Book Clubs…and a question

So last week Oprah announced her book club pick.  I don’t know much about her current pick, but I have read a couple of her other picks in the past and…well…um…they just kind of make me sad and left me feeling a bit disappointed.  I keep waiting for her to choose a romance…*sigh*…give me a happy ending any day!

 

You know, I have always wanted to join or start a book club, but no one around here reads the same books that I do so the club would have just been…well…me.   And my family worries about me enough without me having solo-book discussions. 🙂

 

So, I got to thinking (scary, I know), what if we had a sort of book club here on the blog?

 

I am still trying to figure out some of the details, but here’s what I was thinking…

 

Each month we could vote on a book to read and then the following month those that chose to participate could read that book.  I would probably give away a copy of the chosen book as well so I know at least one person could join me if they wanted to. 

 

At the end of each month I’d post my thoughts on the book along with a few general opinion questions for those who read the book to answer.  Those who participated could share their thoughts about the book and those that didn’t participate would get to learn more about the book.

 

And I would make sure people knew that the post and comments could contain spoilers for those that don’t like them and I’d fix it so they wouldn’t have to read them unless they chose to.

 

And even if no one participates, it will give me something new to add to the blog, I guess, and help me discover some new books.

 

But as I said, I am still trying to figure things out and things may change a bit…so what do you think? Would this be something you’d like to see here on the blog?

13 Responses to Book Clubs…and a question

  1. Ladytink_534 says:

    I’m in a ton of online book groups (Yahoo) already but I’m game!

  2. Liza says:

    I would love to be in an on-line book club. I love the idea of a book club that picks romances. I too have read some of the Oprah books, but usually I just pass as each pick makes me sad too.

  3. Fedora says:

    Hmm… this could be fun–I haven’t been part of a regular book club, but since this would be all romance… 🙂

  4. Lori T says:

    I think this definitely sounds like a fun idea and I would be game. I look forward to hearing more details about it.

  5. azteclady says:

    I confess to avoiding book clubs myself–I don’t like to make my reading an obligation, because then I avoid it. (You should see the mental gymnastics I go through to read the books I commit to review 😯 )

    However, I’d love to follow along if you decide to do it–perhaps the planets will align now and again and we’ll read the same thing at the same time 😉

  6. Jennifer K. says:

    Like azteclady, I have a lot of commitments. But I’m game to try on occasion to read the same book for discussion.

  7. Jennifer Y says:

    I know exactly what you mean, azteclady. I, myself, do some mental gymnastics. And normally I would not have even suggested this, but sometimes I get curious about what other people think of something I read.

  8. Jennifer Y says:

    Glad to see there are some interested…and I, too, have many commitments…this might just be the one that pushes me over the edge, but at least I’ll have fun doing it. LOL

  9. Beth R says:

    Sounds good to me

  10. Maureen says:

    I think it could be fun to do.

  11. Helen says:

    I am willing to be in it I have never been in a book club but am game just hope that I can keep up with everyone

    Have Fun
    Helen

  12. Greta says:

    Hey Jennifer – I belong to two on-line book clubs and both I really enjoy both. It’s just one book a month for both clubs, so it doesn’t push me way over the edge. I will e-mail you the links off list in case you are interested.

  13. Caffey says:

    Hi Jenn! It was so good to see you at chat tonight and too to help you decide what to read next. Get anywhere with us? LOL.

    I love to chat about what I read and would love to chat when reading a book with a book club! I did this years ago on a group (yahoo) that has a book each month that the group would read (anyone who wanted to participate) It could be any book by that author, a specific book such as a new debut author, new in series that we had been reading and so on, or it could be from a genre (like Time Travel) or a theme (like SEALs). We’d have some general questions and too those who read the book would put up a question for those who read the book to discuss. I loved it. And miss doing it. I don’t know anywhere on the web right now that does this but others probably have and have more info. So I’d love to join in if you do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

