More with Jodi…

Fun with Q&A

So many great questions, now where to begin? Well, first let me say a huge thanks to all for the congrats on the new release and for checking out the excerpt. Ty and Courtney have a reunion romance of sorts in this book, and I think it definitely makes for a fun read. Now on to the Q&A!

 

Jodi asked: Where would you like to see your writing career in five or ten years from now?

Jodi’s answer: I would love to be able to write full time! I sort of do this already but right now am also at the mercy of the economy. I think once all the kids are in school it will help in this regard as day care gets expensive fast. Right now I only get to write a few times a week and often only for a few hours at a time. I hate to see my productivity going downhill, but I also think family needs to come first, particularly when the kids are so young.

 

Jane asked: Is there a genre you would like to try your hand at?

Jodi’s answer: I tend to write in all genres and have had good luck in seeing them published. Lately, though, I find myself paranoid about writing mainstream single title. I started out writing this, but have gotten away from it over the years. Now I am anxious to get back to it but am not sure I know where to start.

 

Fedora asked: I’m always curious to hear about what authors have inspired you, and who/what’s on your keeper shelf?

Jodi’s answer: I don’t know that anyone author inspired me. It was more authors as a whole. The idea of putting words on paper and creating relationships, love, romance, stories. It’s such a great thing in so many ways. Of course it does come with its stressful moments but what job doesn’t?

 

As for my keeper shelf, I am not one to keep books. If I have autographed books that really standout, I will keep them around, but in general I read a book and then share it because I loved it and want others to have the same experience. I don’t have favorite authors per se, but rather I have found great books by many different authors. I love all genres and tend to read whatever suits my mood at the moment. I read a number of SuperRomances last month. Now I am reading a Sherrilyn Kenyon book and Season of Strangers by Kate Martin. I have never read either author, but am greatly enjoying both books. Oh, and I don’t normally read two books at once, but I perused the Kenyon book and saw it was about Atlantis and just had to check it out. I’ve long been a fan of Atlantis and the mystery that surrounds it.

 

Limecello asked:  Have you written something “completely foreign” before? Would you have any interest in doing that, and if so how would you go about writing/researching for it? 

Jodi’s answer: I actually tend to write foreign subjects best. Maybe because I adore research, I put more of my heart into a book without even trying. I just know each time I try a new genre or subgenre, I get very nervous at the onset and then almost always love the finished product. I tried my hand at a BDSM story for the first time with the Dangerous Ties anthology that releases from Kensington Aphrodisia this spring and am quite pleased with the results. One thing I know about myself and new genres is I don’t tend to read what the masses are writing and so my stories often read different than the norm.

 

Amy asked: Have you ever modeled a character after a family member or a friend?

Jodi’s answer: I don’t think I’ve ever modeled them completely like someone, but I definitely give characters attributes of those I know on a regular basis. Lissa from Handyman is somewhat inspired by my sister Melissa. When she heard this, she of course begged for an ARC. I made her wait until my author copies arrived though. I didn’t want her stealing the copyedits and destroying them on me in case she didn’t approve of her story. J I also often give characters traits and ideals of my own.

 

Lori asked: What do you do to make yourself feel better when you are feeling down? Is there a special thing that you treat yourself to or do you just veg out and read?

Jodi’s answer: This is a great question as I often suffer with this in the summer. I don’t feel down in general, but I don’t get to write much those months and I get down on myself due to lack of progress. Reading definitely helps in this light. Even if I don’t have time to write, it inspires new ideas to jot down on paper and also makes me eager to find the time to write regardless of a hectic schedule. When I get in the general dumps I also find reading makes for an awesome escape. Then I have those rare times when I go all out and just steal me days. I did this a couple weeks ago. Left the day job (I have a flex schedule, thank goodness!) and took myself out to lunch where I got myself everything I wanted, including a fabulous chocolate caramel slice cake, and lunched in the sun while I read a newly purchased book. Then I still had an hour left before picking up my daughter from preschool, so I took myself shopping. What a treat!!

 

Thanks to everyone for the great questions! If you didn’t get to ask yet, please feel free to post one in the comments. I will respond just as soon as I see the post go up. 🙂

 

~ jodi

 

Thanks Jodi!  Remember to check Jodi’s website for more info on her and her books.  I’ll be back to announce the winner of her giveaway sometime this weekend.

6 Responses to More with Jodi…

  1. Fedora says:

    How fun! Thanks so much for answering all those questions, Jodi! And mmm… chocolate caramel cake sounds delicious! How nice to treat yourself once in a while 😉

  2. Lori T says:

    Thanks for taking the time to answer all the questions. How fun to just take a few hours completely for yourself. What did you buy when you went shopping?

  3. Helen says:

    Thanks for answering Jodi everyone deserves time out and chocolate or cake is a great treat

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. limecello says:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us, Jodi. So much more to learn – and mmm I’m so distracted by all those cake comments! 😛

  5. Jane says:

    Thanks for answering our questions, Jodi.

  6. RobynL says:

    I too love a reunion or a friends to lovers story as well I agree that there is a passion from the start and I love seeing grow into more.
    Oh delicious sounding cake; love cake.

Leave a Reply

