Please welcome a special guest…

So today I will welcome a very special guest, Danielle, an assistant publicist for Sourcebooks, Inc.  I love the Sourcebooks Casablanca line and was very happy that Danielle agreed to an interview.  I thought it might give you all a glimpse at another side of publishing.

 

So what exactly is your job?
I am an assistant publicist at Sourcebooks, Inc. I focus on our romance imprint, Sourcebooks Casablanca, as well as our Austen sequels. Additionally, I work on securing reviews/interviews for other books we publish in the web.

 

How did you get into this field?
I went to Bradley University as an English major/History minor (and a French concentration!), but decided very quickly that I wanted to be in publishing. I graduated and did the intern thing for a while, when I finally came to Sourcebooks. The rest has just fallen into place!

 

Can you tell us more about Sourcebooks Casablanca?
Sourcebooks Casablanca is a fun, diverse line of romance and women’s fiction. Every season we continue to grow and bring new and exciting authors to readers everywhere. In addition to our mass market romances, we have some women’s interest books that are incredibly fun, as well as reissues from the Queen of Regency Romance, Georgette Heyer, and most recently, reissues of Laura Kinsale. And let’s not forget about the fact that we are the #1 Austen Sequel publisher in the country! I think what makes Sourcebooks Casablanca different than other romance lines is that ANYONE can find something to read here. The authors are super proactive and always looking for new ways to reach out to their readers. I love it when my authors (yes, they are MINE—I’m very possessive) send me a great comment from one of their reviews or guest blogs—to see that a reader was truly moved by something I know the authors have worked so hard on is extremely gratifying.

 

What is your favorite thing about your job?
Hands down: THE AUTHORS! They know that I haven’t always been an outward romance fan, but now, it’s pretty much all I talk about. Where else would I be able to help people live out the one thing they’ve always wanted to do—write a book? They always keep me laughing! And let’s face it, they must be pretty awesome to have convinced me to be a regular contributor on their group blog (
http://casablancaauthors.blogspot.com), something I never thought I’d do in a million years!

 

Least favorite?
The worst part, as I would suspect it is for any publicist, is when a book receives a bad review. With Google Alerts and search engines, I know that the authors are going to find it eventually, and it’s tough. But that just makes me change the way I promote—there’s always going to be someone who’s personal aesthetic is completely different and not fit for particular books…but then again, there’s going to be someone out there that will give us the thoughtful review we’re looking for—and it’s my job to find them!

 

Describe a typical workday for you.
Whenever someone asks me this, I can never give a coherent answer, because I am so far ingrained in what I do, it never makes sense when I spell it out, but here goes: check email (the authors will tell you, I’m pretty much glued to my computer chair and answer their emails immediately), answer email, read the NYT, Chicago Tribune, Salon.com, HuffingtonPost.com, and BBC Headlines (gotta keep up on current events!), check the group author blog, check some of my favorite review blogs/sites…that’s the part that always stays the same. Then I move on to whatever project is in the works—be it querying for reviews, guest blogs, interviews, searching for new review sites/blogs/out of the box promo ideas, writing promotional materials, entering reviews/interviews/events into our database, etc. Once I finish one, I move on to the next one. And then the next. And so on… Of course, it’s never as organized as the list appears—I multi-task and jump back and forth between projects. And I have to say, I work in an amazing department with fellow publicists that I LOVE to pieces.

 

What do you like to read?
I will read just about anything put in front of me. Last week I finally got around to reading Water for Elephants (loved it), this week I’m reading Fingersmith by Sarah Waters (love it)… My most recent favorite books are Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, On Beauty by Zoe Smith, Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri (love it, love it, love it). I’m a professed Tolkien Geek (and not just because of the movies! I’ve read everything from The Silmarillion to the very rare Unfinished Tales), and I love the classics like Bronte, Austen, Dickens, Woolfe, Salinger, this list could go on forever… and I also read a ton of poetry. I’m exploring graphic novels right now because I think they are really cool concepts and seeing an visual interpretation of someone’s story intrigues me! 

 

What do you do for fun?
I’m pretty low key (aka boring)—and will say the normal stuff that everyone says: hanging out with friends, watching movies, going to concerts. I love dinner parties (and throw a big one just about every year), and with Fall around the corner, I love going to sporting events (Football, Soccer) and bonfires! I’m also pretty content staying in and reading for an entire weekend with just my cat to keep me company.

 

Is there anything you’d like to tell or ask my blog readers?
I suppose, as a publicist, what do you like to see from your favorite authors? Do you enjoy the guest blogs, interviews, etc.?

 

Finally, I just want to say THANK YOU to Jennifer for having me on—I never thought I’d be interviewed about my job. OH and don’t forget to come to the Casablanca Authors Blog and see what everyone is up to! 
 

