BBAW continues…

So, Amy of MyFriendAmy, the organizer of Book Blogger Appreciation Week, has been posting interactive posts all week with questions and contests for bloggers and readers.  Today she posted some questions and I thought I’d answer…keep in mind I tend to ramble.

What is one thing you wish you knew about blogging when you started or what advice would you give a newbie blogger?
I think the one thing I wish I knew (although subconsciously I probably did) was how addicting and how much work it could be.  It takes a lot of time and effort to maintain the blog, review books, line-up guests, etc.  But despite all of this it’s a lot of fun and I LOVE doing it. 

I guess I would tell a newbie blogger to be prepared for anything.  October 1 will be the one-year anniversary of when I started blogging regularly and I can hardly believe it has been a year already.  When I first started the blog I figured it would just give me a place to vent and talk about books and other things.  I never anticipated what it would become.  I thought maybe I’d have 1 or 2 readers and the occassional guest author.  I have been overwhelmed by the response of authors who want to be guests and readers who tell me they enjoy my blog.  Word-of-mouth has been great for my blog. 

So even if you think no one will care or no one will read your blog, you are wrong…if you write it, they will come.  🙂  Just be yourself and most of all have fun!!!

What is your best blogging tip?
I have a few tips. 

-One is what I mention above…have fun while blogging.  If you aren’t having fun or enjoying the blogging, then you might want to change things up or do something else. 

-Make your blog something you like (in terms of content and appearance) and something you would want to read and visit.  It is YOURS so don’t let others tell you how it should be.

-Try to keep organized (if that helps you).  This may just be me, but I like being organized when it comes blogging.  I keep a calendar where I schedule authors, reviews, and other guests and write down what I plan to blog about.  And if an idea comes to me, I write it down so I don’t forget.  You won’t believe some of the places I have been when I have had an idea for a blog.  I try to only do one blog post a day (although this week has been a bit different) so I don’t overwhelm readers (or myself) and so they don’t miss something (especially when I have an author guest…I like to give them a full day).  I had tried to do a blogging schedule for the week where each day of the week was something specific, but found I liked being able to switch things up better. 

I think that everyone is different and how they approach blogging is different.  What works for one person might not work for someone else.  So do what you want and what you think is best. 

There are a variety of blogs and formats out there and each one is unique.  That is what I like about blogging and reading blogs.  You get a chance to express yourself and learn more about others by how they express themselves.

4 Responses to BBAW continues…

  1. bermudaonion says:

    Oh, I agree, it is addicting!

  2. Everyone’s approach really is different…good words.

  3. Helen says:

    Jennifer

    Keep having fun with the blogging I love visiting here everyday you have introduced me to some wonderful authors and characters
    I thank you for all of your hard work

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Liza says:

    I never thought I would start up blogging or even a blog. Once I started it I loved it and feel like I’ve missed something if I don’t go to the different blogs each day. It is hard work to keep mine up, but I’ve met some really great people by blogging.

Leave a Reply

