Party On…

Yesterday’s winner of Hex Appeal is: Kelly
Please send me your mailing addy!

 

So, I dragged Linda away from the party…again…to ask her a few questions for all of you.

 

Hi Linda!  I am sorry to drag you away from the party, but I wanted you to tell us about your latest release, Hex Appeal.
This book takes place a few months after 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover ends and Jazz can’t get a good night’s sleep. Instead, she has all too real nightmares and Fluff and Puff get into trouble with the Were boardwalk manager and are put in bunny slipper jail along with Irma making some demands for freedom and a modern wardrobe. Then there’s Nick. Things going on that Jazz can’t understand and no time to figure out, but that never stops her. Creatures from her and Nick’s pasts show up and not in a good way. And Jazz lives through a 48 hours that she never wants to repeat!

 

As you mentioned, this is a follow-up to 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover.  Can you tell us more about that book and the series itself?
Jazz Tremaine is a 700 years young witch whose gift is curse elimination. And an off and on relationship with vampire Nick Gregory. Nick’s come back into her life because if a serial killer of vampires that proves to be from Jazz’s past, which is the last thing she wants to revisit. Plus, she’s got Irma, the ghost haunting her 1956 T-Bird and Fluff and Puff, her magick bunny slippers that tend to get into trouble. There’s also a pretty gross creature named Tyge Foulshadow who’s in lust with Jazz. Ugh!

 

I love these books and was wondering what inspired the series?
I love paranormal and I knew I wanted to write something fun. The next thing I knew Jazz popped into my head and said “do I have a story for you!” It sort of mushroomed from there. The idea that 13 witches were banished from the
Witches Academy because they refused to snitch on who cast an illegal spell just felt right. The same with the proclamation they could return in 100 years as long as they behaved. Yet, 700 years later they’re still out in the mortal world. What does that tell you?

 

The book contains many colorful characters (and we’ll meet some of them later this week during the party…I sent them all invites).  Do you have a favorite?
I like to say Dweezil because he’s totally nuts, but I’d have to say Fluff and Puff. I even went so far as to have them tattooed on my ankle. Or maybe they just managed to have themselves tattooed there. <g>

 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Hm, I hate to think what my friends would say to this! I guess Quirky, demented, loyal.

 

Who has inspired you as a writer?
I’ve always wanted to be a writer, so I can’t say that any one person inspired me. I wrote stories when I was little and I never stopped. Probably one of my best days was my wedding anniversary in 1979 when I sold my first two books.

 

If you had a time capsule to be opened 50 years in the future, what would you put in it?
Me? But only if it’s airtight so I don’t age in there.

 

What is next for you?
I’m working on the fourth book in the Hex series, which features fellow witch Blair.

 

What would you like to ask my blog readers?
What makes you pick up a book? The author’s name, the cover, what you read on the back? All of the above? And when you love a book are you prone to recommend it to friends?

 

Thanks Linda…you can go back to the party…for now.
So readers, if you can drag yourselves away from the snack table and dance floor (yes, I know you are enjoying doing the “Monster Mash”)…how about answering Linda’s questions…

 

Today, if you leave a comment here, you’ll be entered to win a copy of 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover!
I’ll randomly select the winner from the comments and announce it tomorrow so be sure to check back!
 
And be sure to come back throughout the week because you never know who will show up.
And you can learn more about Linda at: 
www.myspace.com/lindawisdombooks
19 Responses to Party On…

  1. sidhevicious says:

    Hello Linda & Jennifer!

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I’d have to say that any or all of the things mentioned play a part in what it is that makes me pick up a book to buy it. I do also read reviews, but in the end, it’s really what the story is about, (back cover blurb), that is the big draw for me.

  2. Laura J says:

    Hi Jennifer and Linda! Congrats Kelly!

    Linda I would have to say all of the above. I’ve been known to pick up a book based solely on the cover, read the blurb and then bought the book. Once I try a new author and find that I really like them then they pretty much become an automatic buy when their new book comes out (ebook or paper).

    And yes I do recommend books to people—friends, strangers (yep, I’m the person standing the bookstore recommending books to people I don’t know and sometimes even to the employees *g*).

    I do prefer my books to be lite, fun, funny and tend to stay away from historical and suspense.

  3. Liza says:

    Great interview. I have my auto-buy authors and then from there I pick up books based on recommendations, an author’s name, a great cover, and a great back cover blurb. I love to recommend books to friends. I read all the time, so my friends always come to me when they are looking for books.

  4. Lori T says:

    Hi Linda and Jennifer!

    Great interview and thanks for pulling yourself away from the party to answer the questions.

