Books, Signings, and More…

 

So, the Internet Gods are conspiring against me so this is a little late again…

 

Today I am blogging more about my trip to the RWA conference…I did warn you these would be random posts.

 

I had been told that you get quite a few books at these things, but I was amazed by just how many.

 

You get books when you register, books at each luncheon, books in the goody room, books at the Literacy Signing, and books at the publisher signings.  There are books everywhere…makes sense I guess since this is a romance writers conference.  It’s a book addict’s dream come true 🙂

 

I wasn’t sure I’d get many books when I first started planning my trip so I was a bit amazed (and a little embarrassed) when I sent home several boxes of books (of course, some will be used as prizes here and a few were for my sister…so they weren’t all mine…LOL).  It’s a little sad when the shipping guy remembers you when you call a week later to check on your packages (they have all arrived now and I must sort through them).

 

I bought quite a few books (okay, more than a few) at the Literacy Signing and picked up many more at the few publisher signings I went to (I didn’t go to all of them…I can only imagine how many boxes I would have mailed home if I had). 

 

But the thing is, the books were secondary for me when it came to the signings.  At the Literacy Signing, I spent more time walking around and chatting with authors I talked to online than I did picking up books (I had a list that I made up before I left…plus the authors couldn’t escape me there…*evil laugh*).  I was able to see many of the authors who had been guests here and thank them in person.

 

And what I liked about the publisher signings was not the books, but how small they were allowing me to discover and talk to authors I would have (and did) overlook at the Literacy Signing (easy to do when over 500 authors are signing).  The lines and crowds were crazy at most and I got shoved and pushed a few times (people get a little crazy when free books are involved…plus the rooms were really small), but there were not as many authors signing at the publisher signings so I was able to get around and talk to almost every author there to tell them how much I enjoyed their books or how I was looking forward to reading them.  I was able to pick up books I might have missed otherwise.  I discovered quite a few new-to-me authors and a few books that I didn’t realize were out (or coming out) at the publisher signings.

 

As is evident from my blog, I love books and I love talking with authors…so this conference was heaven for me. 🙂

 

Check back tomorrow for more on my trip and the winner of Monday’s contest.

 

5 Responses to Books, Signings, and More…

  1. Helen says:

    It all sounds so awesome I would have loved to have been there and I truly am loving hearing all about it and as I say you can never have too many books to read LOL

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. limecello says:

    Jennifer – that sounds like such a great time, and yay for you that you got to talk to all those authors. How fun!

  3. Fedora says:

    Wow, that sounds heavenly! Books! Authors!! Eeee!! 🙂

  4. Liza says:

    I have to find a way to make it to DC next year. Book and authors everywhere! Sounds like a wonderful time.

  5. Buffie says:

    Sounds like you had a blast, Jennifer! I have always heard that when you register for nationals you should consider half of your registration fee is covering all of the books you will receive free. Sounds like a perfect place to be a romance reader!

Leave a Reply

