Unleash Your Story Progress…and Reading

First, the winner of a surprise prize from last week’s post is:  limecello
Please e-mail me with your mailing addy so your prize can go out.

Okay, so I am doing really well…and I mean really well when it comes to reading for the Unleash Your Story fundraiser.  I will update the progress meter for that tomorrow night, but let’s just say that I have met my original goal and then some.

And I am slowly inching my way toward the fundraising goal, but I could still use some donations if any of you are able to donate.  Any amount helps and you can donate by clicking here.  It’s a wonderful cause and I’d love to be able to meet my goal and help make a difference.

Remember, if I meet both of my goals, I am going to celebrate with a big giveaway.

***

So all of this reading has got me to thinking about…well…reading.

I have always been an avid reader.  I wouldn’t go anywhere without a book or two.  We even have video footage of me at about 2 or so at one of my brother’s little league games with a book.  While other kids are playing, I am reading…or at least looking at the pictures.

In elementary school, I would take books with me out on the playground and in high school I read during lunch and classes (my teachers didn’t seem to mind as long as I did my work and continued to get good grades…which I did).

Even today I read wherever and whenever I can.  I went to a NASCAR race last year and, yes, I took a book.  And at my brother’s high school football game (he’s a coach) a couple of weeks ago, again, I took a book.  I didn’t get to get the books out though at either place but they were there if I needed them. 

Books are like my security blanket…they bring me comfort and I don’t want to go anywhere without at least one.

This month I have done more reading than I have in a long time.  I am slowly chipping away at the TBR Mountain Range and I am thrilled about that. 

And although I haven’t done it this month, my love of reading has led to me reading in some strange places in the past…bathrooms, movie theaters, etc. 

So I was wondering,  what is the strangest place you have read a book?  And do you take one with you when you go places or is it just me?

Once again, I’ll give away a surprise prize to a commenter.  Winner will be announced next Sunday!

4 Responses to Unleash Your Story Progress…and Reading

  1. Liza says:

    I always have at least one book with me. I don’t know if I’ve ever read a book in too strange a place. I always was reading as a child, and I too was a reader at my brother’s baseball games. I always wanted new books, and my rewards were always books. I’ve read books in movie theaters, bathrooms, and even sitting on the floor in the mall(taking a break from Christmas shopping).

  2. Helen says:

    Yes me too I always have a book with me wherever I go I am not sure that I have read in any strange places but I will get the book out and read whenever possible

    Have Fun
    Helen

  3. limecello says:

    Hm the strangest place I’ve taken a book? To a party being thrown by a lobbying firm. I almost always have one in my purse if I know I might have down time – I was interning with the senate, and we went after work. Haha, yay DC.
    Oh – and what a nice surprise, thanks Jennifer!

  4. azteclady says:

    I’ve read while walking and while driving–and while I didn’t get into nor cause any accidents, I won’t ever do it again. It was irresponsible.

    (Or course, it’s painful to stop reading an engrossing novel just ’cause you gotta go to work or the doctor or whatnot, but I’m strong! I can do this!

    *whimper*)

    Oh, and I took a couple of books with me to my honeymoon–you can imagine my non-reader brand new husband’s reaction to that, right? (no wonder he’s now my ex, hmm? 😉 )

Leave a Reply

