart and proud, but unsure of himself. He’s so vulnerable, yet strong and honorable.

 

I think readers will like the heroine because…
Isabel Bennett is spunky, strong and proud. She won’t bend her principles for anyone except Jaret.

 

If I had to describe the hero and heroine’s relationship with one word, that word would be…
combustible.
Both are attracted, but they rub each other the wrong way. Both try to deny the attraction, then Isabel…well, I don’t want to give away too much.

 

My favorite character in the book is…
Isabel’s surrogate father, Manuel.

 

I like this character because…
He’s level-headed, protective, and down-to-earth, but loves a good dust-up as much as the next man—maybe more.

 

The thing I enjoyed most about writing this book was…
Seeing Jaret’s character grow and change. He was tough to pin down, to find the way that he could accept love and still hold onto his pride.

 

What surprised me most while writing this book is…
how much fun I had. Writing a book is hard work, but through all of it I loved writing this story. Probably because the characters were such fun to get to know & create.

 

So there you go, I hope you enjoyed this new format.

And big thanks to Tracy for that great interview (and for being my guinea pig).

Readers, be sure to look for Touched by Love in stores now!

And you can learn more about Tracy and her books by visiting:  http://www.tracygarrett.com/

 
Oh, and I found this on Tracy’s site and I really liked it so I thought I’d share it with all of you:
[clearspring_widget title=”Cowboy Wisdom” wid=”48c1250a2b48a0e4″ pid=”4920c8d25253e931″ width=”170″ height=”295″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]


So is there anything you’d like to know about the book?

9 Responses to Tracy Garrett Completes the Sentences…with a twist…

  1. Deidre says:

    What was the King Ranch in Texas like and how exactly did it influence Touched By Love?

    Deidre

  2. The King Ranch, named for the founder Captain Richard King, was started with the purchase of a Mexican land grant of 15,500 acres of the Wild Horse Desert in south Texas in the 1850s. On it he established what became the largest privately owned cattle ranch in the world. Check out king-ranch.com for more information.

    As far as influence, The King Ranch became the setting for Touched by Love. It is an amazing landscape – harsh, but able to sustain a large amount of wildlife, cattle and horses. The history of the area is fascinating and the newly formed state of Texas was by no means a safe place, especially there in the border lands with Mexico. The setting and time period gave me lots of external conflicts to add to my story. After visiting the ranch, I knew it was the perfect place to create Two Roses Ranch for Touched by Love.

  3. By the way, my Cowboy Wisdom widget is intended to be shared, so feel free to post it in other places. Just click on “get and share” at the bottom of the widget.

    Tracy G.

  4. Helen says:

    This books sounds wonderful Tracy I have it on the bookshelf I can’t wait to get to it

    Have Fun
    Helen

  5. Thank you, Helen. I hope you enjoy it!

    Tracy G.

  6. Liza says:

    Your book sounds wonderful Tracy. I’ll have to look for it at the bookstore this week.

  7. Fedora says:

    Ooh, fun interview, Jennifer and Tracy! Thanks for taking the time! I’m looking forward to reading this one–I definitely love books where the hero and heroine are “combustible”! 🙂

  8. Greta says:

    I so need to get the book – the cowboy on the cover is just yummy!

Leave a Reply

