Interview with Christina Phillips!

Today, I am very excited to welcome author, Christina Phillips!
Her book, Foretaste of Forever, released October 24 from The Wild Rose Press
!

 

foretasteoffor_w2757_300Blurb:

Elyesha, last surviving descendant of a line of powerful witches, finally finds the only man she’s ever loved, the man who deserted her countless years before. But Ben is torn between desire and despair when Elyesha, his only love, eventually penetrates his protective retreat. He knows what she wants, but the price of their love is too high. At midnight, on the beach, a battle of wills and erotic seduction ensues as each confronts the other’s darkest fears.

 

Welcome to Jennifer’s Random Musings.  Please tell us about your book.

Jennifer, thank you for having me on your blog today, to chat about my debut release, Foretaste of Forever, a Scarlet Rosette from The Wild Rose Press. I’m thrilled to be here.

 

Foretaste of Forever is a dark erotic romance with paranormal elements. It’s about a heroine who is prepared to do anything to be with the man she loves, and an alpha hero who is so blinded by his sense of honor that he can’t see his destiny when she is standing right in front of him.

 

What inspired the story?

Foretaste of Forever was actually inspired by a vivid dream I had about eight years ago. This dream haunted me for almost four years before it occurred to me to write it down and find out who these characters were. As soon as their story was on the hard drive, I no longer dreamed about them! But it took another few years before I revisited them with an eye to publication.

 

How would you describe the hero using one sentence?

Ben is tall, lean, black hair a little too long, intense and brooding with a deep sense of loyalty and a tortured soul.

 

The heroine?

Elyesha is beautiful, proud and stubborn – and would do anything to be with her hero.

 

Which comes first for you…plot or characters?

The characters. And even when I think I have the plot all worked out, it’s the characters who drive the story, which means quite often things don’t go according to plan!!

 

What would you like to tell aspiring writers?

I’d quote the line from Galaxy Quest – Never Give Up! Never Surrender! It took me nine years before I sold Foretaste of Forever and I came close to giving up several times, especially after particularly painful rejections. Another thing I discovered was Never Say Never – when I first started writing I aimed at category romance and was sure I would never write a first person chic lit. So then I wrote a couple of first person chic lits, while telling my CPs I could never, much as I’d love to, write paranormal.

 

I then wrote a couple of light paranormal romances, and despite my CPs telling me I should try my hand at erotic romance knew I’d never be able to.

 

Within six months I had not only written my first erotic romance, but it had been contracted by The Wild Rose Press.

 

Now, whenever I say never to my CPs they can barely contain their mirth!

 

If you could save one book from destruction, what would it be?

Mine. LOL! Okay only joking. Only one book? That’s quite a traumatic question to ask a book lover!!! I don’t think I can answer this one, because I’ll spend sleepless nights thinking about all the books I’ve consigned to imminent destruction!!!

 

What is next for you?

Currently my editor is looking at another short erotic romance. I’m also working on a full length novel, an erotic historical with a magnificent Roman centurion as the hero. At least I think he is magnificent and I’m more than a little in love with him!!!

 

 

Thank so much for being my guest! 
Readers you can buy your copy of Foretaste of Forever by clicking here.

And you can learn more about Christina at her website:  http://www.christinaphillips.com
Or you can visit her blog: http://christinaphillips.blogspot.com

 

Anyone have any questions for Christina?

16 Responses to Interview with Christina Phillips!

  1. I have two questions. What was your favorite part of the book? When you think about it, what’s the first scene or thing that pops into your mind?

  2. Hi Ladytink (Jen) thanks for your question!

    I think my favorite part of the book is when the hero decides, against everything his heart is telling him, to leave the heroine. The first scene that pops in my mind has to be the beach scene, mainly because that scene haunted my dreams for way too many years!! But I still love that scene regardless. And sometimes I really miss not having that dream anymore!

  3. Fedora says:

    Hi, Christina! Thanks for the great interview! How fabulous that you persevered! And hmm… you said that now you never say never 😉 Is there a genre you haven’t tried writing that you have no interest in trying? Or is there one you’re itching to try?

    Do you work on one story at a time, or do you juggle several projects at a time? When’s your centurion going to be available to your reading public? 😉

    Finally, what’s on your keeper shelf?

  4. Helen Hardt says:

    Hi Christina — you’re all over the place today, LOL! I love your story of how you persevered. This is such a tough business. What other business is so subjective, and filled with so much rejection? Why do we do this again? 🙂 Sometimes I wonder. But when you get that contract, and that first great review, it’s all worth it!

    Helen

  5. Hi Christina – a Roman centurion. Sounds interesting. 🙂 Congratulations on your recent release!

  6. Jane says:

    Hi Christina,
    Congrats on your debut release. Who are some of your favorite authors?

  7. Quilt Lady says:

    Hi Christina, great interview! What is your favorite type of read Historical, Paranormal, Suspense, ect?

  8. Hi Fedora, thanks for the questions!

    Well the thing is, if I say I could never write a murder mystery, the chances are next year I will attempt to do just that! So I’ve stopped saying I could never try… whatever… since it definitely switches on a section of my brain that enjoys tortuing me!! And at the moment I’m having so much fun writing erotic romance that there isn’t another genre I could say I’d rather be writing. At the moment. LOL!!

    At the moment I’m working on my centurion but also working on revisions for a second Scarlet Rosette (I was offered the contract on Monday! So am still very excited by that!!) Usually I only work on one project at a time.

    I’m half way through my Roman one at the moment, so unfortunately I have no idea when that one might see the light of day (but I have all my fingers crossed it won’t be too long!)

    On my keeper shelf I have Nalini Singh’s Changeling/Psy series *happy sigh*. I also have Sherrilyn Kenyon, Harry Potter and the Bartimaeus trilogy.

  9. Hi Helen! Yes, this business is very tough and sometimes I’ve been very close to giving it all up. But I think it’s the sheer love of writing itself that keeps us going through all the rejections and you are so right – that first contract and first great review make up for it all!!

  10. Shelley, thank you so much for the congratulations!

  11. Hi Jane, thanks for your question!

    Apart from the books I’ve already mentioned, I love reading the books of authors I know, I’ll mention a few faves (I have too many to name them all!!) Amanda Ashby, Sara Hantz, Shelley Munro, Helen Hardt, Robyn Grady, Nell Dixon. I know there are a lot more!

  12. Hi Quilt Lady, thanks for your question!

    I love reading paranormal, and by that I’m including anything slightly quirky or inexplicable as well as vampires and weres etc. So I especially enjoy any book which has a touch of the weirdness about it whether that is a contemp, historical or suspense.

  13. Cari Quinn says:

    Great interview, Christina! I have a signed copy of your CP, Amanda’s debut book (which I read and really enjoyed!) and I think it’s so cool that now I’ve become familiar with your work because of Helen. It’s amazing how small the writing world truly is! I look forward to reading many more releases from you! 🙂

  14. Oh wow Cari!!! It sure is a small world!! And thank you so much for the lovely compliment!!

  15. Fedora says:

    Cool! Thanks so much for taking the time to answer, Christina! And best wishes for more happy writing!

  16. You’re welcome, Fedora!

    And Jennifer, thank you so much for having me over on your blog. It’s been fun!!

Leave a Reply