    All of the above factor into my picking up a book, but each one on their own also have played into book picks. I have quite a few authors who are actual autobuys for me and I pick up their stuff based on their name alone. I have picked up several books based on their amazing covers and I have to say that some have become favorites of mine.

    If I do find a book that I love…I am more than willing to share that title with people and recommend it.

    Have a great day everyone!

  5. Linda Wisdom says:

    Hm, “Oh waiter! Yes, the cute one over there with the mojitos.”

    Ah, much better. :}

    What’s great is you all believe in word of mouth. I know I’m always mentioning someone new I’ve discovered. An author’s career is based on good sales, so getting the word out really helps.

    I thought what was sort of funny was when I walked into BN and saw 50 Ways on the shelves because Jazz was surrounded by a lot of darker covers and she just sat there all bright and colorful. Cheerful also comes to mind. It’s the same in my Target where they have both books. She’s there among urban fantasy, just standing out which I know she loves.

    Do you all feel your auto buys just keep on growing?

    Linda

  6. Quilt Lady says:

    Another great interview. I will have to say all of the above. I go by author, blurp, cover and word of mouth. If I find a really great read I always share it with friends and family. My sister first.

  7. Beth R says:

    I pick a book by what the taste of the book or what’s the back cover, I will recomend the books I like to friends as a matter of fact I’ll buy them and give them their own copies for their birthday or something like that. Yes my auto buy list is growing

  8. Jane says:

    Hi Linda,
    The blurb is usually what convinces to buy a book. The cover will influence to check out the book, but it’s not enough to make me purchase it.

  9. Helen says:

    I have autobuy authors and then I buy books from recomendations that I have read on blogs. Here in Australia it is a while before you can pick the books up of the shelves and I order mine online and I will always let people know about an excellent read and recomend it to other people.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  10. Kelly says:

    I guess it depends on if I’m in the store or if I’m at home.

    When I’m in the bookstore looking for my ever growing auto-buy authors covers are what catch my eye. And yes, your book caught my eye when I saw it in the store…I agree between all the darker covers yours stood out and with the title I knew I had to pick it up. The blurb hooked me into purchasing it.

    When I’m blog hopping I’ll read the bloggers review, if that’s caught my attention then I’ll look into the book a bit more by searching for the author’s site…if I’m doing this it means I’m probable going to buy it…*G*

    Ps…Thanks so much for picking my post…I’m looking forward to reading Hex Appeal… 🙂

  11. Kelly says:

    Oh I forgot to mention since I already have 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover you don’t need to put my name in the drawing for it, give someone else the chance to enjoy this wonderfully fun read… 😉

  12. Linda Wisdom says:

    I admit my auto buy list grows all the time, plus I’m also reading a lot more YA urban fantasy since I have a YA urban fantasy proposal making the rounds. So you can imagine what that’s added to my tbr!

    Linda

  13. Fedora says:

    Yes–all of the above 🙂 I do tend to go often by recommendations from some trusted sources, and yes, if I love a book, I tend to talk it up! With the fun blogs I’ve been visiting, my TBR’s enormous and growing every day (just about!) Yikes!

  14. ThatBrunette says:

    If I am browsing, the cover will catch my eye and get me to pick it up. It’s up to the back blurb to get me to read it.

    I do follow certain authors and they have become auto-buys for me. I like to have a complete collection if I like the author but, that doesn’t always happen. There are a few authors that change their style or topic over time. Sometimes, this will bump them from my buy list.

    Me not talk English goodly tonight. Me like reading. Me like funny books. Me need to go to sleep early. Me talk gooder tomorrow.

  15. Linda Wisdom says:

    Loyal readership is always good to hear. I can understand where some authors make changes and you, as the reader, isn’t happy. I’ve been one of those readers too. :}

    Linda

  16. Greta says:

    Hi Linda – the top thing for me is the author’s name first and foremost. The second thing I look at is the cover – then instead of reading the blub I will go to the front of the book and see if there is an excerpt. That excerpt gives me of an idea if I would like the book or not.

  17. Terri W. says:

    Hi Linda,

    When I pick up a book it’s because of all of the above and I do have my favorite authors which I automatically pick up. I also read review of books and if it gets great remarks I will check it out.

    When I love a book I do recommend it to friends or family.

  18. sidhevicious says:

    Yes, my auto-buy list is getting to seriously crazy proportions, lol. There are so many awesome author’s out there now writing paranormal romance and urban fantasy – my two favorite genres!

    I also spread the word to anyone and everyone that I can when I love a book. I am also guilty of recommending books to strangers and staff at bookstores. 🙂

  19. Teresa W. says:

    I have alot of authors that I auto-buy. I’m always looking for new authors to read in my favorite genre (Paranormal). Covers and blurbs also catch my interest in purchasing books!

Leave a Reply

