And the Conference begins…

So today is the official start of the conference!  This evening there will be a HUGE booksigning for Literacy with hundreds of authors in attendance.  You can find a complete list here

The signing is open to the public and I was lucky enough to go to the one in Atlanta in 2006.  WOW!  Talk about being overwhelmed.  I don’t do well in crowds anyway, and I am supershy so after I hit the authors I had on my list (yes, I made a list), I kind of stood against the wall looking lost and staring at authors. 

I am hoping that this year I will at least talk to more authors rather than just stand there awestruck…but we shall see.  I’ll be sure to tell you all about it when I come back…unless I make a fool of myself.  LOL

Now, the signing only lasts a couple of hours and that’s a lot of authors to try to visit.

So, my questions for you are:
How would you manage your time?  Who are some of your must-see authors from that list?

18 Responses to And the Conference begins…

  1. Helen says:

    Oh Jennifer how exciting I wish I was there with you to meet these authors I don’t know how I would manage my time I would have to see a lot of the authors listed I probably would try alphabetical order maybe the best
    Victoria Alexander, Elizabeth Boyle, Anna Campbell, Sara Bennett, All the Romance Bandits Stephanie Laurens Jenna Petersen, I think I would probably look like a chook with its head off trying to see everyone that I wanted to.
    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. fedora says:

    OOh, I wouldn’t know how to narrow down the list! How crowded is this, and how long do the lines for the authors get? I’d love to go but am afraid I’d be overwhelmed and freeze up!

  3. Liza says:

    I have a list of some of my favorites that will be there, but I don’t think I would make it to everyone in 2 hours if the lines are long. Here is my dream list: Ally Carter, Janelle Denison, HelenKay Dimon, Christina Dodd, Leslie Kelly, Jennifer LaBrecque, Rhonda Nelson, Carly Phillips, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Nora Roberts/JD Robb, JoAnn Ross, and Vicki Lewis Thompson. I know there are others, but those are the main ones from the massive list.

  4. Jolene says:

    hmm i cant imagine having to narrow it down… sigh..
    so many authors so little time..lol.. wish i was there..

  5. azteclady says:

    Do you happen to have a sticker or something with your blog’s name on it? ’cause I have a feeling there are quite a few authors who would recognize you immediately and not let you prop the walls!

    I can understand being overwhelmed, though–so many authors and other readers!

    Who are your ‘must see’ authors? a couple of names, please? pretty please?

  6. Angie-la says:

    Oh gosh! Waaaay too many to list them all!
    But I’d love to someday meet Sherrilyn Kenyon, Larissa Ione, Nora Roberts, Jaci Burton, Angela Knight, Lucy Monroe, Cherry Adair, Stephanie Tyler, HK Dimon, Alison Kent, Karen Kelley, Jayne Ann Krentz, Susan Andersen, Anna Campbell, Lora Leigh, Diane Whiteside……and this is just the tip of the iceberg! 😛

  7. Cherie J says:

    I have never been to one of these conventions so I am not sure how well I would do managing my time. If I had to narrow it down some of the authors I would see would be Robin Owens, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Gena Showalter off the top of my head.

  8. Maureen says:

    Good luck seeing as many authors as you can. I would want to see Nora Roberts and Jayne Ann Krentz along with Liz Carlyle, Barbara Freethy and then so many others.

  9. Beth R says:

    I think just meeting any authors would be an awesome thing

  10. Jane says:

    I would love to meet Nora Roberts, Heather Graham, Stephanie Laurens, Jacquie D’Alessandro and Jenna Petersen.

  11. cheryl c. says:

    You know, I can’t believe that they only give you 2 hours for that! It seems like you would waste so much of your time finding a particular author’s table and then standing in line. I almost think I would have to just walk around and get a glimpse of everybody and not even try to meet them and get an autographed book. Good luck! I hope you get enough time to accomplish what you need to. 🙂

  12. Greta says:

    I have know idea how I would manage my time but – must see authors would be Maya Banks, Shayla Black, Jaci Burton, Amy Knupp, Stephanie Tyler, Larissa Ione, Lauren Dane – this is just off the top of my head. I can’t think.

  13. ThatBrunette says:

    Good luck and try to enjoy yourself! I found new Dove chocolate, today. It’s got vitamins!

  14. RobynL says:

    Anna DeStefano
    Lucy Monroe
    Alison Kent
    Vicki Lewis Thompson
    and so many more.

  15. Lori T says:

    I don’t know how I would balance my time. The list of authors that I would want to see are Ann Aguirre, Rachel Gibson, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Amanda Quick and Nora Roberts…to name just a few.

    I hope that you get to see everyone you want to and have a great time!

  16. Kimmy L says:

    Victoria Alexander, Elizabeth Boyle, Anna Campbell, Sara Bennett, Shayla Black, Jaci Burton and many more.

  17. kh says:

    so many, all the plot monkey ladies

  18. limecello says:

    Oh gosh – I’ve looked at the list so many times and made so many lists, it’s too depressing 😛 But a lot of mine have been listed – SEP, Rachel Gibson, the PM authors… Nalini Singh – is she going to be there?
    A ton more.

Leave a Reply

