Jodi Lynn Copeland Guest Blogs…

Over the next few days, author Jodi Lynn Copeland will be my guest…

 

Today she is blogging about reunion stories…

 

 

A Juicy Reunion? Long-time Lust?

 

Do you love a juicy reunion romance? Or those stories where long-time friends become lovers? While my current release, Sweet and Sinful, doesn’t really have either of these components, I am one of those who do love these types of stories. I love to both read and write them, but am aware not everyone shares my adoration.

 

I’ve heard some readers say they don’t like them because they feel they are an author’s way of being lazy. They don’t have to spend the book establishing a relationship. As an author, I have to disagree. While it’s true in a short story the entire past may not be redredged, in most cases an author has a potentially even bigger obstacle. Now they have to come up with a way to get all the relationship details out there—both past and present—so the reader knows what has gone down, without making it seem ridiculous for the characters to be recanting such events. Is it easier to do this than to write a relationship from the beginning? Maybe for some, but I am on the fence. I tend to struggle with both sides of the coin, so I think both of them are equally difficult for me in the long run.

 

One thing I love about the reunion romance, or the romance where friends become lovers is that passion almost always exists from page one. Not the physical passion, but that underlying desire that heats up the pages and makes it clear how strong the chemistry is between the primary characters. I love the added dose of sensual tension, and how the characters are often fighting that much harder to resist temptation which we all know is inevitable.

 

A reunion romance is indeed juicy in my mind. What about yours? Share your thoughts with me, and I will share a signed copy of Sweet and Sinful with one of you. And so you know what you’ll be getting, I’ll be certain to share some details and a brief excerpt from Sweet and Sinful with you all tomorrow.

 

~ Jodi

 

Check back tomorrow for more from Jodi.
You can learn more about her and her work at:  http://www.jodilynncopeland.com/

13 Responses to Jodi Lynn Copeland Guest Blogs…

  1. Cathy M says:

    I am one of those who does like the friends to lovers storylines. Love the sexual chemistry that evolves and builds up over years of friendship.

  2. fedora says:

    I LOVE reunion stories and friends-to-lovers stories! I love when they have a whole history of spending time together and knowing each other; it’s fantastic to see the switch flip when one, then both realize that they feel something more than what’s just between buddies. And with reunions, I love how growth in one or both parties gives them a chance to resolve their conflict and renew their love instead. Thanks for visiting!

  3. Helen says:

    I too love a reunion or a friends to lovers story as well I agree that there is a passion from the start and I love seeing grow into more.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Liza says:

    I love reunion stories and friends to lovers stories. You know there is some serious history for both stories to ring true.

  5. Cheryl S. says:

    I think reunion stories, if done right, can really pull you into the lives of the characters. It’s fascinating how the author can weave past incidents into the story to explain the details of the separation and to show how the characters have grown to where they are at a point for a reunion and possible relationship.

  6. Amy S. says:

    I love reunion stories or even best friends turned lovers. Those are my faves.

  7. Caffey says:

    Hi Jodi!! There’s something about friends to lovers and reunion stories. Its too hard not to get emotional when reading them because it so special to read when two come back together again or go and confront their real feelings they have for each other. I remember when I first read this theme and wanted to find more of them! So I’m the opposite, I find them to be a great read because they really are alot like real situations when we go toward confessing our love finally! Shows so much growth and emotion. Love them!

  8. Lori T says:

    I love reunion and friends to lovers stories! I think that this is not an easy way out for the author…not only does the author have to give you enough back story to convince that you they should be together, but she has to pull you into their current lives.

  9. Jolene says:

    well i have to say i love them too, theres always some sort of tension, and a good history in there…thanks for coming and visiting Jodi..p.s. dont enter me in the contest as i bought a copy of Sweet and Sinful and just started reading it..

  10. Sorry about being remiss yesterday! Was one of those days where we headed out in the a.m. and didn’t get home till bedtime. I am so thrilled to hear you all enjoy the reunion romance. It’s long been a favorite of mine, so great to hear there are some like minds out there. I hope everyone is having an excellent day so far!

  11. Jane says:

    Reunion stories are always emotional. We get to explore the their hurts and what went wrong the first time around.

  12. limecello says:

    Friends to lovers stories are my favorite. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that good or bad, there already exists some sort of emotional connection. Of course, it’s just sweet with the happy ending.
    Thanks for visiting with us, Jodi!

  13. Maureen says:

    I like a reunion story since there is a history so they know each other and it makes sense when the romance happens quickly.

Leave a Reply

