Another BBAW Giveaway!

This is my second giveaway to help celebrate Book Blogger Appreciation Week! 

Today’s prize is a copy of Victoria Alexander’s What a Lady Wants.

So, today I am curious about first lines.  I have blogged in the past about how I love reading the first lines of books.  And I am curious…

What is the first line of the book you are currently reading?

Remember, to give the author’s name and title of the book to give credit to the author who created it.

I know I have asked this in the past, but I alway like hearing what everyone is reading and the first lines.

I’ll get things started…the first line of my current read, Something Wicked by Catherine Mulvany is:
“The late-afternoon sun beat down like a curse.”

So what about you?
I’ll randomly select the winner on Saturday and announce it here on the blog as well as e-mail the winner so be sure to leave a valid e-mail addy.

24 Responses to Another BBAW Giveaway!

  1. azteclady says:

    I’m reading two books right now–

    First, I’m reading Anna Campbell’s Claiming the Courtesan with my s.o.:

    Justin Kinmurries, Duke of Kylemore, looked across the tumble of stained sheets to where his mistress lay in apparent exhaustion.

    Secon, I’m re-reading Suzanne Brockmann’s Over The Edge (reviewing it):

    The moon was hanging insolent and full in the sky just to the left of a billboard for a bankruptcy lawyer, and Stan knew.

  2. Helen says:

    I am reading The Edge Of Desire by Stephanie Laurens

    “He Should Make Her Wait”

    I am really enjoying this book it is another one in The Bastion Club series and the next one is Dalziel’s story

    Have Fun
    Helen

  3. Liza says:

    I’m reading First You Run by Roxanne St. Claire.

    “Eileen Stafford Figured she had to be insane.”

    This is another of her Bullet Catchers books and I’m loving it.

  4. Traci says:

    I’m reading Burn My Heart by Beverley Naidoo.

    “The fence is broken!”

    Not a very descriptive first line, but the story is pretty good so far. It’s about the friendship of two young boys (one white and one black) in Kenya in the 1950’s.

    Traci
    tracisharpton@msn.com

  5. theDizzy ;} says:

    “I was sitting on the edge of the claw-foot bathtub, blow-drying the insides of my sodden work boots and conducting a state-of-the-chica analysis.”

    Its from Marta Acosta’s novel Midnight Brunch.

    ;}

    -theDizzy

    etwilight @ yahoo .com

  6. Beth R says:

    I just started The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.
    I think I should give you the first two lines –
    “My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.”

  7. cheryl c. says:

    I just finished Magic in His Kiss by Shari Anton. The first line is “Rhodri ap Dafydd skillfully wielded two weapons in the service of Connor ap Maelgwin, chieftain of Glenvair.”

    Today I am starting Letters to a Secret Lover by Toni Blake. It begins this way “Lindsey Brooks stood in the kitchen of her Lakeshore Drive high-rise condo wearing a pink, frilly apron emblazoned with the words ‘Kiss the Cook’-and nothing else. Well, except for a pair of bright red pointy-toed stilettos.”

    Jennifer, this is a fun topic. I think it is important how a book begins, and some authors are gifted in grabbing your attention with just the first sentence. Let’s do this again sometime.

  8. cheryl c. says:

    Ooops…forgot my e-mail address.

    Cheryl
    castings @ mindspring .com

  9. Elizabeth M. says:

    From the book “Playing for Pizza” by John Grisham the first line is: It was a hospital bed, that much appeared certain, though certainty was coming and going.

  10. Liza says:

    I forgot to leave my email address too. mslizalou@comcast.net

    Also, congrats on reading the most pages to date on Unleash Your Story!

  11. Maureen says:

    “As you were saying?” the lady cooed to her gentleman caller, when he paused for a moment.
    It’s from His Dark and Dangerous Ways by Edith Layton.

  12. Lori Barnes says:

    This is so cool to read these.I am reading
    BOBBIE FAYE’S VERY (very,very,very)BAD DAY
    by: Toni McGee Causey
    Something wet and spongy plunked against Bobbie Faye’s face and she sprang awake, arms pinwheeling.
    I would like to be entered in your drawing. Thanks
    photoquest(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  13. Teresa W. says:

    I’m currently reading Along for the Ride by Saskia Walker. The paintbrush splayed out across her nipple. This is a very erotic romance.

  14. limecello says:

    The first line of my current read? Haha – which one?!?! But ok… “Jamillah glanced around the red sand dunes, noting only the watchful presence of a spiny-tailed lizard to witnessher act of thievery. ” 😀 The first line to “Master’s Thief.”

  15. RobynL says:

    Lori Wilde’s ‘Some Like It Hot’:

    THE RESTAURANT KITCHEN was hot, but sous-chef
    Melanie Marchand was hotter.

    I just received this great book today.

  16. Cherie J says:

    I just started reading The Strangeling by Saskia Walker. The first line is: “All across the land known as Edren fear funs through the villages.”

  17. Carol Ezovski says:

    “The door of the Gazette swung wide, its bell jingling louder than usual.”
    This the first line from “A…My Name’s Amelia” by Joanne Sundell.

  18. Caffey says:

    Hi Jennifer, don’t put me in the contest since I have this one! I got to get the newest one, Seduction of a Proper Gentleman. She’s a great author!

    I’m reading now a debut author and the book is a treat! Historical romance by Michelle Marcos, WHEN A LADY MISBEHAVES. Its first in the Pleasure Emporium series (bordello!) Its from St.Martin’s Press. Came out in December and the second in the series just came out. Another I need to get (GENTLEMEN BEHAVING BADLY). Her covers are great.

    Here’s the first line of WHEN A LADY MISBEHAVES:
    “I hate this place!” (referring to the bordello!

  19. Kristine Michelle says:

    “A flash of lightning brightened the sleeping Chamber.”
    First line from “The Henge Betrayed Book 1: Flight”. Really good!

  20. Darby Lohrding says:

    “Tommorrow someone else will die in my bed.”
    “In the Shadow of Lions” by Ginger Garrett. Isn’t that a great opening line!!!
    Thank you for the opportunity!
    Darby
    darbyscloset (at) yahoo (dot) com

  21. Maya says:

    “The air was stale, rank with the stink of smoke, sweat, and old beer. Bob’s Truck Stop. Nice place for a meal.”
    Eve Kenin, “Driven”

    OK, so the setting really isn’t appealling, but the story grabs you and I think that last bit above shows a black sense of humor.

    Found your site via BBAW – late in the week, but hello anyway! Was fun reading everyone’s first line.

  22. Maya says:

    sorry – forgot: mayamissaniATyahoo.ca

  23. Wendi B. says:

    “It’s a rare thing for a child to be delivered at my convenience . . . ” Hannah launched herself from the warm cocoon of her bedcovers.

    I’m currently reading Midwife of the Blue Ridge by Christine Blevins, and LOVE it!

    My all-time favorite first line of a book was actually from Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn: “To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching upon the floor.”

    Both books are great!! I’ve got a review of Silent in the Grave on my blog, and will add one for Midwife of the Blue Ridge as soon as I’ve finished it! Stop by and check my review out: http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  24. Quilt Lady says:

    McKettrick Land, Cheyenne Bridges thought stoically, as she stood next to her rented car on a gravel pullout alongside the highway, one hand shading her eyes from the Arizona sun. McKettricks Luck by Linda Lael Miller.

Leave a Reply

