Review of Dark Thirst by Sara Reinke…and a contest

Dark Thirst
Volume One in the Brethren Series

 

Blurb:

Dark Secrets

When Brandon Noble and Angelina Jones first met, he was an awkward teenager harboring a crush on his tutor’s sister. Five years later, Angelina is a streetwise cop who’s sure she’s seen it all, until Brandon comes back into her life—lean, handsome, possessing a strange, powerful allure…and a terrifying secret.

 

Dark Desires

Brandon is one of the Brethren, an ancient clan of ruthless vampires. Like other Brethren families, the Nobles have accumulated great wealth and prestige, never marrying outside of their kin, never leaving the isolated Kentucky farmlands where they live, undetected, among their prey. Horrified by his birthright, Brandon shunned the ritual of the first kill, earning the Brethren’s lasting wrath. But the exhilarating passion he and Angelina share rouses the primitive impulses he has tried so hard to deny. And even if Brandon can protect Angelina from his enemies, can he save her from his own dark thirsts?

 

***

 

Dark Thirst is an interesting take on the vampire romance filled with fascinating characters and a fast-paced story that grabs your attention.

 

Brandon Noble, the hero of the story, is a deaf-mute vampire who has run away from his home on a large estate rather than become like the other vampires living on the estate who kill and feed off innocent people.  As we get to know Brandon and see what he has gone through thanks to flashbacks, you can’t help but feel for this lonely young man who has suffered so much pain because of his family.

 

The heroine of the story, Angelina Jones, also known as Lina, is a strong African-American police officer who is surprised to see Brandon again after so many years.  Lina’s brother Jackson, who is also deaf, was once Brandon’s teacher and Brandon has come to him for help.  However, Jackson is out of town leaving Lina to look after the young man.   Lina is a strong-willed woman who is reluctant to play babysitter, but she is intrigued by Brandon and the mystery surrounding his escape from home.

 

Brandon does his best to hide what he is from Lina, his long-time crush, but when some of the other vampires show up looking for Brandon, he can no longer hide his true self from Lina.  Lina finds it difficult to believe the truth about the young man she has unexpectedly fallen for, but the danger they face is too real to ignore. 

 

Brandon will do anything to keep Lina safe…even stay away from her, but as a police officer and a friend it is in Lina’s nature to protect Brandon.  As the pair deal with the danger they face from Brandon’s family they must also deal with their growing attraction to one another and the complications that could cause.

 

Dark Thirst is a dark and interesting story featuring a couple who faces countless obstacles in their complex relationship.  The interracial aspect of the relationship between Lina and Brandon added another interesting element to an already complex relationship.  Throughout the story the two deal with their differences as they help each other grow as individuals while facing their own doubts and those of the people around them.  Brandon helps Lina to drop her barriers and discover her soft side as she helps him to learn and become comfortable with who and what he is with a little help from secondary characters.  In addition to introducing us to Ms. Reinke’s take on the vampire world, Dark Thirst introduces us to Rene and Tessa, the main characters from the next volume in the series, Dark Hunger.  And while Dark Thirst is a stand alone book, some things are left unanswered and the story continues in the next volume.

 

Overall, Dark Thirst is an enjoyable story with likeable characters and a plot that will keep you intrigued.

 

I have an autographed copy of Dark Thirst and a coverflat for Dark Hunger courtesy of Sara Reinke to give to one lucky reader.  Just leave a comment below telling me about some of your favorite vampire romances.  I’ll draw and announce the winner Saturday, Sept. 20.

And check back tomorrow or late tonight for my review of Dark Hunger, Volume Two in the Brethren Series.

19 Responses to Review of Dark Thirst by Sara Reinke…and a contest

  1. Teresa W. says:

    I have a few favorites: Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series, Colleen Gleason’s Gardella Chronicles and Christine Feehan’s Dark Series!

  2. Quilt Lady says:

    My favorite vampire romance that I have read so far has been Dawn Thompson’s Blood Moon. I loved that book. She was a great author.

  3. Beth R says:

    Twilight just love it

  4. Just visiting from the link for the book bloggers appreciation week. Thought I would stop by as many as I could to say thanks for the support you give to authors.

  5. azteclady says:

    Please don’t enter me in the giveaway, as I already have both Dark Thirst and Dark Hunger. I very much agree with you that this is a darker-than-the-norm paranormal romance, but what is most excellent for me is that race is not a factor in Brandon and Lina’s relationship. They are who and what they are, and that’s enough for them to worry about, you know?

  6. Jennifer Y says:

    Azteclady: I know exactly what you mean. To them it didn’t matter and that is what I liked about it. It was the same with their age difference (she is older than him).

    The only reason I mentioned the interracial aspect is that I just found it refreshing to read a book where the author used characters of different races and the racial difference wasn’t a main focus of the story.

  7. azteclady says:

    Indeed, refreshing and something I keep hoping we could aim for as a society.

  8. azteclady says:

    Oh and I really really like the covers 😀

  9. ThatBrunette says:

    I haven’t read the Twilight series, yet. Moms of tweens have been telling me about the series for ages. I may have to get a copy and see what all the buzz is about.

    I like Anya Bast’s stuff. I liked the original Dracula. Frank Langella made a groovy Drac.

  10. Ladytink_534 says:

    Well I think my favorite vampire romances are the Laurell K. Hamilton Jean Claude-Anita-Asher triangle and Charlaine Harris’ Sookie and Eric. That’s just off the top of my head though.

  11. Greta says:

    My favorite vampire romances – Lara Adrian by far. Love her Midnight Breed Series. I would so love Dark Thirst.

  12. i would like to be entered! 🙂

  13. Liza says:

    I love the Twilight series, Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series, Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunters, and JR Wards BDB. I know there are other vampire series that I like, just can’t think of them right now.

  14. This sounds like a book I would really enjoy, so please do enter me to win it 🙂

    As for my favorite vampire romances…there are probably more than I can think of. I like JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Laurell K Hamitlon, Richelle Mead’s YA Vampire Academy series, Felicity Heaton’s Prophecy series, and I’m really liking Jeri Smith-Ready’s Wicked Game so far, too though I don’t know if that counts as ‘romance’ yet

  15. Amy says:

    Hmmm, so many to choose from – I love Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunters, the Nightwalker series by Jacquelyn Frank, and the Southern Vampire series by Charlaine Harris.

  16. Kristie(J) says:

    This one sounds very intriguing! I don’t read a lot of vampire romance, but I have really enjoyed all of the Lara Adrian books so far. I find it interesting that they are really descendants from alien visitors to earth.
    And *g* I’ve been reading romance for so long I read Linda Lael Miller’s vampire series WAY back when along with Maggie Shayne’s first set of vampire books. I enjoyed all of them.

  17. Cherie J says:

    I love the Twilight books by Stephanie Meyer. They are my favorite vampire romances ever.

  18. Terri W. says:

    I love the “Darkhunter series” by Sherrilyn Kenyon, “The Black Dagger Brotherhood” series by J.R. Ward and the “Crimson” series by Trisha Baker.

    I like alot of other series too but these three are my top 3 favs.

Leave a Reply

