In San Francisco…

Since I am preparing these in advance, by the time you read this I will have made it to San Francisco…hopefully.  LOL

The conference doesn’t officially start until Wednesday, so today we have planned a tour of the city and will be doing some sightseeing.  I’ll admit my knowledge of San Francisco is limited so I am really looking forward to this.

Since I am doing some sightseeing today, the questions for today are:
Are you more of a planner or spur-of-the-moment person when it comes to sightseeing? 
Meaning, do you like guided tours or looking around on your own?
Or do you even like sightseeing? 
What do you like to do when you visit a new city?

21 Responses to In San Francisco…

  1. bunny says:

    Hope you’re having fun! I love sightseeing – I will usually check up the city beforehand to see the places I’d like to go. But once I’m there, it’s usually the spur of the moment thing.

  2. Helen says:

    I am sure you are having fun Jennifer

    When in a new place I like to take a guided tour then wander around stopping when I want to and for how long I want to.

    Have Fun
    Helen

  3. Lois says:

    Well, I haven’t been to a place where sightseeing really had to be planned or anything. . . I mean, Orlando, Florida, it’s obvious why you’re going there. LOLOL I think it would depend where I was going — if I ever made it to Egypt, I think I’d rather go with a tour group. But if I made it to England, maybe a mix of the two, on my own and a tour group. 🙂

    Lois

  4. Liza says:

    If I’m visiting friends in a new city, they will show me around. I would get a guided tour to a ciy I’ve never visited before first, and then wander around a bit. Hope you have a great time!

  5. Jolene says:

    well when we were in France we took guided tours during the day but we were on our own at nights.. i prefer to just go off and do my own thing..
    i sure am wishing i was in SF though.. maybe someday..

  6. Beth R says:

    I’m a planner but I investigate stuff myself usually follow the path that I choose. I bet SF is a very neat place to be

  7. limecello says:

    Sooo jealous. Hehe. For visiting a place – I’m a mix of both. I’ll generally pick 1-2 place I *have* to go to, and otherwise, whatever is fine. I haven’t been on a guided tour since one has been forced on me… so – not the biggest fan.

  8. cheryl c. says:

    My husband and I love to travel. Before visiting a place, we always buy a travel book and do our research. We want to know the best things to see and do. We plan our itinerary so we won’t miss a thing. We do sometimes take guided tours because it is easier to let someone else do the driving. The only time that we do laid-back, unplanned trips is when we go to the beach.

  9. Cathy M says:

    Guided tours work for me when I go to new cities. Gives me an idea of where things are and helps me to decide where to venture off to on my own.

  10. Jane says:

    We usually like to like to explore the sights on our own. This allow us to set our own schedule. Have fun in San Francisco.

  11. Cherie J says:

    I am a planner and I love sightseeing. I try to figure out what my scedule will be like but I have tried to be more flexible about changes in the schedule. After all, it should be about having fun.

  12. pinkey2we says:

    hey,
    Its Pinkey2we. I Just Wanted to ask you to help me, I Need more hits on http://www.luhy.wordpress.com We used to get 100 hits a day and now were getting in the 50’s and below! I Really Need You Help so it would be great if you could add me to your blogroll. If You Do, Comment on http://www.luhy.wordpress.com that you did. If You Do add me Thanks So much!
    Thanks!
    -Pinkey2we :mrgreen:
    P.S.It Would Be Great if you Visited

  13. Maureen says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    I hope you have a great time today. I enjoy sightseeing and wouldn’t mind a guided tour but my husband usually doesn’t like them so we explore on our own.

  14. Little Lamb Lost says:

    Whether I plan my sighseeing or do it spur of the moment depends on what opportunities are available and what my mood is. I love to sightsee.

  15. Lori T says:

    Hope your flight to San Francisco was easy and uneventful!

    I love to site see and I prefer to just kind of hit and miss and check out what appeals to me. We don’t do hardly any travelling and my husband does not like to site see…so, it does make the experience not quite as fun.

    So, what sites did you see today?

  16. kh says:

    food and shopping have fun

  17. azteclady says:

    Well, it depends. If it’s a place I know I’ll be able to visit again, I may just wait and see what calls to me any given day.

    If it’s a once-in-your-life kind of trip, I plan ahead, and do my best to hit the most important highlights in the time available–while allowing for spur of the moment detours. ‘Cause you don’t know what you’ll find in a side street until you are there, you know?

    I hope you are having a total, absolute blast, Jennifer!

  18. Greta says:

    I like going around on my own. I really don’t like the guided tours.

    I like what Azteclady says. That’s kind of what we did when I was able to go to New York City, New York.

  19. Kimmy L says:

    I like to just take things as they come. I never plan b/c when i do i never really go by the plans anyway.

  20. RobynL says:

    we usually do our own sightseeing and this allows us to go where we want and to take whatever time we have; there is no one waiting for us to finish or we having to wait on others.

    Do share when you get back.

  21. Laurie G says:

    Definitely spur of the moment and sight see on my own!

    My husband & I walked all over San Fran about 30 years ago. Loved the view from Coit Tower! We went to North Beach ate at The Basque Hotel. Food was reasonable and delicious. I remember going to Lowry’s for Prime Rib. The hills were killers but we were probably in better shape back then!!

    We did try the trolleys too! We had a Great Time!!

Leave a Reply