 

Thank you so much, Danielle, for that interview!
Readers, go ahead and answer her questions…

18 Responses to Please welcome a special guest…

  1. Danielle says:

    Hey Jennifer!

    Thanks for having me on today. I never thought anyone would interview ME about my JOB! 🙂 I’ll be sure to check back throughout the day to answer any questions.

    Danielle

  2. Marie Force says:

    As one of Danielle’s authors, I can attest to how hard she works and how lucky we ALL feel to have her on our team. Thanks for sharing some insight into your job, Danielle!

  3. Mary Margret says:

    I loved the window into your world, Danielle. And I can attest that an email to Danielle will be answered within minutes!

  4. Judi Fennell says:

    Another one of Danielle’s authors chiming in here. I love the responses I get from other authors when I mention that my publicist emailed me XYZ. They are like, “Huh? Your publicist emails you? I don’t even know my publisher’s publicist’s name.” As a newly contracted author, I can tell you that that kind of response is very gratifying! Danielle, you rock!

  5. Cheryl Jackson says:

    I’m Danielle’s mom and I can attest that she is very possessive about her authors and wants each and everyone of them to be a bestseller! She’s going to be upset when she reads this, but I want her to know she’s doing a great job (from what I can tell) and I’m so proud of her!

  6. katiebabs says:

    Sounds like a great job! You get to meet great people and find out some information before anyone else 😀

  7. Another one of Danielle’s authors chiming in! I am a new author with Sourcebooks – my first novel coming out in March of 2009 – but am already delighted with how amazing MY publicist is! I am very excited to begin the serious marketing work, with the total faith that this special gal (Danielle) and the special Sourcebooks team will make it happen in a big way! Thanks for sharing with us Danielle. You are awesome!!

  8. Danielle says:

    Thanks everyone for your kind words! I’m definitely blushing from all the nice things you have to say.

  9. Robin Kaye says:

    Another of Danielle’s authors chiming in here. Danielle is simply the best. She’s the person I call for just about everything. She’s driven, insightful, and above all, she gives us all the information and support we need to get our jobs done. Danielle, you certainly do rock!

  10. Jennifer Y says:

    I am loving reading everyone’s comments. You all are reinforcing what I already thought about Danielle…that’s she is a wonderful person and is great at her job.

    Her job does sound wonderful…like something I would enjoy doing (in fact, it is my dream job…LOL)…and she appears to do a wonderful job at it.

  11. Beth R says:

    I also loved Water for Elephants and I’m like you I read just about everything. Sounds like an awesome job

  12. Danielle says:

    Thank you Robin!

    Jennifer- my job is your DREAM job? Wow! Thanks for the comments; I’m glad I have contacts like you and earlier commenter Katiebabs that are so wonderful to send books to.

    Beth- there are just so many books out there; why limit yourself to one genre? Thanks for stopping by!

  13. As another of Danielle’s authors, I can attest to the fact that she’s always promoting, which is good, because I’m really terrible at it! Thank goodness we have Danielle!

  14. Helen says:

    Great interview Ladies
    I love getting to meet the authors on line and hearing about themselves and their books I have just finished Line Of Scrimmage by Marie Force and what a fantastic book that is thanks guys and I am so looking forward to Loucinda McGary’s release of The Wild Sight can’t wait to read it and the Rendezvous Catalogue here in Australia has Michele Ann Young’s books in it this month so I will be ordering them as well Thanks Danielle for bringing all these wonderful authors to us.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  15. Danielle says:

    Cheryl- You’re not terrible! One day you will catch the promoting bug and you won’t be able to stop!

    Helen- Glad that I’ve been able to introduce some amazing new authors to you! Enjoy all of the books 🙂

  16. Linda Wisdom says:

    Danielle is fantastic, awesome, and an all around wonderful person. She works so hard on all our behalf that it’s no wonder we love her.

    Linda

  17. Malena Lott says:

    Sorry I’m a day late, but wanted to pipe in how amazing Danielle is! She’s always up for new ideas and quick, quick, quick on execution. Danielle, Water for Elephants & Middlesex are two of my all-time favorites! And you’ll have to read “My Husband’s Sweethearts.” It’s a gem of a book (released last month) and Julia Roberts is set to star in the movie version. Thanks for doing such a great job promoting Dating da Vinci!

  18. Fedora says:

    Late to the party, but thanks a bunch for the interview, Danielle and Jennifer! I love learning more about the behind-the-scenes stuff for the books and authors I love. I do enjoy reading interviews and guest posts and all those–they’re responsible for much of the exploding of my TBR…

Leave a Reply

